We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a big thanks”
Review of Quest on Bourke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on Bourke
Ranked #108 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
“a big thanks”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My daughter and I spent 4 nights at The Quest on Bourke to celebrate a special birthday.
Vanessa, Clara and the team made us very welcome and were always volunteering to help make the stay as pleasurable as posssible.
The room was very quiet, the bed extremely comfortable and the kitchen very adequate.
The only minor issue was the shower over the bath was a little difficult for small people to get in and out of. Other than that, a big THANKS for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were allocated a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane10_03_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for much for your lovely feedback - I will happily run up the stairs to show Clara and the team - I know it will make their day! We love welcoming valued guests to Quest on Bourke and I am very, very happy that we made your stay so enjoyable. I also appreciate your comments in regard to the shower access. Thank you again and we look forward to the next birthday celebrations in Melbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    212
    113
    46
    31
See reviews for
141
78
12
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The entrance and lobby to Quest on Bourke is not promising and at first glance the property seems a little dated - but the size of the apartments makes up for this. They are decorated in a fairly modern style and are very big compared to a hotel room. Bathrooms again are a little dated with a shower over a spa bath, but they are huge and feature nice touches like marble vanity tops. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are very quiet - yet you are just a few steps from central Melbourne. I have always found the front office staff to be friendly and helpful. As always, free internet would be a bonus but you can buy on a "time only basis" so $13 for 2 hours is enough to log on and download emails then log off again. The elevator is slow and an example of where this property shows its age a little, but if you can get a good deal and want a bit of space then I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regard to the property we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate all of your comments and especially enjoy the opportunity to pass onto the front office team your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed overnight in a 2 bedroom apartment and it was lovely. The rooms were really spacious, clean and stylish, and overlooked Etihad Stadium, which was where we were attending a concert. It only took seconds to walk to the main gate! We didn't have to worry about transport or anything! It's amazing how quiet the rooms were though. We didn't hear any noise from the venue at all! When we first arrived (8.00am), the lovely reception staff looked after our bags for us, so we didn't have to drag them around town. The reception staff were really friendly and welcoming, and seemed honestly pleased that we were staying there. We had the best time, and the Quest - Docklands is now the only place I would stay when in Melbourne. I have already recommend your hotel to family and friends! Thanks again for making our trip wonderful!

Room Tip: The 8th floor on the Etihad Stadium side overlook the entry gates, so you can see when the queue is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights in an executive apartment. It was clean, comfortable and quiet, considering it is in the CBD. The apartment was spacious and definitely better than a tiny hotel room for the same price elsewhere. The Reception staff were vey friendly and helpful. The lift is a bit old and rickety and takes forever to open and close. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you Mark S for your feedback, it is a pleasure to be able to pass your positive comments onto our reception and housekeeping staff. I agree it is always more comfortable with more room to move about when you are staying for a few nights, so I also appreciate your comments in regard to that. Your comments in regard to the lift taking so long for the doors to close, we have had them reconfigured so they do take longer as we found this assisted with some extra time for guests and our housekeeping staff with trolleys etc. Just a little tweak we have made, I am sorry if the additional time was frustrating for you. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The reception team where very friendly and helpful, the beds were comfortable to sleep in but the shower in the bathroom is very small, I am only 5 foot and I found there was hardly any room to move and we felt the bathroom could do with a refit. The position of the hotel is terrific, I was travelling with my mother who is 80 and has some trouble walking and just outside the front door of the Quest was a tram stop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourfreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is always great to be able to pass on positive feedback to our reception and housekeeping team. I will also bear in mind your feedback in regard to the bathroom and shower as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

three of us stayed here in feb 12 for 4 nights. it was a good location as we were going to the read gift fare. The rooms were tidy and clean and a nice kitchen and little lounge, but really nothing wow. not that we were after wow as it was a work trip/ I would stay there again if the occasion arose but not really for a holiday.

Room Tip: we had a 2 bedroom apartment and it suited us down to a tee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanzrobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to complete the information. I am happy that we provided you with accommodation that met your needs for your trip to Melbourne. We pride ourselves on our service, location and the relationships we build with our valued guests. Please feel free to contact me should you wish to book again in the future, I would be more than happy to assist you.
Kind regards,
Vanessa Warnock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed there from 15 to 18 December 2012. Had parents and my son of 18 months along. To our standard, it was accessible and convenient. The hotel staff were very helpful and responsive. The location was great. Nothing to complain about. It was definitely a positive experience for my whole family, including my son.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald Yale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We endeavour to have everyone enjoy their stay with us at Quest on Bourke so they consider returning to us again and again! We love welcoming back our valued guests and I also welcome the opportunity to pass onto the staff your positive comments. Thank you so much for your feedback from the whole team at Quest on Bourke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#72 of 160 in Melbourne
1,000 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#104 of 160 in Melbourne
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Paramount Serviced Apartments
#133 of 160 in Melbourne
232 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#92 of 160 in Melbourne
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Bourke

Property: Quest on Bourke
Address: 155 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on Bourke features 61 spacious one and two bedroom apartments. With great features such as a fantastic welcoming team, 24 hour reception and a health club on the lower ground floor - the best location in Melbourne for shopping, dining, theatre or just exploring this great city. Why not consider Quest on Bourke for your next business or leisure trip to Melbourne? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Bourke Melbourne
Apartment Melbourne Quest
Quest On Bourke Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing