We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Gem of a Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gem of a Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a gem of a find in a city of choices. This Hotel thrilled from the moment of stopping in the taxi. A gentle giant of a Porter picked up all 4 suitcases in his arms and carried them up steps for us. The Reception staff were delightful and totally professional. The Hotel is an historic building that has beeb renovated very well. Our room by current city standards was huge and the decor beautiful. One of the biggest plus's was they gave an ample selection of teas (not just the standard 2 tea 2 coffee sachet & 4 sugars that seems to be the norm in all hotels lately! )
I am in the trade and tend to be very particular & I could honestly find no fault with this delightful Hotel & staff. The location in the city was good. We booked direct with the Hotel who offered the best deal equivalent in an Executive Room for less than $200 BnB!

Room Tip: Book direct with Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSKahoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Robyn S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

To read that you were looked after from the moment you arrived is absolutely wonderful and I must personally thank my team for taking care of you during your visit.

Our hotel has been open since 1883 to share our love of this historic building with you is of course our pleasure.

Once again thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to The Hotel Windsor in the near future.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,606
    1,937
    713
    205
    98
See reviews for
889
3,531
473
980
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were looked after with class. the concierge and doorman were brilliant, and packed our car up for valet with so much ease. The check in was quick and easy and before we knew it we were led upstairs away from the piano playing in the foyer.
Our room was very spacious, tastefully decorated, with every amenity we could have wanted. Very comfortable bed with a great choice of pillows. Breakfast was included in our accommodation and was a very hearty cooked breakfast, including amazing sausages. There was a buffet with continental breakfast with a great range of food. The tram and station were right at the front door. We stayed for afternoon tea, what a treat. Bee was a great waiter and the food was amazing. So many beautiful cakes and miniature pastries. But my favourite were the dainty little sandwiches. A complimentary check out was granted until 12pm. All in all we had a great weekend. Thank you Windsor staff and a special thank you to the valet parking And Bee in the restaurant

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank marsy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear marsy007,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne, it was of course our pleasure.

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular made use of our pillow menu and enjoyed our breakfast offering in our restaurant.

I will be sharing your comments with my team and will forward them to our Restaurant Manager so he may be able to share them with Bee.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Windsor.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Received the pleasure of a gift voucher for afternoon tea at The Windsor as a gift voucher and eagerly anticipated my visit there. The voucher itself was a beautifully presented gift, like a credit card, iit sat within a red and embossed gold card within a matching envelope, very elegant.
The card warned that booking for a Sunday needed to be well in advance so I did as instructed and booked about three months in advance.
We arrived about 30 minutes early to find we could only be admitted 5 minutes before service started so we had 25 minutes to spare. It's a pity the Windsor does not have a lobby bar as we could happily have settled with a glass of champagne, but did not quite have enough time to comfortably go to the Cricketers Bar next door. It was very crowded in the lobby as it was Open House weekend in Melbourne and the hotel was open for free tours. This did sort of ruin the exclusive ambience we expected as did the queue at the door to get in.
The queue did move quickly once they started showing people to their tables. We had a lovely table for four in the window. Our waiter was outstanding, offering excellent advice about how to pace your self during the service, avoiding others at the chocolate fountain and avoiding the hens parties in the ladies room. He also offered great advice on the tea menu.
We started with the included (complimentary?) pink sparkling which I think was a moscato, nice but a little too sweet. They brought out the savory tiered stand, ribbon sandwiches on the bottom, hot savouries in the middle with a lovely pumpkin pastie, a tiny chicken pot pie and an onion tart, with scones on the top tier. Being starving the savory pastries were demolished in seconds, quickly followed by the sandwiches.
The desert buffet was sensational, if you couldn't find something you liked here then you just dont like sweets. If eating the Creme brûlée eat it early on as they can go a bit watery if left to stand too long. The fresh made crepes were a highlight and the apple crumble smelled divine.
My only concerns were the scones weren't great, even though you didn't really need them with all the other options, they seemed a bit heavy which was further exacerbated by the fact they were glazed rather than floured.
The service went for about 90 minutes, you wouldn't have wanted any longer as you would have felt I'll in the end. All in all a truly lovely birthday gift and a great occasional experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Natasha09,

The Hotel Windsor has been serving Afternoon Tea in its dinning room since 1883 and it is wonderful to hear that we are still able to provide the same personal experienced 129 years ago.

Thank you for your comments in regards to the items on offer at the buffet as I will be able to inform our Executive Chef so that he may address with his team and make those small improvements to the desserts on offer. I will also speak with our Restaurant Manager to see if it is possible to open the doors earlier as to allow for more time to enjoy your afternoon.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Hotel Windsor in the near future be it for Afternoon Tea or to stay.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Beautiful old style hotel at a great location. However we were rather disappointed with our room. We had chosen a classic double room and paid just over 200 euros per night (booked via hotel website). The room was very small and the windows were sealed and with no view. Definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Themis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Themis_13,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us in regards to your recent stay.

I would like to extend our apologies for an obviously less than satisfactory stay. We do have a number of different suite and room types on offer and if we had known about your dissatisfaction we may have been able to arrange another room type for you.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you when you next visit Melbourne.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went to Melbourne for two nights to see "Moonshadow" at the Princess Theatre almost next door. Got a great Wotif.com deal, a toplevel Executive room with full breakfasts for two for $199 per night (a 6 hour special). A full breakfast alone for one is $35.
We were both very impressed with the Windsor. I know there have been some negative comments on this site. You must remember the hotel is about 150 years old, but that is a big part of it's charm. The room was large and very comfortable, with a great view of Parliament House. Central to restaurants, Chinatown, etc. A free City Circle tram stops outside. The service from all staff was excellent, from concierge to reception and dining room staff,with an excellent breakfast in a huge dining room. Free newspaper delivered daily. If you can get a similar deal, go for it. We will be back. Check out the magnificent staircase.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Spring Street. Executive rooms are the best, but usually the most expensive un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobmBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear bobmBrisbane,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

"Moonshadow" has been playing at The Princess Theatre for the past few months now and you are correct when you say we are the perfect location. Literally a 30 second walk from the hotel to the theatre.

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your time with us and in particular our friendly, personal service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Windsor when next in Melbourne and if so please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

After reading a novel, where the socialite heroine detective based herself at the Windsor, I had an urge to stay there myself. I love old school charm and service, and a touch of history. I arranged for my daughter, friend and myself to spend a weekend in this grand, historic hotel. We loved the chandeliers, big rooms and the overall ambience. The service was great despite a glitch with our booking. The hotel is also in easy walking distance of some great shopping!
Afternoon tea on Sunday was amazing, I have never seen so many deliciously tempting desserts. Here is a tip, forget the scones and go straight to the dessert buffet!
We also enjoyed a few drinks in the Cricketers' Bar on Saturday afternoon. Good selection of wines and excellent atmosphere. A must for a visit to Melbourne.
Whilst she is showing her age somewhat, you will have a memorable stay in this great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia2011_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Julia2011_1,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is absolutely wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience it's history for yourself. On a side note the detective book you read has been turned into a mini series for ABC which has been screening recently. Much of the first episode was filmed at The Hotel Windsor and is worth a look if you can.

Please be assured that I will forward your comments onto our Restaurant Manager in regards to your lovely afternoon High Tea experience and to our Cricketer's Bar Manager.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

As always, we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our stay. It might not be as perfect as 5 star should be but really, it is a historic building so i'm not sure what the people who whinge about this hotel are expecting! We had a lovely time and would stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room. It was as others have said, looking out onto a brick wall, if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear caroline w,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne, if was of course our pleasure.

We first opened as a hotel in 1883 and it is wonderful to see that you were able to appreciate our building's wonderful architecture. You are correct that our Traditional Rooms face into the center of the building however our Superior King Rooms do not and if planning a longer stay a Spring Street view can be arranged with our Reservations team.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Windsor in the near future.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,832 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing