We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old hotel in fantastic position for all Melbourne has to offer”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I have just spent the last 2nights at this property.
We purchased our accommodation through Our deals website and I believe received a very good deal.
The hotel contacted us on a couple of times by email prior to arrival asking if we wanted dinner, afternoon tea bookings or any other assistance including whether we would be interested in upgrading our room and what type of pillows we would like...great customer service.
Checkin was efficient and we decided to upgrade from a traditional room to a king size room for an additional $40 a night...happy with the decision.
This is a really beautiful old property with high ceilings, lovely decor and an amazing staircase well worth a look at. Wander around the hotel and dream of how it once was.
The furniture although some looking a little tired was it fitting with the property.
Our bed was very comfortable and our room more than adequate.
Katie sorted out some queries I had on the phone at reception in a very helpful and friendly manner.
The room was probably a little too hot at night for our liking but okay.
Staff in the cricketers bar were friendly and it was a nice place for a drink before going out.
The position of the Hotel Windsor is fantastic...close to the theatres, Chinatown, Bourke Street mall, trams, trains and taxis and the fantastic restaurants in Flinders Lane
So now for my few gripes.
For a hotel of this quality, I find a 1.5% surcharge on my Visa card pretty poor.
I think a bodum and some nice coffee would be much more suitable in the room than the awful stuff that was offered and to be expected in a hotel of much lesser standing than the Windsor
The conversation in the next room was very audible so it pays to talk quietly.
You do feel that watching TV late is probably not the right thing to do by your neighbours.
And finally a booking that we requested through the concierge desk to be made for a sky bus pickup ended up being a starbus which meant we had to get a taxi from the hotel to the skybus terminal at our cost without apology or offer of reimbursement
However, other than these few issues, some of which could be rectified by the hotel to make it an even more enjoyable stay, we would recommend to our friends

Room Tip: 4th floor was pretty good as far as noise from the street was concerned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for such a considered and constructive review.

We shall act on your recommendations with diligence and my apologies for the poor service regarding the confusion on your Sky Bus booking. You left the hotel disappointed as a result and hence your kind objectivity is all the more appreciated.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back soon.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,479 - 6,485 of 8,620 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is going to become my go-to hotel in Melbourne. The staff were extremely helpful and the room was to die for!
I had originally booked a standard room and was told at check in that for an extra $50 I could be upgraded to a deluxe room, which had views over Parliament House. It was the best $50 I have spent. The room was enormous, and it included a huge walk-in robe, a lovely marble bathroom and a very lovely sitting area with a couch and 2 arm chairs.
The view was also superb.
I will definitely be back here my next trip to Melbourne!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kaitlyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Ms B…Kaitlyn,

Wonderful news for the team here at The Windsor.

Thank you for sharing the good news on Trip advisor.

Looking forward to the pleasure of you company again soon.

Warmest regards,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Room was smallish, but nice and clean. It was abit warm the first night but I spoke with housekeeping and they opened the window for us. Thank you. The room temperature was much more pleasant 2nd night also spoke with front desk and it was promptly attended to. There were only 2 pillows on bed and I requested some more which we're delivered promptly. I would like to upgrade next time (was offered room upgrade) just to see what other rooms are like.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Ms C…Denise,

Thank you for your positive review.

Traditional rooms are promoted as suitable for the single traveller or an overnight stay so your decision to book a larger room next time is well considered. You will not be disappointed.

Until then our thanks and best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

One of the few places where excellent service still exists. Absolutely beautiful building with attention to detail everywhere you go. Concierge staff & wait staff where wonderful and nothing was ever too much to ask. The room itself was lovely as well. Only down side is that back street noise was terrible with sounds of kegs being loaded & glass bottle bins being emptied at early hours in the morning waking us up. Maybe glazed windows would assist. Overall though - an amazing experience. Nowhere else will do for us whilst visiting Melbourne in future. Denise & Paul Gilbert

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Mr G…Paul,

Our thanks to you and Mrs Gilbert for such kind words.

The pleasure was ours and we count ourselves fortunate to look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A beautiful hotel in a great location. Our room was gorgeous and well appointed. The staff were friendly and efficient, I couldn't fault our stay at all.
The Cricketers Bar is definitely worth a visit for a refreshing drink before a night out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livinthedreamlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Madam,

Perfect.

Thank you for sharing such positive views.

Hoping to welcome you both back soon.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Upon arrival the front desk confused our rooms and informed us that breakfast had not been paid for. To rectify this we were told that WE had to send an email to the front reception -they were unable to do it! The next morning to our humiliation and embarrassment we were told by the dining room that breakfast was not paid for! We left! P.S. Only two pillows in the room - not enough!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ann And Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs L…Ann & Geoff,

Sincere apologies for such disappointment caused.

I shall investigate and find out where things went so astray so we can avoid in future.

Assuring you of our commitment to leave you with memories more befitting The Windsor should we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

We shall ensure correct details with at least 4 pillows in your room (– all guests are contacted prior to arrival where we have an email address giving a choice of pillows).

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed in the basic room at the Windsor Hotel. As you would expect the staff at the Windsor are a delight and cannot be faulted. The room has all the old world charm you could ask for. It is an old hotel - so shower is over the bath. However loads of hot water and lovely towels helped. I was a bit surprised that the shampoo etc was pretty ordinary - for a luxury hotel I felt they could have done a lot better here. I stayed two nights - it was quiet, restful and charming. If that is what you are looking for then the Windsor is for you.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Ms S…Ann,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed yours stay.

I appreciate your feedback on bathroom amenities. These are luxury products from The White Company in the UK and information can be easily sourced on the internet.

Comments to date have been overwhelmingly positive yet your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We shall endeavour to delight you next time

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
801 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,571 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,975 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $119 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing