We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless beauty.”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #27 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Had a fantastic time at this most elegant timeless hotel,beautiful room very quiet. Room sevice was quick and the staff were most helpful the food was excellent. Absolutely loved it,location,great staff and classical ambience.






  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ronda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Ronda M,

Thank you for such a kind review.

It is simply wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I must say the pleasure was of course all ours.

Until next time, we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,011 - 6,017 of 8,610 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

I have always wanted to stay at the Windsor and it didn't disappoint. The traditional room was very comfortable and well maintained and the only fault (and a minor one) was that the selection of tea/coffee was a bit ordinary and I had to buy extra milk as only 4 sachets were supplied which is only enough for 2 cups of tea! The staff were very professional, helpful and friendly overall, although one of the doormen was a bit brusque at times. To get a real feel of days gone by I recommend guests forgo the lift when going downstairs at least once and use the magnificent grand staircase instead. It adds to the overall faded elegance of this iconic hotel. Great central location only 5 minutes walk down to the heart of the city. The only negative I encountered was wifi charges at the Windsor are quite expensive, $6 for a one hour block of time (e.g. 8 to 9am). Not so good if you just want to spend 10 minutes checking emails or look something up on the web (but there are plenty of free wifi hotspots in the CBD). I would definitely stay at the Windsor again and if you prefer a more classic hotel experience, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SylviaScully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear SylviaScully,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our historic hotel in all it's beauty and elegance.

I have ensure that on your next stay additional fresh milk is arranged for your room prior to arrival along with additional teas.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

A lovely and charming hotel. Clean & well kept. Loved the furnishings & decor. Close to Theatres & transport. Friendly staff.
Would have liked more selection in In-room dining after 10pm.
No desserts after 10pm?

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jyotika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Jyotika J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

A limited evening menu is available after 10pm which does include fresh fruits and ice creams however my apologies if this was not explained to you by the team here at the hotel. Please when next staying with us we will do our very best to accommodate our every need.

Until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

thats exactly what you feel when you stay here the structure is awesome! the toiletries were not so complete no toothbrush toothpaste no slippers offered. the breakfast buffet was very limited in choices but the presentation was great. no complains on the service i received very pleasant staff!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nurse J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Nurse j,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay however I must thank you for bringing to my attention the items which were missing in your room. I will be following this up with our team to ensure we do not miss this in future.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I think it's clear this hotel is better than average so it's a 4 star review. But it's a bit of a mixed bag. Cool old style hotel, staff all seem very nice, and I really like the location at the top of Collins St - but the room smelled a bit smoky or "toiletry". Not terrible - just a bit off. Might have been just that one because the first time I stayed I quite enjoyed the old world vibe.

Also the shower was very low flow.

So have been a bit put off - maybe just avoid room 311!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Jonathan T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sound our service to be of a high standard and I thank you for your feedback regarding your room and first impressions.

We do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

great, good value. I wish I could get there best value from them and not have to go through the search sites. Otherwise the place is a fantastic example of old world charm with good service and good people working there.


  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Michael K,

Thank you for your kind review.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back when next in Melbourne and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for our best rate guaranteed.

Until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a beautiful grand hotel with old world charm. It is conveniently located in the city, with tram stops out the front. As we were only staying for one night and expected to arrive late in the evening, I booked the traditional room. Upon arrival we received an upgrade to a Junior suite, which gave us a spacious adjoining lounge room. The suite was immaculate and clean. Beds were very comfortable and the long pillows were simply divine.

The marble bathroom was spacious. Although the water pressure was good, it was difficult to adjust the water temperature in the shower. A relaxing bath proved the better option.

The staff were friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: I would suggest choosing a room where the windows were able to be opened for some fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Jacqueline M,

Thank you so much for such a kind review.

It is simply fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the pleasure was of course all ours.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
926 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,966 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,081 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $135 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing