We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good independent property in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royce Hotel
Ranked #31 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very good independent property in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Only had one night here but couldn't fault anything they got me in early front desk very professional rooms are excellent lots of offers for dining in and the dinner was very good , possibly the best cheese platter I have had in a long time. Service was excellent Will definitely make this my base when I come back from Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa in Bali
Great job guys keep it up

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    348
    95
    45
    30
See reviews for
60
481
61
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We really enjoyed the atmosphere: very easy & stylish. The service was nice; the room service menu and the quality were pretty good . Our son loved watching TV while taking a bath. Nice view, nice people and good service and quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed for one night in superior balcony. Arrived an hour or two before checkin but were shown directly to our room. Offered a voucher for complimentary welcome drink in hotel bar, and discounted meal voucher.
The room was on the third floor, with large windows and balcony overlooking school sportsground, with views of the shrine in the distance from memory. The room was adequately spacious and the bathroom generous. All modern and clean. Shower was nice (pressure/temperature). Curtains were two layered including blackout for morning sleep-in. We found it very quiet overnight. We couldn't find any in-room information brochure on the hotel facilities (gym, breakfast times and location etc), but staff were helpful when questioned over the phone.
Buffet breakfast was very generous and tasty, including a range of breads to toast, pastries, fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurt as well as english hot breakfast, range of juices etc.... More than enough food, our dirty plates were promptly cleared from our table etc.
We booked online directly with the hotel as the rate was the same as all other websites we checked. It was really good value at just over $200 for a Saturday night, which included breakfast. The other big hotels in the central city were charging over $300 without breakfast, certainly no balcony and probably a view of a brick wall.
The location slightly south of city was not a problem at all - just a quick tram ride.
When we called to ask about on-site parking (which attracts extra cost) the staff member told us that parking on the street is free on the weekend (after midday Saturday I think). There were plenty of carparks on St Kilda Rd right out front within 100-200m.
Great value, nice room, happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little-old-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice hotel that sitting by the corner of the royal botanic garden. The hotel exterior may not be so visible but the interiors are beautiful and clean and neat. All staffs are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed walking to the Spencer Street/CBD areas as the walk is very pleasant and beautiful scenery around. This is a very good location if you like to stay closed to the CBD but not in CBD. We stayed for 3 nights in a premium suite. The room is very nice, spaces and most importantly very cosy and comfortable. Two kids are running around with no hassle of dangerous sharp corners etc. We will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skywalker008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have travelled extensively in my life and The Royce Hotel is one of the best properties i have ever stayed at, the service and quality is faultless!!

From the very moment you walk through the doors of this designer boutique hotel you feel like you are in absolute luxury - the staff were so attentive ( something you will not find in a larger scale hotel ). The breakfast served offers a large range and suits all requirements and is very fresh. I didn’t want to leave .

I will definitely be back again to stay at the exquisite property.!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A last minute booking for a cheeky little night away with my better half. What a lovely little place, great decor and you can see the old school opulence of the former Rolls Royce showroom. Bags of character and friendly, efficient staff. The room was lovely and the bed was comfy. Everything worked as it should and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The buffet breakfast (included in our booking) was enjoyable too, lots of variety and helpful staff dotted around the restaurant. If you're looking for a place which is well served by public transport, also easy for taxi's and a short tram to the city, this place is ideal. Food & beverages are also well priced and served quickly.

Room Tip: Stayed on level 5 (room 502) facing the school. Nice and quiet and a well appointed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyJay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Before coming to this hotel I was a little worried because usually I stay at Crown or the Sofitel, both of which have amazing reviews! The reviews I had read of this hotel weren't all that pleasing, however after staying a night, I am wondering whether the hotel has changed dramatically since these reviews, whether I got lucky, or whether other reviewers have just been far too critical...

Check-in:
Fantastic! We arrived late - 7pm and walked straight to the desk where we were greeted with a friendly smile. We were told about our room and given drink vouchers. It was really difficult to hear the receptionist as there was a wedding party upstairs who had not yet been welcomed into their room, however the receptionist apologised for this and she was very polite - the noise didn't phase us at all. We didn't know where to find the lifts from reception however great guidance was offered. One reviewer spoke of the "mirror maze" in a negative light - I don't know how this is possible! The hotel looks modern and it certainly isn't hard to find the elevators, just walk straight and take a right!

The room:
We stayed in one of the basic rooms but it was anything but! The bed was unbelievably comfortable and the room was the same size as what you would find at crown or the sofitel, just without the price tag! The bathroom was great. There was no bath however the shower was large and water pressure was good. Amenities offered were standard and acceptable. All very clean. The rooms aren't as soundproof as what you would expect from most hotels however this didn't bother us - just a couple of people walking past every now and then and a um... couple next door ha ha. I suspect that if we had been staying in a room closer to reception that this would have been slightly more of a disruption.

Restaurant/Bar:
Also great!
We had our welcome drinks at the amberoom - it was okay, nothing special but nothing to complain about. A little bit of a strange atmosphere you could say.
One thing I must mention about Dish restaurant is the breakfast! It is one of the best buffets we have had in a while - so much choice and a great room looking on to st kilda road. For a boutique hotel I was surprised at how good it was, and even better, on Sunday morning breakfast went until 12pm which is unheard of usually! There's nothing like a sleep in AND still getting breakfast on a Sunday!

Service:
Everyone we came across was extremely friendly, everyone we walked past who was an employee said hello and asked us how we were. An absolute credit to all of you!

Checkout:
Probably the most people we saw the whole time we were there, however it was smooth and quick and they even held our bags for us for a while.

Location:
I am from Victoria so I know the Melbourne area quite well. If you want something walking distance to southbank etc then this probably isn't for you, however if you are looking for something with easy access (public transport) to most of Melbourne's attractions then look no further!

Overall I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,840 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#25 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,292 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#64 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Property: Royce Hotel
Address: 379 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Melbourne's designer boutique hotel, perfectly located on St.Kilda Road next to the stunning Royal Botanic Gardens. The CBD, Southbank precinct, Melbourne's art and theatre district and the fashionable Chapel Street are all within a short tram ride away. The hotel features a lounge bar, award winning restaurant, private outdoor courtyard, business area and meeting facilities. Once renowned as Australia's most glamorous automobile showroom in the 1920s, the Royce housed prestige vehicles such as the Rolls Royce. While the exterior of the historical building retains its classical features, the architects and designers have redesigned a modern and chic interior to suit the discerning traveller. They have depicted a unique accommodation experience by creating a hotel that is distinctively different from any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing