We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victoria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$134
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$201
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$126
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$92
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$83
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$170
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$240
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$230
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,397)
Filter reviews
2,397 results
Traveler rating
462
1,119
545
143
128
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
1,119
545
143
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsibis stylesvic's barheritage roomgreat locationcentral locationswanston streetfederation squarethe heart of the citybudget hotelbuffet breakfastqueen beddefinitely stay here againcar parkingpublic transportgymtramcafes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,702 - 1,707 of 2,397 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Victoria Hotel is great because it is central to all services and shops. Their pillows are soooo comfortable which makes for an excellent sleep. As soon as you walk in the front enterance you are presented with a clean and fresh environment and met with a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharyn578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found the Victoria Hotel, clean and comfortable, in the heart of Melbourne city it was so easy to get around the location was amazing. The only disapointment was that the gym / sauna spa was out of action and this was not mentioned when booking, so we had taken gym gear / shoes for nothing. There were also renovations on our floor, i have a feeling this is why it was so cheap however they didn't cause a problem at all. Our room was about a 2 minute walk from the lift, which also wasn't a problem but made me think if there was a fire how we would get out as the signage was not that clear and the fact that there were smoking rooms ... i felt like this was a likely event.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great Location, easy to find. Reception staff were nice. Had a nice renovated room they are small but perfect to come back to after a day out. Some of the older rooms are run down but still nice to stay in. Can't fault my stay here and would return. Tram and train very close and everything is in walking distance. There is a little hill to walk up but nothing that would stop anyone of any age or fitness level doing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bodkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed in the Victoria last month while visiting Melbourne and for the price I paid I doubt that you could get a more affordable central hotel. Literally minutes from the centre of town, the Lanes etc.
The down side of this hotel is that it is in the middle of major reconstruction, but that said my room was a good size, nicely decorated and clean. It was a bit of trek to reception because of the renovations but nothing unmanageable.
The staff at reception could not have been more helpful and friendly. When I had a problem with my camera the receptionist searched for a member of staff to help me out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeeNell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Goodness me,what a hole this place turned out to be.
We had booked a non smoking 'Heritage room' On leaving the lift on the 2nd floor our nostrills were assailed by the stench of stale cigarette smoke as we trudged along corridors with dark dead ends and very unclear signage.
If there was a fire in this place God help the inmates.
Room was passable and renovated with cheap Chinese LCD and bad sound,bed pretty average,no views,spare pillows in cupboard.Definate stale smell in room and ensuite.
I reckon we could have done better for $114.
My advice to the owner...Pull it down and start again.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.Plenty of other places for not much more dollars.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews