We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay and meal”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #27 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Room was nice and spacious. But a couple of issues - creaking floors disturbed our sleep when we each got up to go to the loo. Also quite a bit of creaking from the floor of the room above us. The doona on the bed was just toooo hot!!! Tried to shake it down, but not much better. Mentioned this at the desk the next morning - was told we could have requested blankets. Oh well, next time we will.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Kathy B,

Thank you for your kind review of your most recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us however I would like to apologse for an uncomfortable night's rest. I have today updated your details to ensure that on any future stay we arrange your room to be made up with blankets which I hope will make for a far more comfortable sleep.

Once again thank you and until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,154)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Windsor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,228 - 6,234 of 8,154 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at The Hotel Windsor just last night in the Duke of Windsor Suite which we highly recommend. It went above and beyond our expectations with stunning views, clean and comfortable amazing space with fantastic service all round. Our host in the dining room was so lovely and the food... outstanding. The lady who checked us in was welcoming and very affable. We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay.

Room Tip: The Duke of Windsor Suite is spectacular.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Claire M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is so wonderful to hear that you found your room to be clean, comfortable and with amazing service to finish off.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company in the near future and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I was on a 9 days business trip. The hotel is full of early Victoria era charms. It has a wonderful ambience and great staff. Having stayed in many hotels around the world, this is one of the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Michael T,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

So glad that we were able to make your nine day stay with us so comfortable and I do hope that your business trip was a successful one.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company once again and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

we loved our stay at the windsor hotel it is a totally charming place to stay full of history and has a warmth and charm not often found nowadays .also is perfectly situated in melbourne for all the attractions ,the staff were fantastic too ..we hope to go and stay there again soon, a totally great experience it was our wedding anniversary and staying at he windsor made it so much more special …loved it ...


  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Denise M,

Thank you so much for your kind words, the pleasure was of course all ours.

Until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is absolutely my favourite place to stay in the city. As I walk through the front door, time seems to slow and I am transported away from the noise and rush into quiet and space, where my "host" just wants to ensure that I have everything I want to make my stay exactly what I want. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Theresa P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I can assure you that I will be sharing your kind words with the team here at the hotel.

Until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Our first night was extremely disappointing. The room only had a frosted window which made us feel quite clostraphobic. The only cable televisions stations were sporting channels and the movie selection was very poor. We had little sleep due to the ongoing noise of the elevator throughout the entire night and the cleaning staff woke us up very early as the cleaning bay was outside our room. After complaining we were upgraded to a superior room overlooking Spring Street the next morning. I felt we should have also received some compensation for the first night as we had paid a lot for a very inferior room. The second room was excellent and we appreciated the upgrade.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Christine G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Windsor.

I would like to apologise for what was an uncomfortable start to your stay with us. It is good although to hear that we were able to quickly arrange a second room for your overlooking Spring Street however is should not have needed to come to that. have addressed with our Housekeeping Executive the early morning disturbance and have also forwarded your comments onto the hotel's CEO for his attention.

Once again our apologies and as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Great place to stay, Service excellent, and staff were very helpful
Bed was very comfortable
Will highly recommended
Was close to a lovely cheese shop and within walking distance to theatres
and city shops



  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Denise A,

Dear Gloria G,

Thank you so much for your recent review.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I can assure you that I will be sharing your kind words with the team here at the hotel.

Until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,618 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,542 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,009 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $130 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing