We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent location for a city experience in Melbourne” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location for a city experience in Melbourne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Hotel Windsor is a landmark in Melbourne. It is at the top end of the city with great shops restaurants coffee shops and gardens within easy walking distance. The High tea is worth an experience as it is served in the old dining room which has been renovated but kept in its original form. The staff are professional and friendly and are willing to help on all levels. the rooms are a bit tired but very clean. They suit if you are looking for a clean comfortable bed with good service after a day out on the town.

Room Tip: Take a suite is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apple92013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind words and helpful reader advice.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,730
    1,994
    749
    208
    100
See reviews for
934
3,660
495
995
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The booking advised that we would receive a bottle of bubbly in our room on arrival. What they didn't ask for was our eta. We arrived at approx. 10pm thanks to flight and work schedules, and not surprisingly, the ice in the bucket was completely melted, and the wine warming! The room, while comfortable, and having a separate wardrobe/dressing room which was very convenient, the bathroom left some to be desired. It was obvious that it was a conversion and attempt at fitting the mod cons into an old space, but it was cramped. To be frank, to sit on the loo was a mission, having to wedge oneself under the wash basin! We didn't dine there, but did have a drink in the Cricketers Bar, which was very pleasant. The hotel is in a great location, with a tram stop just metres from the front door, and walking in this beautiful city is a pleasure. Also close to China Town. A beautiful hotel, but wasn't overawed by it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRtrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

So sorry for the lack of attention with the replacement of ice when we could see that you had not arrived.

Should we have the pleasure of your company again please let us know of your bathroom concerns on this visit.

With thanks and kindest regards,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

No in room safe, seriously in 2013. Lock goods up at the desk which is a pain. The hotel is OLD school, which is a different experience. It needs something vibrant onsite to gather more people. No fee wifi anywhere which is disappointing as well for the price u pay. Clean, comfy beds, great housekeeping. Old work experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank la90036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Aspects of the hotel are a little dated even though the gorgeous heritage beauty of the building remains. An extensive rejuvenation programme is scheduled to commence in November 2014. Meanwhile service standards are not restrained by the decor and the team strives to give the best. Free wifi is available using the booking link at the top of this page.

With thanks and kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is like a dream, you are taken back in time to old world charm and get a feel of what life would have been like many moon ago. We took a trip at Easter and I chose this hotel as it was a historic hotel and I love the character of these buildings - this did not fail to disappoint! We had a beautiful suite,which was huge, comfortable bed, and 2nd bedroom and a huge couch in the lounge and dining table. As a treat we went downstairs for the afternoon tea which was out of this world, my only regret was that I had lunch that day so could not sample everything.
The free tram stops right out side, and everything is clean and simply devine!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsimpsondusty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your glowing review. For readers benefit you obviously stayed in one of our seven Victorian Suites which all overlook Spring Street.

Afternoon tea remains as popular as ever with Saturday 7 September seeing the start of our renaissance for the éclair.

Hoping that you both may return soon to try.

Until then I remain,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

we were upgraded to a Deluxe Twin Room decorated in beautiful antique furniture with the room being very spacious.The bathroom was spacious & the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was cooked to perfection- even the egg! the staff were very professional & friendly willing to help in any way. Would definately return.

Room Tip: if you want a view choose spring street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ms B….Angela,

Thank you for your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to The Windsor soon.

With kindest regards,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here twice, loved the idea of old world hospitality, first visit staff were attentive, second time no attention at all. Would not stay here again.great location but lots of beautiful places close by that have great service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocopopsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Madam,

So sorry to hear of your experience in December 2012.

Hoping to have the opportunity of demonstrating that the standards of service experienced on your first stay are the norm here at the Windsor.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should such an opportunity for the hotel arise. My email is dperry@thw.com.au

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this old grand hotel during our final few days in Australia. Walking into the grand old dame of Australian hotels, left me with an immediate feeling of disappointment.

The hotel definitely showed its wear and tear and vestiges of a bygone era when the Duchess of Windsor and Hollywood stars stayed there.

Our room itself was well-appointed and huge with a walk-in closet/mini-bar area. One could have had ballroom dancing lessons in this room, and the high ceilings were impressive. The heating/cooling system was in need of update.

The breakfast buffet display and quality left much to be desired even though waiters bowed and scraped in the manner of a 5-star restaurant. I would've liked to have tried the much-touted (by the hotel) high tea service but didn't have a chance. But considering the lack of quality in the breakfast service, I'm not sure it would have worth the price.

The service was spotty at best. One concierge was utterly useless at assisting us with the selection of a restaurant for us. (Thank God for the internet!) And another on the next night was fabulously helpful.

Room Tip: Be careful in the bathroom. I almost hurt myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank concetta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

So sorry to hear that your visit half way around the world was not blessed with a fantastic stay at The Windsor.

Your feedback is comprehensive and appreciated and we shall take steps to address all issues.

There is no excuse for service standards that are not exemplary.

I can only hope that you may visit Melbourne again soon when the team here would be delighted to work towards leaving you with memories more befitting Australia’s grand hotel of the Victorian era.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,977 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#27 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#38 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing