We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Windsor exudes Style! Tip: the more expensive rooms are better”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #29 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,330 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,051 helpful votes
“The Windsor exudes Style! Tip: the more expensive rooms are better”
Reviewed February 1, 2010

This is the Grand Hotel of Melbourne.

I know some people have given poor reviews- I suspect they have stayed in the lowest priced rooms.

If you intend staying here, stay in a "better" room- "Superior" level or above.

Avoid the temptation to stay in a cheaper "Traditional" room- it's a recipe for disappointment.

It's a lovely, gracious hotel, with wonderful staff, who remember your name, and greet you on your return.

The ambience is that of a grand hotel of the past. To some extent, this is dated, but that is part of the charm.

Certainly, the standard of the better rooms is acceptable, and their pricing is quite aggessive and attractive, in terms of offering you realistic value for money.

The high tea is an expensive indulgence- enjoy it once for a splurge.

The 111 Spring Street Restaurant is a beautiful dining room. The service is friendly and professional.

You don't see too many hotels like the Windsor these days- it's an experience worth having! A good place for a romantic weekend, or a special occasion- the theater district is nearby.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,440
    2,356
    862
    236
    113
See reviews for
1,137
4,314
595
1,159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sth Aust.
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Great Location, Service exceptional, amenities more than adequate for a short stay - (5 days from interstate for tennis).

The Entrance and Foyer is classic and stylish, history and tradition - esp opulent Australian - ooze from the solid walls and skirting, chandeliers, high ceilings and ornate cornices and rosettes, original paintings, colour scheme, prints, Cricketer's Bar, and the classic staircase is a wonderful surprise and pleasure - the tessellated tile floors, wide hallways..., the list goes on. Not to forget the Great views to Parliament and adjacent park that can be had if fortunate, closeness to theatre district, restaurants, parks, sporting facilities, art galleries, easy tram transport and did we mention the attentive and sincere service.

Sure there isn't the feel of modernity in comparison with the chrome, steel and formica of some of the larger and impersonal chain hotels, but in a hotel that has been the epitome of status and prestige for 125 years, as well presented as this, who cares about the odd minor shortcoming - everything one could reasonably require is there.

We are a family of three - the single bed provided in addition to the king-sized bed was as comfortable as we could want, and we had no cause for complaint whatsoever over 5 days - to the contrary, and at the risk of bumping up demand / prices, I am looking forward to my next trip to Melbourne, knowing where I will be staying, and happily recommending the hotel to those who share my values of personal service, tradition and style.
( For the record, we have travelled far and wide, staying in the chains mentioned, staying also in unexpectedly sub-standard apartments. With some presumption in view of the hotel's past glory and history, and in view of the trepidation created by some of the, I believe unrepresentative, reviews, I can say the stay at the Windsor Hotel was a very pleasant surprise

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMP-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Firstly, we enjoy staying in colonial style grand hotels, and this was no exception. However, I feel it will not be to everyone's liking. Despite being constantly reminded of the upgrades and money poured into this establishment, there's still a tired and dated look about the corridors and bedrooms in particular, and the room rates should command a little better quality. But the service was very good, and Phil, the concierge, was excellent. The location is also a big plus, with the free tram running right outside the front door, and lots of restaurants nearby, and we indulged ourselves with the afternoon tea, which was delightful and one of the highlights of our stay.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vancana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ze world
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Contrary to a lot of other reviews about this hotel, I really quite enjoyed it. The staff were VERY professional and courteous even though I came in with the reddest eyes imaginable and shivering from the cold as I hadn't dressed right for Melbourne weather and my friend who was supposed to pick me up in the early morning never did. They arranged for an earlier check in.
The rooms were outdated and I didn't like that, and the bathroom was horribly small. But the location was incredible - smack bang in the middle of the city, and the hotel had a charm to it. Our beds were great and the mattress was comfy. Also had breakfast delivered early in the morning and it was delicious.
I actually really recommend this hotel, although I wondered whether it really did pull off the five stars simply because the rooms were so small and outdated.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherfarm
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Superb hotel. Very clean and stylish. Food exceptional and restaurant staff really good. The Concierge, especially Phil was most helpfull. We needed help to find cricket grounds as much as 40 km away, using public transport and his advice was brilliant, nothing too much trouble.Many thanks. David and Alison Redfern

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidRedfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontvieille, Monaco
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

stayed at the Hotel Windsor in February 2009 for 6 days.
It had clearly seen better days, i pre paid online hotel booking service for a premium room - BIG MISTAKE.

On arrival, the room was a joke - "antique" is not quite the picture, poor quality carpets, furniture, small, just a dirty grubby hotel that you would find in a east european backpackers hostel.
In discussion with the concierge, i was advised that the hotel was undergoing a renovation...... and was a "classic"...... well, many may view it as a hotel to stay in,
but the restaurant, rooms, and general feel of the place is more reminiscent of the Rocky Horror Picture Show than any clean efficient professional hotel.

Unless your in your mid 90's and have no teeth, AVOID.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank KevD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I booked a special to attend a conference. The staff are snooty to say the least. There was not drinking water in the room and not tea or coffee making facilities. I broke my shoe and asked for a repairer. I was offered a reel of sticky tape and told that there was a 7 eleven nearby.

My deal included a ''hot plate breakfast". When I checked out I noticed additions to the bill for orange juice and tea with breakfast. When I questioned this I was referred to the precise wording of the deal. What a ripoff!

It also has a railway line and a 6 lane highway on either side. I would never go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BusterKeatonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,547 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,678 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#69 of 160 in Melbourne
4,889 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing