We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royce Hotel
Ranked #32 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and myself stayed there on the 21/9/2012,we found the whole experience to be very good indeed,the room was very nice,clean well appointed and the staff were most helpful and pleasant. l used my classic car to get there and l must say the staff really went out of their way to make sure my car was looked after ,they actually were interested enough to ensure no damage would happen to it . We walked into the city from the hotel which was nice,it gave us a chance to really see all the beautiful buildings and sights along St Kilda rd and it didnt take that long .We had a balcony room overlooking the school which meant a good peaceful nights sleep. Our only comment is that only after we had finished breakfast did my wife find out we could have eggs done however you like .there was no signs to inform us ,all you have to do is ask .Anyway ,we were very happy and would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette-Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    337
    93
    45
    30
See reviews for
58
468
57
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I did not have a choice of hotel last time I was in Melbourne for business. My conference was sponsored by an organization and they provided and paid for the accomodation. I was told I was staying at the Royce and I had no expectations of its standards.

I was pleasantly surprised! The staff at the front desk were very helpful. The rooms were stylish and well appointed. I liked the way the room was set out with a separate washroom and shower room. The bed was extremely comfortable. I liked that every guest received a complimentary drink voucher to the bar! What a great idea.

The conference dinner was at the hotel restaurant. The food was very good. I ordered the eye fillet steak and it was perfectly cooked. The only problem with the meal was that a steak knife was not provided and eating the steak was difficult.

Breakfast was an ordinary buffet and in hind sight I was better off finding a nicer cafe in the city.

The location was good as I was walking distance to my conference location.

I would not normally pick this hotel but after staying there I will return next time I am in Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here twice. Whilst the rooms are lovely the first time I stayed in a standatd room window facing St Kilda Road I couldn't sleep due to the noise of trams going past. I assume they don't have double glazed windows. Slept much better on my second visit husband booked a suite for my birthday. It was beautiful, very spacious. The bar has a great feel to it. We also had breakfast in the restaurant. Whilst the food was good, service was a little slow

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed 3 nights @ Royce Hotel & loved it! As a 5 star boutique should be! Premium beautiful rooms..Premium understated service...Premium F&B operations ie The Dish & The AmberRoom enjoy great patronage from Hotel Guests & Locals alike!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erf1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just stayed at the Royce over the weekend with my boyfriend after purchasing a deal on wotif. Check in wasn't until two which didn't bother us as we both are Saturday workers. When arriving at the hotel all valet parking was taken as there was a wedding on in the ballroom. Staff were helpful in assisting on where to park to not to get a find and we managed to get a park right out the front on st kinda road which was free on the weekends. So we saved on parking :) staff were friendly and helpful and did mention that there was a wedding on and that they were quite busy. We were still able to get a booking at dish which was excellent and enjoyed our welcome drinks in the amber room. Thought at the time we had been upgraded and confirmed when we got home that we had :) room was specious and very clean and couldn't even that they had a wedding on at all other than a very faint muffle of music which ended quiet early! In all extremely happy thankyou for making our weekend amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sare_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I read a review before we stayed here about poor manners at reception. That person must have been sacked as all front line staff were helpful and polite. I liked this hotel as it's just a bit different, it has some history and is well kept. Formerly the Rolls Royce showroom is has some unique design features. We stayed over Easter and were treated to free goodies on more than one morning. Breakfasts were just awesome.

Room Tip: We had quiet room away from St Kilda Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkZ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Recently stayed at the Royce with my partner and have no hesitation in recommending it. The hotel lobby emanated with intimacy and class. The reception staff were friendly. We stayed in an executive room on the sixth floor of the hotel with a balcony with views onto St. Kilda Road and the city. After reading other reviews, i was surprised how quiet the hotel and its rooms were. The room was exceptionally clean and well furbished. The LCD TV over the spa bath added a very nice touch!

Although it was a short way out of the city, it was not too much of an inconvenience. The trams were right out the front door and it was just a $10 taxi or a lovely 15 minute stroll through the botanical gardens past the shrine of remembrance to Bourke St. mall.
Full buffet breakfast at Dish restaurant was included in our stay and was delicious!
Received complimentary welcome drinks upon arrival at the Amber Room bar which was a nice touch.

Overall, a fantastic weekend and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Executive rooms were flawless, definitely worth the little bit extra. Request a room on a higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adelle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,794 reviews
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#33 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,349 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#23 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Property: Royce Hotel
Address: 379 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Melbourne's designer boutique hotel, perfectly located on St.Kilda Road next to the stunning Royal Botanic Gardens. The CBD, Southbank precinct, Melbourne's art and theatre district and the fashionable Chapel Street are all within a short tram ride away. The hotel features a lounge bar, award winning restaurant, private outdoor courtyard, business area and meeting facilities. Once renowned as Australia's most glamorous automobile showroom in the 1920s, the Royce housed prestige vehicles such as the Rolls Royce. While the exterior of the historical building retains its classical features, the architects and designers have redesigned a modern and chic interior to suit the discerning traveller. They have depicted a unique accommodation experience by creating a hotel that is distinctively different from any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing