We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashion in the way you would like.”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #28 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Windsor in Melbourne surprised us in a pleasant way. This is the oldest hotel in Melbourne and in the way as it is now, it is worth a stay; if you are into this.
The hotel has changed management a couple of times last 10 years (if I understand correctly); and as it is now; I would certainly return.
So, the hotel is a bit old fashioned, but for in the good way. It gave us a smile on our face. The concierge people are fun and nicely dressed up.
Our room was on the small side for a 5 star hotel, but hey, you can't change the size of the rooms.
The beds were fine and the TV up to date. The bathroom wasn't really my taste and there was some very unhandy construction on the tub to keep the water from the shower out. I don't know if all the rooms have it; but ok.
The location is great and there is the free tourist-tram right in front of the door.
The WIFI is not for free, something they really have to change as it is 2013 now!
I booked the hotel via a blind booking (5 star and CBD filtered); in that way I got a price which was beating most 4 star hotels.
So, if you want something different and something in the old fashion style, this might be your pick.

Room Tip: The sizes vary, just ask away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ski-fanatic-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear ski-fanatic-73,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be comfortable. More importantly to hear that our Concierge and other front of house staff looked after you so well during your time with us.

I would like to thank you also for your comments relating to our WiFi pricing. We are constantly looking at out cost structure and feedback is always a vital part of making any decisions.

Once again thank you and I do look forward to welcoming you back when next visiting Melbourne.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,645 - 7,651 of 8,269 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a fantastic hotel! Easy and friendly check-in and concierge evenly kindly arranged for an ice pack on delivering my bag as I had an injured ankle. Very clean room with great working facilities. I thoroughly enjoyed the delicious full buffet breakfast in the beautifully decorated hotel restaurant.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating and I would love to go back to this historic hotel! Great location as close to Parliament Station, Princess theatre and city trams. Thanks Hotel Windsor

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyn_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Cyn_Aus,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Concierge service helpful and your room clean and comfortable.

We're glad that you enjoyed your time away in Melbourne and we do look forward to welcoming you back when visiting in the future.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at the Windsor with Spring Street view. Room very comfortable with lots of charm. Noise factor was minimal. Great location at that end of town. Staff were very friendly and helpful - even down to giving my husband a birthday card when the learnt the reason for our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debrariedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear DebraLeeR,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and of course Happy Birthday to your husband.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and and found your room comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future until then we as always remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in this gorgeous old hotel in early January. From the moment we stepped out of our car we were treated with friendly, smiling professionalism. Check-in and check-out was speedy and efficient. The bowl of apples on the reception desk was a lovely touch! We very much appreciated the complimentary upgrade to a Junior Suite (we would never ask for a free upgrade so to be offered one was an unexpected treat, thank you)
Though it was a very hot 39 degrees outside, our suite was more than comfortable. The rooms were decorated with tasteful elegance yet still had a homely feel. The high ceilings and beautiful carpets had us feeling like we were in an old mansion rather than a city hotel! Spacious marble bathroom with soft fluffy towels and a nice selection of White Company toiletries. Well stocked mini bar. Very generous complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate selection.
Highly recommend The Cricketers Bar for an after dinner drink - full of cricket memorabilia and a very pleasant atmosphere. Upon returning from dinner we were greeted by the lovely strains of the grand piano being played in the foyer.
Most importantly the staff are a real credit to this hotel. We've stayed in so many hotels and really a smile and friendly service is something you always remember.
One minor negative - the mini bar - either needs updating or hide it away in a cabinet!
Regardless we loved the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will be back!
If you are contemplating choosing this hotel do so with no hesitation, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Sam K,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel and service met your high expectations.

Thank you for your comments relating to the mini bar in your room. We are aware of this and do have plans in the near future to just as you said. This will be a welcomed improvement to this suite.

We do hope to have the pleasure of your company in the near future and I don once again thank you for your kind words.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I loved walking into this hotel. No minimalist here. We were greeted by two concierge, live piano music, a tastefully decorated Christmas tree, olde world all round.

The staff are really friendly - I had a 5 yo in tow, who loves talking to anybody and everybody, and all staff were very accommodating. The various concierge staff happily chatted with him - he loved Russell. The restaurant staff were happy to chat with him. The piano players let him play along with them [and one very kindly gave him a copy of his cd]. It was all very friendly and accommodating.

Great location ... close to shops, restaurants, parks ... everything.

The rooms are HUGE. I found the first room offered claustrophobic as the windows were frosted out. One night would have been fine, but we were there several nights and they kindly moved us to another room the next night. If you want historic rooms though, you should ask for one as part of the hotel is a newer build. Once we were settled in our historic room on Spring St - well we couldn't be happier. We had our large room and our view. The bathroom was smaller than the other rooms and it didn't have the walk in wardrobe, but we didn't care - we got history and view.

The concierge takes your car, so you have to request 20mins before you need it.

We have decided that this will be our Melbourne hotel from now on. We booked through Wotif, so the price was very reasonable at $200 pn, including breakfast for 3 people.

Loved it all.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a spring street view room. There are rooms with view to side street but this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear mrsmeee,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is absolutely wonderful to hear that after all this time you were able to experience our hotel and that your high expectations were met. Since 1883 we have aimed to provided the highest levels of service to our guests and to hear that we are still achieving this is simply marvelous.

Once again thank you for your kind words which I will be sharing with our team and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A lovely place to stay while in Melbourne, l have stay at the Hotel Windsor on many occasions and each time has been a great experience. I usually book through on line deals but, when l contacted the Hotel Windsor directly not only did they give me a great deal, they also upgraded me to a lovely room overlooking Spring Street. 3 night in a Hotel close to the CBD, attractions, free tram on your doorstep and great service from a lovely Heritage Hotel a must to see and/or stay at when you are in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor overlooking Spring Street have great views of the Parliament building and park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Brookwillo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to appreciate and enjoy our historic building but more importantly our friendly and professional service.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Windsor in the near future and once again thank you.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The room was quiet and elegant, bed very comfortable , breakfast very enjoyable and service good. However, our pleasure in staying in such a beautiful old hotel was diminished by very poor water pressure in our shower with hot water that was only just hot enough. No cold water needed. I also left a package behind when we checked out at 10.00 am. At 3.30 I contacted hotel and asked if this had been handed in. I was called back very promptly and advised it could be collected from the concierge which was a relief. However, given the hotel had my contact details, why would they not have made an effort to contact me either via SMS or a call. If I had been an interstate or country visitor such a contact could make all the difference to my ability to collect the parcel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid Room 415 if water pressure has not been adjusted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MATTHEWS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear MATTHEWS S,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I must apologise for the poor water pressure in your room 415 and I can happily advise that this has now been rectified. In relation to your lost property we do have a policy of not contacting our guests after departure relating to lost property items due to privacy regulations. However we w store all items for four months and we do happily arrange postage of any items left behind.

Once again thank you and I do look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
5,694 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,773 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $155 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing