We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Old Lady Windsor, still trading on her faded charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria. Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Old Lady Windsor, still trading on her faded charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Something of a nostalgic return to a hotel I remember so well as a child, however this grand old lady with her superb location and rich history seems to be trading a little too obviously on her name and faded charms, assuming all else will be forgiven.
We had only one night in a smallish but reasonably appointed double room. The decor is a little tired and tatty however the bed was comfort itself. my only real gripe is that we could not open the window even a crack so had to rely on the dreaded air conditioning. One of my pet hates, but that's another story.
Breakfast was adequate but unremarkable and the coffee insipid, a crime indeed in a city that prides itself as the coffee capital of Australia. Service was gracious and correct and of the old school and the general atmosphere was equally gracious and correct.
The location is about as special as it can get and you can expect to walk to just about everything of interest in this wonderful inner city precinct.
All in all a pleasant stay but I find it difficult to equate the overall experience with the fairly steep tariff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biniberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Biniberg,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you found our service to be of standard however I must really thank you for your comments regarding breakfast and in particular our coffee which I have immediately forwarded to Edward our Restaurant Manager for his attention.

I hope that we may again in the future have the pleasure of your company and please remember no matter which way you choose to book your accommodation I am always contactable at the hotel if you require any assistance in selecting the perfect room or suite type.

Warm Regards
Nick

Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,247
    1,800
    660
    190
    90
See reviews for
800
3,239
431
877
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
657 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night while on business in Melbourne, and was happy to do so as I had always wanted to stay at the hotel.

History abounds and it reminded me greatly of many stately hotels I have stayed at in the UK.

I must admit though that history doesn't count for everything and the hotel is in need if some repair.

Overall though a great experience Nd a place I'd certain stay at again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear ozvpm_andy,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience.

The Hotel Windsor certainly does have a rich of history, this being our 130th years is a great reminder of this and we are only working harder to ensure that all of our guests continue to leave with wonderful memories.

Until next time, we do as always remain at your service.

Warm Regards
Nick

Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the historic Windsor Hotel for a few days combining business with pleasure and were very pleasantly surprised. From the welcome by the Porter and Concierge to the dining and bedroom staff, everyone was polite and helpful. The Porter (the very tall man) was particularly helpful, polite and displayed the exceptional manners of a true gentleman - a real credit to the hotel. His customer service was superb.

Our room was the standard room which was spacious with very high cielings (in line with the historic building) and well equipped without being too fussy. The bed was very comfortable although the pillow menu unfortunately did not include a soft flat pillow - we normally travel with out own travel pillows just in case.

The diningroom was well serviced with attentive staff. Breakfast was more than adequate, understated and appropriate in presentation for the start of the day as one expects with a five star establishment. Sunday breakfast was rather busy and due to this the buffet trays ran out with slow replenishment.

We didn't partake of the high tea but on both Saturday and Sunday afternoon there were large crowds visiting for the high tea - obviously popular and from the food we saw on display, well worth it.

Our experience was good and we'd certainly recommend this hotel for a quiet and quality visit.

Room Tip: The inner facing standard rooms are more than adequate and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Geni7,

Thank you so much for your review and kind words and please rest assured that I will be passing on your thanks and regards to Russell our Doorman who has been with us at the hotel for now over ten years.

I hope that on your next visit you will have the time to partake in our famous Afternoon Tea and once again enjoy our fine service. Until that time we do, as always remain at your service.

Warm Regards
Nick

Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My partner booked us a few days in Melbourne for my birthday. We'd read mixed (although mainly good) reviews online before our stay but I have to say that staying at this hotel made the trip extra special. The Windsor is a remarkable place, a grand building in a brilliant location. Yes parts of the building are feeling their age, but the place has style. Add that to the sensational service we received from each and every member of staff (especially the delightful Katie who greeted us on arrival at reception after an awful trip from the airport due to a truck breakdown in the tunnel). And when we mentioned the trip was for my birthday, a little birthday card signed by staff was slipped under our door to find later. Very thoughtful little touches like that made this a trip to remember and I would thoroughly recommend a stay at The Windsor to anyone visiting Melbourne.

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms are like but we had a superior room which was nice & spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

What a charming review. Thank you.

We are delighted to learn that we played a small part in helping you have a memorable Birthday.

Until the pleasure of your company next time our warmest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent only one night here and got more than we expected in every way. Concerns where that it would be a little tired and musty as many of the old hotels can be. The Windsor was lovely. Our superior room on the first floor was just amazing with gorgeous old world charm. The room was massive with 2 queen size beds, a dressing room and a large marble bathroom. The ceilings 15' high, 3 large windows with 2 sets of drapes on each for full blockout, writing desk and 2 lovely bucket chairs with lamp and table to relax and enjoy our complimentary bubbly. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever had and all the extra large pillows where of varying firmness so the choice was amazing.. Papers delivered in the morning to each room and a buffet breakfast with massive choice and beautifully presented in a huge and beautiful dining room. The staff where all very helpful and friendly and I just wish we stayed longer but will definitely be back to stay as soon as possible..

Room Tip: Go for superior room if you can afford the extra.. Just for the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Ms S…Sandra,

Thank you for your kind words and recommendations.

Superior Rooms overlooking Spring Street are most popular as are our Deluxe Rooms and Suites especially when looking for special stays.

Until next time, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed 1 night when we went to the Springsteen concert. Everything about the hotel is classy. The staff are polite and helpful. The room was lovely-we had a free upgrade! The location is excellent, we walked to the arena and it was a short stroll to the busy cafe precinct. Definitly stay there again when I visit Melbourne

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Ms R….Bernadette,

I am sure the concert was the highlight of your visit yet we thank you sincerely for your kind words to our staff and of your Windsor Experience.

Hoping to see you both soon.

Warmest regards,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our 29th wedding anniversary and what a great experience at the Windsor. From the pre arranged flowers in the room to the asistance of the doorman on arrival, everything went smoothly. Then,from reception, an upgraded room with a fantastic view of Spring Street and parliament, and the size of the room with so much space. The bottle of sparkling was terrific but the congratulation card personally signed by the reception and coincierge team was a realy lovely touch. You can't beat the old world atmosphere of the hotel, and the dignified elegance is just as evident in the "public "areas as in the rooms. We have dined at 111 Spring Street in the hotel on previous visits, and dinner there remains an exceptional experience, with the decor, menu and service all working in harmony. Breakfast the following morning was very popular in the dining room and the staff ensured we were seated as soon as possible. The buffet was well covered with hot and cold items. Attention to our table despite the business of the morning was undertaken well.Special mention to the concierge team who helped arrange a "surprise"horse and carriage ride and kept this quiet from my wife.The hotel is in a great location and we able to get out to do some shopping and see a film all within walking distanc. Plenty of theatres and resaurants nearby, as well as some lovely parks. Public transport is also very close with train and tram stops just outside the front door. We'll definately be going back, maybe even before our 30th!

Room Tip: Ask for a Spring Street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Peter R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your special stay with us and of course may I pass on my congratulations to you both once more on your 29th Anniversary.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that all of our service team looked after you so well and made this occasion such a memorable one.

I really do hope that we may have the privilege of your company in the near future and that that we may again be apart of your anniversary celebrations in the many years to come.

Until then we do as always remain at your service.

Warm Regards
Nick

Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,225 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,477 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,349 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing