We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Cricketers Bar Within”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #28 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Moama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The Cricketers Bar Within”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The bar staff honestly have no idea about there product on tap, for example as I was unfamiliar with most of the beers on tap I decided I would like a mid strength beer, I was recommended a beer known as 50 Lashes I later found out it is a full strength beer. On Sunday the 6th of April bar staff called last drinks at 10:40pm there was approx. 25 pax in the bar at the time several being house guests WHY?? would you do this.All in All however the stay was all ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Grag C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us and for bringing to my attention a number of issues in our Cricketer's Bar which are of great concern to me.

Please be assured that I will be addressing the early closing time with our Bar Manager and also looking into the lack of knowledge which I must concede is simply not good enough and we must act quickly to rectify this.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company in our hotel or at our Cricketer's Bar in the near future so until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,050
    2,175
    806
    226
    107
See reviews for
1,026
3,964
545
1,077
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Au
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Loved the windsor, we would definitely stay there again . Staff were most generous and helpful. We had a wonderful stay . The room was spacious, the room service and breakfast were perfect, thank you for everything.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Catherine U,

Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent stay with us.

Please rest assured that I will be sharing your comments with the team here at the hotel.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company in the near future.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The staff we spoke to were all respectful and wonderful, nothing was too much effort, we were upgraded which we weren't expecting, the gentleman who delivered my breakfast was very kind and considerate, everything was lovely and sparklingly clean, absolute bliss. Will definitely return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eatoutalottoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear eatoutattoo,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

It is a real credit to the team here at the hotel and I can assure you that I will be personally passing on your thanks and kind words.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company in the near future and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Location is PERFECT. However, we last stayed in the hotel over 20 years ago for our tenth wedding anniversary. We were both disappointed as it is definitely less than five star standard now. We stayed for two nights having responded to an on line offer on the Hotel's website to discover that the second night was nearly $100 more than the first. Checking out took an inordinately long time - only one staff member at the desk. Room was comfortable. Digital TV reception was pixellated an unwatchable. It is a charming hotel but needs work and a review of its price for what it can offer when compared with hotels within a block.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Sandy D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at The Windsor.

I would like to firstly apologise for the lengthy delay upon your departure, it is so important that anyone leaving our hotel is left with professional and friendly experience and I can assure you that I will be looking into as to to why the reception desk was only attended by one team member.

I have also forwarded your comments in regards to your accommodation to our CEO David Perry for his urgent attention.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I found the staff to be courteous, professional, friendly & very helpful. The room was very comfortable & the location suited my requirements perfectly. My stay at The Windsor greatly enhanced my visit to Melbourne. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Gary R,

Thank you so much for your kind review which I will be sharing with the team at the hotel.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company in the near future.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Flew over for a short break (and the footy of course). What a stunning hotel. Stayed at Sir Rupert Hamer Suite, and it was sublime. Room furnishings are a bit worn, but adds to the character of the suite. Great view of Parliament House from the suite. Best part for us would have to be the Cricketer's Bar, we were looked after so well by the staffs ( special mention to bar tender who made excellent cocktails, as well as lady bar tender who made the most wonderful ice-lemon teas). Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Joseph C,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time in Melbourne and of course I hope that you walked away from the footy happy with the result!

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company in the near future and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had a voucher as a gift for for our Golden Wedding, very relaxing time for us and within walking distance of the MCG where we enjoyed a great game of football, we hope to return to the Windsor Hotel again in the near future

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thorntt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear thorntt,

Thank you for your kind review and of course a belated Happy Anniversary from all at The Windsor.

It was an absolute pleasure to be apart of your celebrations and I hope that you may join us again for many more to come.

Until next time we remain as always at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#41 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,185 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing