We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely & quaint”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #26 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, train stop across the road and if you like character, the decor is great. Rooms were pretty small though but on the upside the bed was comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToTheWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear KassP,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

We are privileged to occupy one of Melbourne's most historic buildings and to hear that you appreciated this and found your stay to be comfortable is simply wonderful.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,108 - 8,114 of 8,724 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was lucky to find a great value upgrade+breakfast package at an amazing price. We stayed two nights in a 4th floor Superior room (looking out over Bourke St and the Garden's tree-tops) and had breakfast both mornings. We loved our stay and would most definitely stay at The Windsor again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear D M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to also appreciate the views from the 4th floor overlooking Bourke Street and Parliament House.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and as always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our stay at the Windsor was memorable for the excellent first class service and charming elegance of this grand old hotel. Sweeping staircases, large rooms, marble bathrooms, classical quality drapes and thick carpet give the historical rooms a solid secure feeling. The first-class service received from everyone we encountered including front-desk, wait-staff and the doorman really let you know you're being hosted by first-class professionals who understand the importance of maintaining a standard of excellence befitting the regal surrounds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ace_Himself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed in the Victorian Suite which is the 2nd from the top room. It was a beautiful large room but unfortunately the service didn't match the 5 star label. Essentially I felt rushed the entire time & as if me being there was an inconvenience. In the restaurant they started setting up for breakfast at 8:30pm clanking around making the $225 meal very unpalatable despite the actual food being enjoyable. In room breakfast the following day was missing a muffin & the jam lids were dusty then only 30min later there was a knock at the door to collect the dishes. Then shortly after a knock at the door from mini bar. So many interruptions we had to put the do not disturb sign on the door for some peace. We also had a bottle of expensive champagne & wine removed from our fridge by housekeeping which turned up in "lost & found". Also they had a pillow menu but dont have all the pillows. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeganAndNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Another visit to the Windsor.

As I said everything was in the right place and worked properly.

The service was as good as expected always have time to say hello - and smile at the same time.

The room was great looking out over the plane trees in Bourke St.

We were unable to eat here this visit so cant comment on the food.

I suppose we could be called somewhat imbued with the Windsor feel - it is old it is yesterdays decor but that is what we go to the Windsor for.

The concierge was helpful when we were waiting for the City Circle tram - he has a little map in his box that was most helpful.

We will return - thanks for looking after us again.

Room Tip: Book on line with the hotel direct - same prices as the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orient18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

For the third year I stayed over Christmas for five nights at the grand Windsor Hotel. In all, I have probably stayed here six or seven times over the last three years. I love the outstanding service, friendly professionalism of the staff and the historical ambience. I always stay in the second cheapest room type and it invariably is a large, generous room with a big, comfortable bed. There is a small dressing room with shelf space and bar. Robes, full size ironing board, umbrella, clothes brush and shoe horn and a quality iron are all standard. The bathroom is marble and works well. The shower has a good head and the hot water is constant. There is a quality television and a DVD player comes if you request it. The room furnishings and art work are understated and traditional but wi-fi (unfortunately priced on a daily basis) and iPod docking station are additions since my last stay here. The car parking valet service is excellent at $37 a day. The car is available on 20 minutes notice. The concierge on duty assisted me to find medical assistance very efficiently and effectively on Boxing Day. The hotel is very well located for boutiques, cafes, restaurants (including the Windsor's in house restaurants which are very fine), theatres and the nearby streetscape is impressive. I have been upgraded once to a suite and that was a memorable experience. My favourite Melbourne hotel just gets better and better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatheralbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We got a great deal for overnight accomodation with an upgrade to a Superior room which was very comfortable and more importantly cool with the outside temperature in the 30s. Yes the hotel is a little faded but you stay here for the historical atmosphere. The bed was extremely comfortable and I don't think there was anything I could have asked for - apart from some soap in the bathroom ( which I am not sure was forgotten by housekeeping or just cost cutting).

The location of this hotel is great for everything and even though the trams are outside you can't hear them. Breakfast was varied and the staff though busy were helpful.

Room Tip: Superior rooms face Parliament. Valet parking works out cheaper if staying overnight on a Sunday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy56Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
832 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
952 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,061 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $119 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing