We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh no !”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #29 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Well we were going to stay here whilst in Melbourne but it was not meant to be . The reception area started the alarm bells ringing , it was for want of a better turn of phase tacky and down at heel most especially for a hotel of this apparent quality. One look at the room which was the top tier variety was enough. Windows so filthy that one could barely see out , cheap reproduction furniture of the type you could buy in a second hand store because it is now so eschewed by all . The bathroom complete with plastic shower screen in the bath reminded me of a Jonh Le Carre novel. The room was musty and just too shabby especially given the prices . So without much further ado we departed after about twenty minutes having been informed that our refusal to stay in this glorified three star would cost us $450 for a night. Well money well spent quite frankly. We moved on to the Park Hyatt which was just fine being modern and above all clean.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Mr T,

I am sorry that our Deluxe Room facing Spring Street was so disappointing. We also noted that you had been referred by family or friends when you booked in the UK. When we discovered your disappointment with the room we did also offer an upgrade to a suite at no charge. (Also please note the shower screens are glass not plastic). For readers information we did receive a request for a nice room due to a landmark wedding anniversary and birthday.

We understood that the hotel style was not to your taste and regret both that the upgrade was not going to help and that a refund on the day was not possible as we were full and had no chance to resell the room - hence our conditions of no cancellations within 24 hours of arrival on the package which you chose. The Windows being dirty however demand review as do reports of the room being musty etc

We would never wish to spoil such a special day and trust that the Park Hyatt was more in line with your expectations. The staff here were so keen to be of service.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,614 - 7,620 of 8,485 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

I live in Melbourne. To welcome home my boyfriend from a lengthy trip I trawled every hotel in the city's immediate radius for the exact measure of pamper and pomp. The Windsor won out easily. A ridiculously gorgeous looking establishment with an unparalleled level of staff care. Emails answered immediately, early check-in and ostentatious upgrade when I mentioned my plan to propose (he said yes!), immaculate room, Melbourne centric view, surrounding and history as well as the best bar-burgur I've had all year! It was completely perfect and we're both so greatfull for our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AcesWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Madam,

So kind of you to post this following your kind letter received with thanks a couple of days ago.

We are of course delighted for the two of you and hope to be of service on special days that lie ahead in your new life together.

Warmest regards and Wishing you Every Happiness,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Windsor to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Everything about our stay was wonderful, but it was topped off by us finding a card slipped under our door, which had personal messages from all the staff on duty, wishing us a happy anniversary. It was a simple gesture but really made our day. Our room was beautiful and we were treated like royalty, despite booking a 'cheap' package online. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Mrs M…..Jill,

So Glad to hear that the Windsor team played a part in your wonderful 30th Wedding Anniversary.

Congratulations.

Honestly, your review will mean a lot to everyone here. Thank you.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company again soon.

Until then, my thanks and kindest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked the couples package on line and got off the ferry from Tasmania very early in the morning needing somewhere to drop the car and baggage until check in time we made our way to the Hotel we were surprised to find that our room was ready and that we had been upgraded to an executive suite, our baggage was sent to our room the car was expertly valet parked and we were greeted kindly by staff, we freshened up and headed out for a day of sight seeing and shopping.
That afternoon after booking for the Windsor afternoon tea we enjoyed a treat of taste and old fashioned service in the exquisite dining room, again the service was faultless the food a treat indeed the French bubbles perfect and their afternoon tea blend was a perfect accompaniment to the food, definitely a must do if you are in Melbourne, not the cheapest afternoon tea but the very best.
Our stay here was the best treat for the start of our anniversary week.... Not always all the bells and whistles of modern five star hotels but the history, good old fashioned service and attention to detail made this a memorable stay and at half the price of the same sort of room on the tasmanian ferry not that expensive, you will love it....

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AlanT113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Mr T….Alan,

Thank you so much for this outstanding endorsement which will thrill the team here at The Windsor.

So glad that your stay in a suite here at the Windsor along with the Windsor’s famous afternoon tea proved to be part of such an enjoyable start to your Anniversary Week.

Our Congratulations to you both once more.

Until next time, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, loved the style & history. The room (traditional queen) was a good size & very tasteful. All of the staff were friendly & helpful. Located close enough to walk to the shopping district or the free train is right outside he door. Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sharon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Ms N…Sharon,

Delighted that you both enjoyed your Windsor Experience and our thanks for your recommendation to readers. Thank you for pointing out that Traditional Rooms are ‘a good size’ as we go out of our way to alert readers that Traditional Rooms are not large being on average 23 square metres in size. Our 6 other room and suite types are considerably larger. We simply do not wish to disappoint and we are glad that we did not with you.

Hoping to welcome you both back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My partner and I recently travelled to Melbourne and stayed at the Windsor for the first time. It is a truly magnificient and elegant hotel. The staff are courteous and efficient - and nothing is too much trouble. I will definitely stay there any time I am in Melbourne.

Room Tip: We stayed in 425 and it was quiet, extremely comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Ms H....Leonie,

Delighted that your Windsor stay was so memorable for all the right reasons.

For readers benefit Room 425 is a superior room facing Bourke Street near the corner of Spring Street.

Thank you for your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel Windsor still holds all the charm of an old classic but with updated stylish rooms. It's in a great location in Melbourne CBD and lots of good restaurants within walking distance. The renovated rooms are tasteful, good size and beds and pillows as good as you would expect. the bar is also an old favourite and still fun for catching up with friends. If you don't want to stay in a hotel that just feels like a chain, stay here for tradition, service and comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the street rather than internal courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aceprchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your flattering review. The charm and individuality of The Windsor is what the team here try to enhance and deliver each day. Having the opportunity to operate as an independent hotel is a rarity these days and one for which we are most grateful.

I would agree that the rooms have certainly been updated many times over the past 130 years yet it would be remiss of me not to comment that a rejuvenation is required soon to bring bathrooms etc up to 21st century luxury standards. Your comments of approval however are most thankfully received.

Until next time my best wishes to you both,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,828 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,028 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
892 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $147 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing