We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A link with the past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A link with the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

There are still glimpses of past times of gracious living at The Windsor, an institution in Melbourne. Many famous guests have graced it from The Duke of Windsor to celebrities across the spectrum. We had a lovely room with 2 comfortable lounge chairs, the most comfortable bed, elegant work table. The Hotel faces Parliament. Is famous for it's elegant afternoon tea.The a la carte menu needs to be more appetising. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1or2A, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your kind review. There is a certain responsibility incumbent upon us when this famous hotel is regarded as an institution. The ultimate test of that responsibility is whether we as a team are delighting guests each day in 2013 and the years to come leaving them with wonderful memories that last a life time.

Assuring you of our commitment in that respect and hoping to welcome you back soon.

With kindest regards,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,249
    1,801
    660
    190
    90
See reviews for
801
3,240
432
877
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely greeting at the front door. A bottle of champagne arrived for our anniversary so thankyou so much to front office manager Nick! We had a deluxe room, very roomy, beautiful furnishings and very comfortable. Minor criticisms for honesty to other guests, bathroom needs refurbishing by creating a shower recess. Instead of climbing over a bath. Some mould around the bath in areas, the single airconditioner was struggling with size of the room on hot nights and you can hear every movement above you from the creaking floorboards. This kept us us awake late at night then early morning. I'm not sure how that could be fixed with the age of the beautiful hotel.
Then breakfast, beautiful dining room, friendly staff but food was to us at a poor level. The food on both mornings was either cold or we were waiting for food to come back out. We didn't eat much as the scrambled egg was so runny, the mushrooms and bacon was stone cold. We did tell the waiter who in turn said he would tell the chief! We then ordered poached eggs which were perfect.
We appreciated the beauty of the hotel for its age and understand there would be a lot of upkeep involved with a hotel like this. I'm sure if the breakfast problems were addressed, the bathrooms were refined, and the floorboards in some way were baffled we would have said it was excellent. Hope this helps management and gives the visitors an unbiased review. Thankyou

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swervin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1or2A, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your honest review and apologies for letting you down.

No excuse regarding breakfast. The issues can and shall be addressed immediately.

Bathroom alterations and creaking floor boards present slightly more complex challenges which shall be addressed in our future refurbishment however I would draw readers attention to the fact that half the hotel has wooden floors and half has solid floors depending in which end of the hotel your room or suite is located. For those who are light sleepers a request for a room without wooden floors will always be given our serious attention.

Assuring you that the team will be focussed on leaving you with memories which are worthy of an excellent rating next time we have the pleasure of your company.

With thanks and kindest regards

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A wonderful stay in a comfortable and historic hotel -an amazing staircase, wide spacious corridors and a sense of occasion. Room comfortable and functional. Staff very friendly and helpful. If I needed to I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDPPooleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1or2A, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

You are most kind. Thank you.

Hoping to be of service to you again when next you visit these shores.

With kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed at the Windsor for two nights recently. The old world charm is amazing, full of character and the cricketers bar is excellent atmosphere. One particular tall doorman (with sunscreen) was very helpful and had great advice on local places to eat. The room was well furnished, the bed was amazingly comfortable and breakfast was plentiful. The dining room is a place to sit, relax, read the paper and enjoy the ambience.

The hotel does have some flaws but there attributed to age and the hotel in general is in need of some refurbishment. The water pressure in our room was non-existent, the room key on two occassions had to be taken downstairs for some type of re-coding, some staff dont consider solutions. I wanted a cab to the Hilton and was told it was easier to walk...it was 30 something degrees!!

All in all, its flaws are minor and nothing you wouldnt experience anywhere else.

Great experience to stay in a Melbourne icon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaVistaLakeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear BellaVistaLakeside,

It is with great pleasure that I write this review with the knowledge that Russell our dedicated Doormen for over ten years continues to do what he does best, taking care of our guests as they come and go. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge him and his service.

It is so important that we receive these review so we can identify what we are doing well and what can be improved. In particular I would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the low water pressure in your room and the trouble you experienced with your room key.

As always I can be contacted via TripAdvisor's messaging service or at the hotel directly. With further details of your stay I will be able to address these two issues with our Maintenance teams.

Once again thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Windsor in the near future.

As always at your service.

Warm Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Celebrating 130 Years | The Hotel Windsor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Whilst on Melbourne for a wedding we stayed at Hotel Windsor for 2 nights. We found the big old hotel to be a comfortable nights sleep in a lovely room. We only had a standard room, but was more than big enough for the two of us. My brother and his wife had a much larger suite which was also very nice and had an extra living area with couches and a table.
This is not a very modern hotel in its furnishings and style but nice to stay in a hotel that is different from all the normal hotels you tend to stay in.

Location was good. We used the free city circle tram from right outside the hotel to get around melbourne and it was only a short walk to China town for dinner. We ate at the breakfast buffet in the morning which was very nice, but wouldn't pay this amount of money for it. We had the buffet for free, but would have been around $40 each, and I've had better breakfasts for much less before.
They often ran out of food on the buffet and we found ourselves waiting around until it was topped up again. We asked for green tea and this was not available for selection with the breakfast buffet.
We had to show a credit card on arrival at the hotel for use of the mini bar, which we did not purchase anything from, but when we got home and looked at our account, $10 had been charged to our credit card, not really sure as to why though?
Was nice to have the experience of staying there, probably next time though may go for another type of hotel, maybe even one a little close to the southbank area of Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Laus77,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us and that you were able to take advantage of our location close by to China Town.

As a hotel we are constantly accessing our levels of service and standards across the board so to receive such considered feedback such as yours is simply fantastic as it allows us to really look at areas which can be improved.

I have contacted you through the TripAdvisor messenger service as I would also like to correct the incorrect charge of $10.00 placed on your credit card after your departure.

Once again thank you so much for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back when next visiting Melbourne. Until then we do as always remain at your service.

Warm Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Celebrating 130 Years | The Hotel Windsor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Whilst this hotel does not have all of the "bells & whistles" of modern 5* hotels it takes you back to the days when staying in a hotel was a real treat and service and style was everything. Our room had no view and was at the back of the hotel; yet it was charming and well furnished. The standard rack rate is a little high for what you get; however we managed to get a special deal which was great value. Breakfast, afternoon tea or dinner in the dining room is a must. The location is is the quieter part of Melbourne and in keeping with the charm of The Windsor, yet it is convenient to everything.

Room Tip: Probably one at the front of the buidling as that would have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1or2A, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

With Wi-Fi everywhere in line with our focus on technology it is still fair to say that many of our “bells and whistles” are out of sight allowing guests an experience of yesteryear when it comes to décor. (The bell that does get most attention is the same one that has been in use for the last 130 years – on the Concierge’s Desk).

Hoping to welcome you back soon and thanking you for promoting our restaurant experiences so positively,

With kindest regards,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I wish we were able to stay longer in this gracious and peaceful hotel. We had a back room which was so quiet, the afternoon sun filtering through the window. The elegant decor and comfortable bed with a delicious breakfast the following morning and the careing staff, made our one night stay a wonderful experience.
The Windsor hotel is in a perfect location, within walking distance to great restaurants, art galleries, theatres, parks and shops. If needing to travel further there are trams and an underground train station almost at the door.
We can't wait to return to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Room 119 was comfortable and quiet with afternoon sun filtering through the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1or2A, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ms R / Melanie

What a lovely review. Thank you. The team will be delighted.

Hoping to welcome you back for longer soon.

We can’t wait.

With warmest regards,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,229 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,485 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,349 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing