We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommend”
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royce Hotel
Ranked #35 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommend”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

First time I have stayed at the Royce. I was there on 3 separate occasions over a 5 week period, pleasure mixed with a few hours of business. The staff are unusually friendly & accommodating. No request was too much for them, including storing clothes for a week while I traveled interstate. They quickly learned my name & made me feel like "family". Ms. Lauren, the front office manager, was the BEST I have ever encountered. Location is perfect for me; 5 minutes on the tram to Southbank & CBD. Restaurant & Bar are upscale but informal & cater to the locals as much as hotel guests. The quality of service is just like that at the front office. I have made this my home away from home in Melbourne & will definitely return; hopefully to Room 305 on the end, with a balcony, overlooking Melbourne Grammar School. Rooms are comfortable & reasonably spacious. Only suggestion is to upgrade the availability of wi-fi to international standards. It's available, but accessing it is a nuisance & the daily cost is high. All-in-all a wonderful stay!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    432
    113
    51
    33
See reviews for
81
588
68
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in April 2014 for business and found it a great hotel. Nice and quiet, room was spotless and comfortable. Overall a very good option for those who want to stay nearby the city but not in the middle of things.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is truly a 5 star hotel, the rooms are as expected, you have to go to the breakfast buffet.
The customer service was great, we had an issue and it was fixed straight.
Given free upgrade.
2 free complementary drinks.
Free buffet breakfast for 2.

Will comeback again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fadi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have recently stayed at the Royce Hotel, I was not made aware that they take a hold of your credit card for 2-3 business days, I was not told that the money they "freeze" cannot be used and is taken out of your account until the banks unfreeze it. The amount was also more than the room it's self. Staff did not explain this process and left us in the dark until I manually checked my account balance. Very unhappy customer.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claireatherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed at the Royce just for a quick weekend break. It is positioned just past the shrine on St Kilda road and was an easy walk back into the city. If you don't want to walk, the tram stops almost at the door. The rooms may have been renovated since our last visit. Very modern and with everything you could want. Very quiet rooms with no traffic noise which was a bonus. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We were lucky enough to get a buffet breakfast included deal at the restaurant which was a wonderful spread. Would highly recommend the Royce. Only thing I would love to see would be a pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceddy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corowa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at the Royce Hotel for a quick weekend break in Melbourne. We were a little concerned that the hotel was a bit too far from the city central but we should not have been! The Royce is a beautiful hotel, well maintained, the staff are friendly & welcoming and very accommodating. The hotel being situated slightly away from the CBD was probably more of an advantage than a disadvantage. The tram is right outside the door and literally go by every couple of minutes. The amazing thing is - you can't hear a sound of them from your room! Gorgeous comfy bed and a delicious bottle of Yering Station (local Yarra Valley wine) sparkling awaited us. We had pre-dinner drinks in The Amberoom then trammed it in to the city. Breakfast at Dish was delicious. Wish we could have stayed a little longer. Definitely will if we get the opportunity again. Thanks Royce!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

4 of us from Singapore got tickets to watch the Albert Park Grand Prix. We were there from 14th to 17th March. Hotel was superb with very friendly and polite staffs who never fail to smile. Wifi was limited to an hour usage at a time and signal strength was just ok. Didn't have my breakfast there though. CBD and beach area easily accessible via 10mins tram ride. Nice, big & clean rooms with clear tv reception. The only drawback was that the Amberoom closes a bit too early. Overall satisfied and happy with the stay. Well done!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Khai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,087 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 160 in Melbourne
1,703 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Property: Royce Hotel
Address: 379 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Melbourne's designer boutique hotel, perfectly located on St.Kilda Road next to the stunning Royal Botanic Gardens. The CBD, Southbank precinct, Melbourne's art and theatre district and the fashionable Chapel Street are all within a short tram ride away. The hotel features a lounge bar, award winning restaurant, private outdoor courtyard, business area and meeting facilities. Once renowned as Australia's most glamorous automobile showroom in the 1920s, the Royce housed prestige vehicles such as the Rolls Royce. While the exterior of the historical building retains its classical features, the architects and designers have redesigned a modern and chic interior to suit the discerning traveller. They have depicted a unique accommodation experience by creating a hotel that is distinctively different from any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing