We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel”
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royce Hotel
Ranked #35 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Royce is a quaint boutique hotel in Melbourne - spacious, comfortable rooms and the location is not too bad either. They have a little bar downstairs where we redeemed a couple of drink vouchers that the hotel gave us upon check-in. The room had all the amenities you'd expect, which is good. Taxis don't take too long to come when you ask the concierge to book one for you.
Apparently it used to be the old Rolls Royce showroom, which explains why it had such high ceilings in the lobby. My partner and I had a pleasant stay - great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzymckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    421
    109
    51
    33
See reviews for
79
577
67
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Really outstanding hotel in my opinion. Great location - a little out of CBD but a nice walk.
Beautifully appointed room and comfortable bed. Fresh modern bathroom.
Friendly staff and a warm, welcoming bar downstairs with good value food.
Breakfast was included in my tariff and it was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathfieldsaye VIC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Royce is ideally situated on St Kilda Rd close to trams and the city. Our room 112
was well appointed and spotless. We were pleasantly surprised how quite it was ensuring a good nights sleep. Reception staff went out of their way to answer guest tourist questions and meet our needs both checking in and out. I can't comment on the pool/spa as didn't go near it. On the weekends their is a full buffet breakfast with obvious fresh food being served. The kitchen staff were happy to poach eggs etc on demand. I was very impressed with the whole package on offer and highly recommend it to anyone looking for quality at a reasonable price. We will be back for sure

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pppinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed at this boutique hotel on several ocassions but only one night this visit. Check in was efficient and friendly, however our room had two single beds not the king size I had booked! A minor hitch that was quickly rectified by reception staff.
It was a raining and cold Friday night so we decided to eat in house at Dish Restaurant, we were not disappointed by our choice as the meal was excellent along with a good selection of wines.
The breakfast offered by Dish Restaurant the next morning is both plentiful and delicious.
Will definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willunga
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Disappointed with this hotel as airconditioner in our first room on 1st floor didn't work properly. Didn't like the shower and toilet in the one area and floor was very slippery. We were moved to another room on the 5th floor and the aircon was very noisy and you couldn't turn it off or work out how it worked. The hotel needs to put instructions underneath the controls. Finally rang reception and could turn it off in a wardrobe, the system is ancient! Would not recommend this hotel to anyone or stay there again. Buffet breakfast was not enjoyable as scrambled eggs were rubbery. On the menu it says you can have a choice of how your eggs are cooked but perhaps this was room service only.
When checking out you were not asked if you enjoyed your room, customer service could be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillungaBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by a friend. I travel extensively and enjoy my comforts.
Checked in and advised of my early flight and required a wake up call at 3am which was confirmed to me. Placed my bags in the room and went to southbank to do some shopping. Had dinner with friends and came back to my room to feel the book on the table soaking wet. Above was a hole in the roof where water was coming from after the rain earlier. As it wasn't near the bed I went to sleep because of my early wake up call at 3. I woke at 3.15am with no call being made to my room. The shower pressure was useless. The gentlemen at reception really didn't care about my concerns in room 220.

Stay again or recommend - I think not. What a shame

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irishkiwiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 2pm (checkin time) for a wedding at 3.30. The entire wedding party was staying here with the reception held here that evening. Rooms wernt ready on time and some people were unable to check in until after the wedding and had to share rooms to get ready. Should be no excuses for late rooms when booked so far in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
2,057 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#16 of 160 in Melbourne
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
2,774 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Property: Royce Hotel
Address: 379 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Melbourne's designer boutique hotel, perfectly located on St.Kilda Road next to the stunning Royal Botanic Gardens. The CBD, Southbank precinct, Melbourne's art and theatre district and the fashionable Chapel Street are all within a short tram ride away. The hotel features a lounge bar, award winning restaurant, private outdoor courtyard, business area and meeting facilities. Once renowned as Australia's most glamorous automobile showroom in the 1920s, the Royce housed prestige vehicles such as the Rolls Royce. While the exterior of the historical building retains its classical features, the architects and designers have redesigned a modern and chic interior to suit the discerning traveller. They have depicted a unique accommodation experience by creating a hotel that is distinctively different from any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing