We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel Windsor
Nearby Hotels
$107
$102
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$230
$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$160
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$228
$206
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$133
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$213
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$126
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$261
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$212
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,960)
Filter reviews
8,960 results
Traveler rating
5,030
2,589
944
273
124
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,030
2,589
944
273
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmcricketers bartraditional roomgrand old ladyhigh teaparliament housespring streetsuperior roompillow menubeautiful hotelan upgradea wonderful stayvalet parkingpublic transportconciergedoormanpillows
Filter
Updating list...
6,841 - 6,846 of 8,960 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2014

A memorable stay in a glorious motel. Melbourne is lucky to have such a history filled motel with staff that knew exactly what their job was about. I only had one drawback but I didn't let it stop me from enjoying such a grand place.


  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Ms R...Darleen,

Wonderful to hear.

Please let us know of the one drawback next time so that we may address.

Until then our thanks and best wishes to you both.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had a short stay recently at The Windsor for work for just one night. Customer service was very professional and attentive and probably the best part of my stay. The rooms were clean and tidy.

I understand the historic nature of this hotel but my small criticism is that some of the furniture needed some upkeep, including the outdated air con, given it is a 5 star hotel. Also the walls are quite thin and conversations outside my room were clearly audible.

Apart from this I would still recommend this hotel particularly because of the excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Mr B...William,

Most kind.

Until our rejuvenation our focus is very much on service excellence yet we endeavour very much to maintain the furnishings and fittings in good repair. We shall check your room furniture as a result of your kind feedback. Air conditioning is somewhat dated and having windows that open, whilst being a helpful option, does not make up for that. Hopefully you were kept at a reasonably comfortable temperature - our normal experience we find.

With thanks and hoping to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was my others 80th Birthday and wow what a birthday. From the afternoon tea with a special small 80 cake to the upgrade from a suite to the King George V suite, we were very impressed. It's nice to walk into a hotel with a soul and history. The staff were great and helped all along the way especially Nick on reception. Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Mr F...Brian,

Perfect.

Congratulations to Mrs F once again.

Delighted to hear that your family enjoyed such a special stay and that we were able to upgrade you to our Victorian Suite named after HM George V - a previous guest whilst Prince of Wales.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you all back for many Birthday and celebratory stays to come.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

A lovely experience celebrating our 54th Wedding Anniversary. The bottle of sparkling wine in an ice bucket and card signed by some of the staff was an unexpected surprise which added a very personal touch to our stay.Accommodation, service and meals all of high standard.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Mr W...Ken,

From the title of your review I am guessing that I am writing to Mr & Mrs Winks.

Congratulations to you both on such a special achievement. We thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Windsor and look forward to the pleasure of your company again soon for more great celebrations.

With thanks and very best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Overall I was quite impressed with everything about our stay at The Windsor. However our stay was soured severely by an inconsiderate guest staying above our room. From midnight thru to 3:00am we had to put up with constant banging noises in the room, the constant sound of people or probably kids running up and down the apartment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam....Ms T..,

So sorry to hear of the disturbances at such an unsocial hour. most inconsiderate. We would have addressed if known. Our apologies are extended.

To be sure that nocturnal guests do not disturb you in future we shall allocate you a room or suite on our top floor. Please let us know of this advice when next booking The Windsor.

Until then, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews