We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victoria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$278
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$182
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$204
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Hotel Windsor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$148
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$132
$91
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$184
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$251
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,403)
Filter reviews
2,404 results
Traveler rating
463
1,124
544
144
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
1,124
544
144
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsibis stylesvic's barheritage roomgreat locationcentral locationswanston streetfederation squarethe heart of the citybudget hotelbuffet breakfastqueen beddefinitely stay here againcar parkingpublic transportgymtramcafes
Filter
Updating list...
1,266 - 1,271 of 2,404 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManager215, Administration at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Exactly what you expect from an Ibis Budget property - clean, tidy, efficient, no thrills. Adjacent Thai restaurant (Annies?) is the main eating facility, reached via a walk through from the foyer - slightly weird arrangement, but both food and service was great when I had dinner - didn't have breakfast there due to an early departure, but no reason to suggest it wouldn't have been good. Had a fair walk to my room from the foyer (to the East Wing). Rooms compact, but totally acceptable, clean and tidy. Only slight criticism would be that the drapes and door insulation weren't very effective at preventing outside light coming in during the night time, which I am sure would not be to some people's liking, didn't bother me too much as I am a fairly heavy sleeper. All up a good 'home' for a short business trip to Melbourne CBD

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying with The Victoria Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. It is "Alice's Thai Restaurant" that we have as an outsourced restaurant just across the side of the hotel's foyer. You could have tried our breakfast to make your experience a perfect one.

Anyway, your concern on the door was already brought to the attention of our Maintenance Department who took note of it.

Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights and was very pleased overall. The hotel is in a great location pretty much a couple of blocks from chinatown, shopping areas, federation square. The room was a decent size and the bathroom was nice and modern with a good size shower with good water pressure. Cleanliness overall was very good. Like almost every hotel room the mini fridge can make a bit on noise unless unplugged but on the 5th floor did not hear any other noise.
There is a gym and pool but they are quite small, the gym has 2 treadmills a bike and mutli weights machine and leg machine but not dumbbells, work out mats or a water cooler. The swiming pool is very small more for just sitting relaxing in than swiming but there is a hot tub as well. The bar on the mezzaine level is not bad and has pool table
Overall a nice hotel which is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thisother E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at The Victoria Hotel & for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know that you were satisfied overall. Thank you too for the good rating that you gave us.

We do hope that you will come back & we'll be happy to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Victoria hotel and it was a really pleasant stay! Requested for higher level and we were given the 8th floor. Not much noise from the streets either. Location is perfect, 5-10min walk to Chinatown and GPO shopping. Only reason i gave cleanliness 4/5 star because the towel on the first day was full of hairs. The staff were also prompt to change the towel for me during cleaning. Room was a little cramp not much space for walking for 2 person, but bed is clean and fresh! For the amount we'r paying, its reasonable. The bathroom is impressive, looks new nothing much to complain about. Would definitely come back again if i ever visit Melb! :)

Room Tip: Higher floor have lesser noise from streets
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shar0n_2786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear valued guest,

It's wonderful to know that you were happy during your stay with The Victoria Hotel. We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us and for the good rating that you have for us.

We would like to apologise for your concern on the towels and we have informed our Housekeeping Department about it and reminded them to see to it that things like this won't happen again even with the other guests.

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I wasn't quite sure what to expect when staying here. The price was reasonable, and the location was good. The entrance foyer gave the impression that it could be a nice place. The staff were helpful and nice as I am used to with IBIS staff. However the room was absolutely terrible. It was tucked away in a corner, hard to find, a long, long way through many corridors with damp carpet. It genuinely felt that it was an old janitors closet that had been converted into a room. Small, smelt of damp, TV didn't work properly. Going by photos of other rooms, I am sure they are not all like this, but it was genuinely one of the worst hotel rooms i've stayed in.

We checked in for 2 days for a city getaway, but ended up leaving after one night.

The staff were friendly, I just got the impression that we had the worst room in the house. I wish I could remember which room number it was, so I could warn here against it if you ended up being checked into this room. It was a Queen Heritage - if you are staying here make sure you check the room first!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank always_Itchy_feet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, Administration at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear valued guest,

We are sorry that you did not like the room that you were checked-in during your stay with The Victoria Hotel. Your experience was brought to the attention of the concerned departments.

Anyway, thank you for sharing it with us. With this, we were able to know what specific problems we have to improve on. It's just that we don't know which room are you referring to but will continue to check on it.

it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
ibis Styles, The Victoria Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews