We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel Windsor
Nearby Hotels
$278
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$204
$176
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$182
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$148
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$132
$91
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adelphi Hotel(Melbourne)
$169
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$184
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$251
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (8,944)
Filter reviews
8,944 results
Traveler rating
5,018
2,585
944
273
124
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,018
2,585
944
273
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmcricketers bartraditional roomgrand old ladyhigh teaparliament housespring streetsuperior roompillow menubeautiful hotelan upgradea wonderful stayvalet parkingconciergedoormanpillowsfoyer
Filter
Updating list...
8,712 - 8,717 of 8,944 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Arrived at check in at 2.10pm our booked suite was not available so we received a free upgrade to a Victorian Suite. Outstanding service from the time we got out of our car until we left. Gorgeous suite with a sumptuous king size bed with down & feather pillows and doona. Large, white and thick bathrobes and towels. The room was on a corner of the hotel with large windows and noise from the outside was minimal. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Having stayed at a B&B in St. Kilda last year, we wanted something in the city center this year. Using TripAdvisor, we checked a number of hotels in the range we wanted to spend. Some sounded pretty good, but then my wife found that the Hotel Windsor was offer a special package "deal". We stayed for six nights and it was delightful. It is an older hotel, but it really "looks" like a five star hotel. The staff are attired in understated elegance. Someone has gone to a lot of trouble to train them on how to really be helpful in all things. I nearly badgered the staff with questions and they were uniformly helpful.

The restuarant is a class act. Linen, silver, fine china. We didn't eat there (we're too cheap), but I had coffee and read the paper one morning. Very comfortable, silver coffee pot and attentative, even though they knew I was spending for a full meal.

The only down side is that the hotel needs (and I am told is getting) some re-furbishment. On some floors (where the less expensive rooms are) the carpets and hallways are a bit dark and need brightening up.

The room we had was extremely clean and well-maintained. The housekeeping staff were always smiling and greeting the guests.

More good news: It is right across the street from the Victoria State Parliament. They have a great (free) tour. A must see. Lots of eateries close by and a free (only up to 8:00PM) tram runs every 15 minutes in a square around the CBD. The Windsor is not a "glitzy" as the newer hotels, but it is a neat place to stay! The list of notables who've stayed there over the years is impressive.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tad35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

This is a beautiful grand hotel which is perhaps the reason why the rooms are so noisy. Muffling of squeaky floorboards isn't perhaps a possibility due to heritage requirements? My suite was nicely furnished in keeping with the history of the hotel. It had lovely high windows overlooking Parliament House and despite being on a busy street there was no road noise, or from the busy downstairs bar. However every time someone upstairs walked from one end of their room to another the noise was intrusive. Likewise it would have been the same for anyone in the suite beneath me. The hotel was a bit stingy with personal amenities and refreshing of complimentary tea etc. however it was room service which was the show stopper - highly overpriced and poor quality, not in keeping with the Windsor's grand reputation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaughingKookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed here 10 years ago on our honeymoon and decided to return. However, it doesn't seem that it's been updated since then. The least favorite part of our trip was our room - very small and not especially updated. The absolute best part, though, was our concierge, Ali. He was extremely helpful and made our stay that much better.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlanta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

To be greeted with the words "welcome back" when we checked in to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary by revisiting our honeymoon hotel was delightful. The good wishes of staff and the card and champagne celebrating our anniversary were also wonderful surprises that heightened a memorable anniversary.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniversary25yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews