We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne Icon Still Delivers, But Needs A Bit Of A Refurb!”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #29 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a lovely 4 night stay in this iconic Melbourne Hotel. All the staff that we had contact with were very pleasant and accommodating. We had a spacious superior Spring St facing room, which caught a lot of natural light. The bed and bed linen were quality and provided a comfortable nights rest. Bathroom storage space was limited and cluttered. The hotel however generally in our opinion was getting to the stage where some refurbishment was needed and although clean, some areas and furnishings were a tad jaded. This impacted on the overall ambience, it's a heritage building that needs optimal presentation. The Spring street location was great and means that most main Melbourne attractions are within walking distance or tram and rail access is nearby.
It was a birthday occasion and we really appreciated the personal touch of a cake and card.
We would recommend the hotel especially for special occasions.

Room Tip: Spring St facing rooms for natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davestan12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your frank assessment. I am glad to hear that our team made you both feel most welcome. I shall try and respond with equal honesty.

For some time a restoration and refurbishment has been planned and permits are now in place for that work to commence at the end of next year.

For the next 12 months we are mindful, as you say, that facilities require restoration for ‘optimal presentation’ yet we are completely focused on making the next 12 months our best in our 130 years through service excellence to our guests and with innovation to service provision. We are also determined to present our historic property in the best way possible at all times.

We cannot promise ‘optimal’ presentation of facilities, and we do not, but there is no reason why we cannot be rated best for service and hospitality. We shall try hard.

With thanks and kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,519 - 7,525 of 8,414 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and what an experience it was. We had an upgraded room facing Parliament house on the second floor.
The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. The drapes, the carpets and the furniture belong to a time when hotels were more of an extravagance than a place to park your lugagge for a night. The bed was more than comfortable and best of all the pillows were actual down pillows.
The corridors were wide and sumptuously carpeted and the staircases well worth not taking the lift for. Just stunning. The lobby is expansive with an old English club feel and no doubt this hotel attracts people who admire all those things. You just feel like ordering port and ciagrs. If you like Raffles in Singapore or the E and O in Penang this is for you.
Some things do gripe. The windows cannot be opened without a key - it might be available - we did not ask. Wifi is not free at $6 an hour or $24 a day. That just should not happen in this day and age. A reading room too would add to the Club feel of the place.
Just the same you owe it to yourself to stay in a place just once in your life just for the ambience. Check wotif as we did for a really surprisingly good deal and not that much more than a modest regional motel.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a room with a view of Spring Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Sir,

So glad that you both enjoyed your Windsor experience.

Your comments will I am sure be especially helpful to readers. Hopefully they, like you, shall return again and again.

On that subject of assistance to readers I should point out that at the top of this page there is a complimentary Wi-Fi offer and I should also note that most windows can be unlocked with a call to Reception or to Reservations before arrival.

Until we have the pleasure of your company again, I remain

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in an upgraded room on September 7. The size of the room was excellent and the old world furnishings very well presented. A dressing room and large bathroom were also well designed. We noticed that the windowsills were very dirty with dead bugs and dust all over them. While individual air conditioning controls are in each room, the temperature is centrally controlled. The room was hot and stuffy and because our room faced the busy, noisy street we certainly could not open the windows. The a/c unit was also noisy. We had a terrible nights sleep and our tiredness spoilt our next days activities. When we lodged our disappointment with the duty manager the next morning our issue was brushed aside. During our stay one lift was out of service so a lot more time was spent waiting for lifts. For a lot of money, that did not even include breakfast, this hotel was was a huge disappointment. Does not deserve its reputation at all. The doorman and concierge were wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Madam,

A note as to your comments had been made by the Manager on Duty and I am so sorry if our response was seen as 'dismissive' in any way A disruptive night’s sleep is hardly what is expected at a 5 star hotel let alone The Windsor.

Should you ever consider staying with us again your request for individual air conditioning and quiet has already been noted.

You will find us fully focussed on leaving you with memories quiet at odds with your review above.

Hoping to have that opportunity.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed 2 nights at this beautiful National Trust listed hotel in the heart of Melbourne CBD. I found the staff fantastic - always helpful and friendly - nothing was a bother to them, and we felt very welcome. We got a package deal through Wotif, and felt like VIPs throughout our stay.
The rooms are large and very well appointed. Great way to spend a weekend in the city of magnificent Melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieJeanQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Madam

So glad to read that you both enjoyed your visit to Melbourne and especially to The Windsor.

The team here will be delighted to hear that your weekend was such a success.

Until next time…

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I love original tiles and architecture in this place. We really enjoyed High Tea in beautiful dining room. We were upgraded to Superior double Queen room which one was very clean and plenty room to move. It was a very memorable stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Madam,

A memorable review as well if I might say. Thank you.

The original tessellated floor tiles were only rediscovered under carpet in the last 30 years. Restoration of these 130 year old gems and the magnificent architecture is almost as important to us as the care of our most valued guests.

Thank you for your kind words,

The pleasure was ours.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed here for just one night on a recent business trip to Melbourne. The hotel has an amazing old world charm.. Beautifully restored, well located and very comfortable.enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. The menu is not extensive however there is sure to be something to suit all tastes.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfq_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Madam,

That sounds wonderful. Thank you so much.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Windsor experience. The charm of the Windsor is well known in this fine city and I am glad to see that with so many great restaurants in town the very high standards here are winning new customers and adding to the hotel’s reputation.

Until next time, I remain,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautifully restored circa 1883, and well located to explore Melbourne, we could not fault the excellent service or accommodation at the Windsor. We enjoyed our beautiful superior room with complimentary champagne on arrival to celebrate this grand old hotel's 130th birthday.

The whole look and feel is, in a word, 'gracious'. From the harpist playing in the foyer, to the beautifully upholstered leather lounges, to the lovely old paintings and nick knacks, it was a pleasure to sit and dream of ladies and gentlemen dressed in their fine attire, attending balls at the hotel around the turn of the century.

Unfortunately we did not have time to dine at the Windsor, but a quick peak into the dining room and at the menu assured us we would not have been disappointed, either in quality or value for money.

Our three night stay at the Windsor couldn't have been more perfect. We would highly recommend this Grand Lady.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandylem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Madam,

Your review is both gracious and generous. Thank you so much.

Your comments on our service shall be appreciated by the team whilst all here will be delighted to know that the experience was so well received.

The Windsor is unique and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back soon.

Until that time, I remain,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,783 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,434 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,572 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $152 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing