We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Period Hotel in need of refreshment”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #29 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Period Hotel in need of refreshment”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

A once-fine hotel still clinging to it's (self rated) 5 star status.
If you're looking for a piece of old world charm, this is the place, but if you are looking for a real 5 star experience, look elsewhere.
Bathrooms badly need updating.
Nice crisp tablecloths in a restaurant don't magically qualify a hotel for a 5 star rating. Particularly with the poor selection at breakfast, along with inattentive service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank O D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Apologies for the disappointment caused over your stay at The Windsor.

There is no excuse for inattentive service at breakfast although I must say that we changed the hot food dishes last week so that all hot food is served a la carte – Melbourne has some great independent breakfast establishments and none of them have chosen to serve hot food from a buffet. We simply agreed that a la carte hot dishes ensure a better breakfast and as a result we would hope that the selection would be more to your liking now.

Our Bathrooms are not the most up to date with most having a shower over the bath at the current time. I am sorry that you were not aware before you arrived . Had you been perhaps the disappointment would not have been present. We try to demonstrate our commitment to excellence by providing luxury brand bathroom amenities from The White Company in the UK along with some of the largest and heaviest bath sheets in the country.

We appreciate the opportunity to clarify our product offerings to all readers and apologise once more for the service lapses and for not aligning expectations appropriately.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Note to potential guests : You are most welcome to call us to discuss best bathroom options as a number are available. Simply as a factual correction the hotel’s star rating is not self-rated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,161
    2,226
    818
    230
    110
See reviews for
1,050
4,072
556
1,099
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenshoe
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 5 days at the Windsor. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. King sized bed and old world elegance made the stay very comfortable. Would recommend the Windsor for a stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Ms L ….Janette,

So glad that you both enjoyed your Windsor Experience. The pleasure was of course ours.

Until next time, our best regards and thanks for your kind words,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We celebrated our 2nd Wedding anniversary one month early and stayed at the Windsor. What a gracious hotel and entertaining too. The piano was playing, the staff courteous and friendly, a bride posed for photos in the foyer. What we liked most was how spacious and elegant the room was, as was the reception area, hallways, restaurant and communal areas. The food excellent, the bed and pillows so comfortable, and our room with a view faced the stately buildings opposite and looked over to Treasury Gardens. We took a short tram ride to the newly furbished Concert hall and walked to St Peter's Church in the morning. The Windsor is in a quiet street at the top of town and is a very special and unique hotel. It is close to all amenities and within walking distance of most attractions, shops, restaurants and shows. Thank you.

Room Tip: Try a room with a view, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Ms K….Dinah,

Congratulations to you both and thank you for your kind review.

I would agree that for a special occasion the Spring Street views are well worth securing.

Hoping that we have the pleasure of your company again soon and that we may have the privilege to host many Special Events in future for you and your family,

Warmest regards,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Comfortably appointed rooms with attentive staff in well maintained Victorian grand style splendour, perfect for all transport & City sights. KIng sized bed & warm furnishing makes for an enjoyable stay, perfect for weekends to sample the City & the endless restaurants. The timeless sound of the main foyer piano a pleasant change from musak.

Room Tip: Away from Street & Ballroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Chris B,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to heat that you found our staff attentive and that you were able to take advantage of our perfect location in the 'Paris' end of the city.

Until your next visit the team at The Hotel Windsor remains, as always at your service.

Our warmest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband arranged this lovely treat for our 9 year wedding anniversary and it did not disappoint. The scones, sandwiches and cakes were served with attention to detail and by charming staff who appeared pleased to be there.
The dessert buffet complete with chocolate fountain looked (and tasted!) amazing and the selection of teas which are served in silverware was wonderful.
The room configuration left plenty of space between guests (no overcrowding) and although a little on the pricey side, I would definately go again in lieu of a dinner date.

Room Tip: Book way in advance and don't eat anything before you go!! They do cater for vegetarians also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Kitty D,

Thank you for your wonderful review and of course our belated congratulations on your 9th Wedding Anniversary.

Please rest assured that I will be sharing your comments and kind words with our service team as I am sure they will be most appreciative.

We hope that we may have the privilege of your company once more albeit for dining or to stay and make The hotel Windsor part of your fondest memories.

Until then we do, as always remain at your service.

Warm Regards
Nick

Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Windsor is a Melbourne icon and has stood the test of time. Whilst it appears a little tired it was clean, comfortable and the staff were courteous and friendly. This would be a lovely hotel to bring your grandmother to, to remind her of a more elegant time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little_sonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear little_sonj,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our service team to be friendly and courteous.

This year we are celebrating our 130th year and we do aim for a level of personal service which is not seen elsewhere.

Until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the Windsor for the third time and it seems it has got even better. My wife and I were on a short stay of two nights, and enjoyed the Windsor enormously. Our standard room was large enough, as was the bathroom, with everything in place and clean. We enjoy the historical vibe of the Windsor and will stay again when next in Melbourne. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear pedrokeys,

Thank you for your kind words and your patronage.

It really is fantastic to hear that your two nights with us lived up to your expectations. Our Traditional Queen rooms really are perfect for a short stay when you're out and about enjoying all that Melbourne has to offer.

We please be assured that I will be sharing your comments with our service team. Until your next visit we remain as always at your service.

Warm Regards
Nick

Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,347 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,289 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing