We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Royce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royce Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   379 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Relaxing Royce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent a romantic night here and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Mezzanine room which was fantastic. We had tapas in the Amberoom which was buzzing on a Friday night which added to the atomsphere. We also had a lazt breakfast at the Dish Restaurant. Everything was perfect and would definately return here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julesten2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    333
    91
    45
    30
See reviews for
57
459
57
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our last stop of a long tour - we'd added in Melbourne as our last stop over as we hoped to meet up with friends there. We booked a superior deluxe room, and were pleased with the choice. The room was a good size, comfy bed, and enough general space to get cases organised for the journey home. The room was contemporary in design which we liked. The location suited us perfectly as we enjoyed the very pleasant walk to and from town. Lots of interesting routes to take which ever way you turn out of the hotel. The bar was a good stop off prior to our nights out, and is clearly well liked by locals. All the staff we encountered were so helpful, and could not do enough for us regarding recommendations, walking routes, transport etc. The final endorsement was the nod of approval from our friends who live there. We'd choose the Royce in a heartbeat next time we travel to Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandjotg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my second overnight stay at this lovely hotel.
Checkin and checkout was quick, friendly and efficient.
Stayed in a superior deluxe room with a view out towards the old school opposite (room was very quiet)
The room & bathroom was very clean and well equipped with all the usual facilities (TV, bar fridge, tea & coffee, iron, hairdryer etc) and a good quality range of toiletries were provided.
I loved the small bottle of fresh milk they provided instead of those single serve size pots of long life milk - that was a nice touch.
Location was perfect for me as it was close to the business that I was visiting- overall a great place to stay though whatever your reason is for visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PortBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for a romantic break or city escape, The Royce is always clean, tastefully decorated & comfortable with fabulous service. In a quiet location not far from central Melbourne & it doesn't have the sterility of larger hotels. I've stayed here many times & never been disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AfricanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
356 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a boutique hotel located away from the center of town. The lobby is beautiful! We arrived late and check in was fast. We were given a voucher for a free drink at the bar, but when we went down to get it, they were closed! That was disappointing. The room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was included with our rate, but what they didn't tell us was the included breakfast is just their continental breakfast, a few choices of cereal, some fruit and the ability to make yourself some toast. My husband ordered two eggs and toast and it cost $11. The eggs were overdone unfortunately. We didn't spend much time at the hotel as we arrived late and checked out early, but it was a comfortable bed and a great ensuite. We will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelgirlslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Royce for two nights as the start of our holiday in Melbourne.
On our early arrival which we only wanted to store our bags as we knew we were too early we were told "your rooms still dirty!" I would have just preferred, "your room isn't available just yet".
I hate it when your first impressions of a place are questioned by the the way you're first treated as soon as you walk in.
The room itself was nice but disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathroom that had grime in the corners of the shower recess.
We never lifted the window screen up as the view was nothing flash so we kept it closed. And thank goodness we'd hired a rental car even though there were trams running right outside it was a bit far from the city.
All in all it was an ok stay but we wouldn't go back there if we had the chance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KodaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at the royce for one night. We where very lucky to be upgrade to an Executive Suite. The room was beautiful with a large balcony and the best bit... a spa bath with a LCD TV. only thing i would suggest is being able to turn the tv up in the bathroom more as when you have the spa going you cant hear it and have to turn it off to watch tv. The evening staff on front desk where really lovely and helpful and suggested the best Italian resturant a few doors down. The only down fall was the morning staff on front desk, i checked in at 8:30am and asked to be called when my room was ready. They failed to do so and i got a call after check in time of 2pm at around 4:30pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiRi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,763 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#23 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Property: Royce Hotel
Address: 379 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Melbourne's designer boutique hotel, perfectly located on St.Kilda Road next to the stunning Royal Botanic Gardens. The CBD, Southbank precinct, Melbourne's art and theatre district and the fashionable Chapel Street are all within a short tram ride away. The hotel features a lounge bar, award winning restaurant, private outdoor courtyard, business area and meeting facilities. Once renowned as Australia's most glamorous automobile showroom in the 1920s, the Royce housed prestige vehicles such as the Rolls Royce. While the exterior of the historical building retains its classical features, the architects and designers have redesigned a modern and chic interior to suit the discerning traveller. They have depicted a unique accommodation experience by creating a hotel that is distinctively different from any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing