We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Acquired Taste”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #89 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Acquired Taste”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

There have been so many negative reviews concerning The Victoria Hotel; so to say my expectations were low is an understatement.

I stayed in a Standard Single room and understood that it was a smoking room - this was very clear on the website I had booked it from (and it is clear on their official website as well). I am a non-smoker and was concerned that it would be unbearable, however, the price was low enough to take the risk - and it was well worth it.

The location of this hotel is absolutely unbeatable! Without going into too much detail; it's close to shops, restaurants, cafes, trams and the Flinders St Station (which is very helpful if you plan on travelling out of the CBD). This alone is a great selling point!

The room, while small; is well thought out to fit a single bed, bar fridge, desk and a small TV in the space. The room did NOT smell like cigarette smoke at all; like some of the other reviewers have mentioned. There, was, however, a minor smell of old smoke in the hall ways but it wasn't unbearable and gave the hotel it's own character (obviously, only appreciated by some).

The bathroom was fine - a little dark but it was clean. The shower head was new and worked well - the only annoying 'issue' was that the water could only be super hot or too chilled but, this is really, only a small irk, though.

The bed was very comfortable and I was able to sleep straight away. The air conditioner worked well and kept the room nice and warm after returning from a great time in Melbourne's cold winter.

For the price I paid for the room; I had received much more in return. The room was clean, the staff were great, and there are so many other great facilities available (pool, spa and sauna). I definitely suggest this place for people who appreciate a unique hotel and won't be spending their entire time in their room; which, I don't understand because Melbourne is absolutely brilliant! And considering the location; you have no reason to be hiding in your room.

I am actually going back to Melbourne in November and will be staying at The Victoria Hotel, again. However, this time I will try out the refurbished Heritage Rooms because I am more financially prepared for this trip :o).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, General Manager at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you found the hotel all you needed and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    995
    485
    134
    118
See reviews for
418
685
296
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Hotel not well maintined with hospital-like sterile lobby area and walls everywhere that need painting. Funny smell. Staff very ambivalent about helping visitors.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvingmywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, General Manager at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your comments. The hotel is going through some extensive renovations and we are happy to announce that over 60% of the hotel is now fully renovated. This includes brand new bathrooms, fittings, fixtures and furnishing as well as flat screen TV and ducted air conditioning. These new rooms are called Heritage Rooms and are available to be booked now. The corridors are being updated as the rooms are being renovated. The lobby has now been completely renovated and these changes included an enormous exotic fish tank, which really does stand out. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed here with my cousin for a couple of nights!

We were pleased to find a place with smoking rooms!

The room was fine for two people... The bathroom was quite small, but it was fine...

Great location, close to federation square and walking distance to southbank!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, General Manager at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and time in Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I am a Melbourne resident and when a friend decided to visit for a catch up/shopping trip/dining out experience I decided to book us into a hotel for three nights.

I booked The Victoria Hotel based on it's location and on this front it didn't fault. It was centrally located to the Arts Prescient, a fifteen minute tram ride to Lygon Street (little Italy), Brunswick Street and only a short walk to Bourke Street Mall, Collins Street and other popular shopping destinations.

I booked a three night special and paid a bit over $100 a night (something like $114-130.) We stayed in a Heritage room, which was clearly renovated recently but quite contained. Obviously if you were going to be using the room as a base and not planning on spending much time in it, it would be fine....but if you planned to have an afternoon of rest lounging in your room there is a high potential you would end up with cabin fever.
A few bad finishes on things such as closet doors but really for the price and considering the short amount of time we actually spent in the room, this didn't really concern me.

We stayed on the 12th floor (from memory) and had to catch a lift to this level, then get off and walk through the smoking room corridors to a separate wing where the Heritage Rooms were located. Unless you are a smoker I would definitely discourage you from staying in the Standard Rooms, as it quite literally smelt like musty dead bodies (as well as smoke!) It also seemed much more dated than the wing with Heritage Rooms.

Room Tip: Stick to Heritage Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballerina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, General Manager at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you found the hotel so central for your time in the city. The hotel is going through some extensive renovations and we are happy to announce that over 60% of the hotel is now fully renovated. This includes brand new bathrooms, fittings, fixtures and furnishing as well as flat screen TV and ducted air conditioning. These new rooms are called Heritage Rooms and are available to be booked now and are 100% non smoking. Upon completion of the renovations the entire hotel will be 100% non smoking. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

great location centrally located in the city 2 minute walk to main shopping precinct of Melbourne, room was good,air conditioned and clean ,friendly,helpful staff, easy check in & check out,car parking was under cover and close to hotel. There is a taxi rank out front, so waiting for a taxi was not a long process. Overall a pleasant stay at very reasonable rates.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pauliev8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, General Manager at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be so central. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I booked my stay via a third party website that did NOT list that all standard rooms are smoking. I am from a state where smoking in hotels is an extreme rarity and I don’t understand how this is not an OHS issue even the corridors of this floor had that sickly-sweet aroma of post-cigarette smoke.

The staff (especially the cleaners) where very accommodating, yes the room and bathroom was outdated but it was very clean. The service desk staff need a refresher in customer service training.

The foyer is just glamorous and the location is fantastic! Trams are very close and what I liked about the hotel is that it is close enough to all the action but tucked away in a side street for some quiet - Some outside noise from the alley early in the mornings but it didn’t stop me from sleeping.

I’m glad to read on their website that they will start doing renovations I hope they make ALL standard rooms non smoking and with double glazed windows because I feel this place has allot of potential.

You get what you paid for.

Room Tip: Take the NON smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelconductor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager215, General Manager at Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel is going through some extensive renovations and we are happy to announce that over 60% of the hotel is now fully renovated. This includes brand new bathrooms, fittings, fixtures and furnishings, double glazed windows as well as flat screen TV and ducted air conditioning. These new rooms are called Heritage Rooms and are 100% non smoking. The Heritage Rooms are available to be booked now. The corridors are being updated as the rooms are being renovated. Smoking in hotel rooms is still legal in Victoria but upon completion of the renovations the entire hotel will be 100% non smoking. We thank you again for your feedback and hope to welcome you back when you are next in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel

Property: Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Address: 215 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel is perfect for all of your corporate and leisure travel needs. The hotel offers easy access to all the sights and sounds of this thriving metropolis and is close to the many eateries and cafés that Melbourne has become famous for. Our historic landmark hotel combines the grandeur of the late 1880's and contemporary comfort. The hotel is situated next to the Melbourne Town Hall and within easy walking distance to many of the city's famous attractions, including the Princess Theatre, Bourke Street Shopping Mall, The Emporium, the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre Melbourne and Federation Square. Access to nearby trams and trains means you will be able to get to locations like the MCG and the Botanical Gardens in no time. Unsure how to get to somewhere? Our friendly hotel team can assist you with the best way of getting around town. The next time you are looking for hotel deals in Melbourne, come and experience the convenience and comfort of ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing