We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to end our trip”
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royce Hotel
Ranked #34 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good place to end our trip”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our last stop of a long tour - we'd added in Melbourne as our last stop over as we hoped to meet up with friends there. We booked a superior deluxe room, and were pleased with the choice. The room was a good size, comfy bed, and enough general space to get cases organised for the journey home. The room was contemporary in design which we liked. The location suited us perfectly as we enjoyed the very pleasant walk to and from town. Lots of interesting routes to take which ever way you turn out of the hotel. The bar was a good stop off prior to our nights out, and is clearly well liked by locals. All the staff we encountered were so helpful, and could not do enough for us regarding recommendations, walking routes, transport etc. The final endorsement was the nod of approval from our friends who live there. We'd choose the Royce in a heartbeat next time we travel to Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandjotg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    423
    109
    51
    33
See reviews for
79
578
67
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my second overnight stay at this lovely hotel.
Checkin and checkout was quick, friendly and efficient.
Stayed in a superior deluxe room with a view out towards the old school opposite (room was very quiet)
The room & bathroom was very clean and well equipped with all the usual facilities (TV, bar fridge, tea & coffee, iron, hairdryer etc) and a good quality range of toiletries were provided.
I loved the small bottle of fresh milk they provided instead of those single serve size pots of long life milk - that was a nice touch.
Location was perfect for me as it was close to the business that I was visiting- overall a great place to stay though whatever your reason is for visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PortBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for a romantic break or city escape, The Royce is always clean, tastefully decorated & comfortable with fabulous service. In a quiet location not far from central Melbourne & it doesn't have the sterility of larger hotels. I've stayed here many times & never been disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AfricanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a boutique hotel located away from the center of town. The lobby is beautiful! We arrived late and check in was fast. We were given a voucher for a free drink at the bar, but when we went down to get it, they were closed! That was disappointing. The room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was included with our rate, but what they didn't tell us was the included breakfast is just their continental breakfast, a few choices of cereal, some fruit and the ability to make yourself some toast. My husband ordered two eggs and toast and it cost $11. The eggs were overdone unfortunately. We didn't spend much time at the hotel as we arrived late and checked out early, but it was a comfortable bed and a great ensuite. We will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelgirlslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Royce for two nights as the start of our holiday in Melbourne.
On our early arrival which we only wanted to store our bags as we knew we were too early we were told "your rooms still dirty!" I would have just preferred, "your room isn't available just yet".
I hate it when your first impressions of a place are questioned by the the way you're first treated as soon as you walk in.
The room itself was nice but disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathroom that had grime in the corners of the shower recess.
We never lifted the window screen up as the view was nothing flash so we kept it closed. And thank goodness we'd hired a rental car even though there were trams running right outside it was a bit far from the city.
All in all it was an ok stay but we wouldn't go back there if we had the chance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KodaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at the royce for one night. We where very lucky to be upgrade to an Executive Suite. The room was beautiful with a large balcony and the best bit... a spa bath with a LCD TV. only thing i would suggest is being able to turn the tv up in the bathroom more as when you have the spa going you cant hear it and have to turn it off to watch tv. The evening staff on front desk where really lovely and helpful and suggested the best Italian resturant a few doors down. The only down fall was the morning staff on front desk, i checked in at 8:30am and asked to be called when my room was ready. They failed to do so and i got a call after check in time of 2pm at around 4:30pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larrissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fantastic place, all staff are awesome they go above and beyond to make your stay one to remember. Staff at the Dish restaurant are also awesome, if your after a nice wine make sure you speak to Brad about his recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sollie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
2,057 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#18 of 160 in Melbourne
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
2,774 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Property: Royce Hotel
Address: 379 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Melbourne's designer boutique hotel, perfectly located on St.Kilda Road next to the stunning Royal Botanic Gardens. The CBD, Southbank precinct, Melbourne's art and theatre district and the fashionable Chapel Street are all within a short tram ride away. The hotel features a lounge bar, award winning restaurant, private outdoor courtyard, business area and meeting facilities. Once renowned as Australia's most glamorous automobile showroom in the 1920s, the Royce housed prestige vehicles such as the Rolls Royce. While the exterior of the historical building retains its classical features, the architects and designers have redesigned a modern and chic interior to suit the discerning traveller. They have depicted a unique accommodation experience by creating a hotel that is distinctively different from any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing