We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve in the City”
Review of Quest on Bourke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest on Bourke
Ranked #106 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Flynn
1 review
“New Years Eve in the City”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We just spent 2 nights at Quest including New Years Eve. I was a little concerned after booking seeing some reviews talking about noise and a night club (especially given we were there on NYE). We were very pleased that the rooms were extremely quiet as the Night Club has closed down.

The rooms were spacious, great location and extremely well priced. The rooms werent serviced due to it being Sunday and a public holiday (but nobody comes and makes my bed at home everyday either!!). We were informed we could get more towels or supplies - just to let housekeeping know and they would deliver, so this wasnt a problem and meant our rooms were reasonably priced. Air conditioning worked welll as it was 35C during our stay. We arrived at 10.30am by train so wanted to drop off our bags, we were informed our room was ready so we could check in then - very impressed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    208
    112
    46
    30
See reviews for
135
77
12
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Had 3 nights at Quest and once again great service,clean room and a big pat on the back for Jac in reception,he does a great job.As far a the rooms go for the cost of a self contained unit you won;t find better in the CBD.quite.clean and big units.Am going back in Feb as we looked around while we were there and nothing else competes with it for valuu

Room Tip: If you smoke ask for a balcony,the 1 bedroom balconies are small but do the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My partner and I stayed 2 nights in a one bedroom suite (very small but was ok).

I was surprised that I had to almost beg for a balcony - which I finally got, However no one told me it was half the size of a single bed :s

On our second night we attempted to have our second spa of our 2 night stay. 20 mins of cold running water.. When we called reception to enquire the receptionist was very unhelpful to why we had no hot water - this was very disappointing. And this was not resolved..

We were questioned when asked for more towels.. We got them but did not particularly like the tone of the woman who seemed uneasy that we had asked for more towels..

Overall the apartment was alright but I would not go back due to the lack of customer service. The only good thing is the location. But i would recommend Quest SXY in
South Yarra anyday!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyasAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_W555, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your feeback - and I apologise that your stay was not all that you had hoped for.

I have been looking into our reservation history and have not been able to find anything mentioning hot water issues in a One Bedroom Executive apartment with a balcony. Without this information I cannot unfortunately follow up with our personnel either.

I can assure you that we pride ourselves on our guest service and should we have been able to offer another apartment or take emergency actions we would normally have done so, this is part of our training for all of our personnel at Quest on Bourke. I can only apologise at this stage for your disappointment but I would welcome the opportunity to make amends should you wish to give us another opportunity to accommodate you.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed for six days in a 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom apartment. We were a group of 4 adults with 1 toddler. The bathroom is really big and was great for giving my son a bath. He loved the big bathtub or spa. My husband also tried to use the spa, the motor was running but it wasn't working properly. Nevertheless, he still enjoyed his bath. The rooms are big, beds are ok, the blankets are a bit on the threadbare side. Kitchen facilities were complete and housekeeping cleans the dishes everyday except for Sunday's. Now, my only concern with an otherwise great stay is the laundry. They do provide a washer/dryer but it is a steam dryer and does not dry your clothes at all. You have to request for a clothes rack to dry your clothes. And it's not that big either. If they had a real dryer, I would have given them 5 stars.
The staff are courteous and efficient. They lent us umbrellas on a rainy day, printed boarding passes for us and even booked a tour at short notice. We would recommend this place to our friends.

Room Tip: When you are getting a two br apartment, make sure to ask for the two bathrooms. They have a 2 bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siomao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_W555, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you for your feedback Siomao - it is wonderful to feel we have further contact with our valued guests even after they depart!

We are aware of limitations with the steam drying in the laundry - we recommend small loads and have the clothes airers available for this reason. Normally this assists to the guests satisfaction.

We are currently looking into upgrading to install separate washing machines and dryers for the apartments in the future for Quest on Bourke. A timeline for this is yet to be finalised.

We hope to see you again when you next plan a trip to Melbourne - thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This is a very centrally located apartment. Everything is just a short stroll away, Swanson street, Bourk Street Mall, Parliament, Federation Square... etc.

We had a 1 bedroom apartment which is spacious and functional, eg full kitchen, washing machine, DVD player, LCD TV. Bathroom is spacious.

If I want to be really picky, I find the queen size bed is on the softer side and the house keeping was on the stingy side without replacing the shampoo and the soap.

The service at the front desk was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_W555, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your feedback.

We agree the location is excellent and it gives us a great opportunity for every guest to really enjoy the variety of tourism and cultural offerings that Melbourne has to offer.

Reception can also assist with additional toiletries for your apartment and we are happy to deliver them to you promptly. Simply dial down and we will assist.

Hope to see you again soon and thank you again for the feedback.

Vanessa Warnock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed here recently with 3 others and loved the place. We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Executive Apartment which had 2 bathrooms, plenty of room for everyone to get ready to go out. Apartment even had a spa however we didn't get a chance to use it.

The apartment was very spacious, had everything we needed in it, staff were friendly. Would definitely recommend it to others to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed at this aparment hotel for 2 weeks, as was working just across the road. Was in a standard 1 bedroom apartment - apartments are spacious, comfortable and clean. Huge bathroom which I loved, and a very comfy bed, and the kitchen facilities were great. I had a room at the back of the hotel, and whilst there was absolutely no view (overlooking a brick wall basically) the room was really quiet which was great. Rooms were serviced daily and the staff were helpful. Would recommend this hotel for an extended stay in Melbourne CBD, or for a family wanting a comfortable, functional apartment with full kitchen and laundry facilities. Would definitely stay here again for work.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet, just don't expect a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_W555, Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to be able to encourage everyone at the property with such great feedback
.
We really pride ourselves on being able to cater for overnight and short stays as well as making our guests comfortable and at home for longer stays at Quest on Bourke.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the property again soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#70 of 159 in Melbourne
968 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Paramount Serviced Apartments
#131 of 159 in Melbourne
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#101 of 159 in Melbourne
188 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Bourke

Property: Quest on Bourke
Address: 155 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on Bourke features 61 spacious one and two bedroom apartments. With great features such as a fantastic welcoming team, 24 hour reception and a health club on the lower ground floor - the best location in Melbourne for shopping, dining, theatre or just exploring this great city. Why not consider Quest on Bourke for your next business or leisure trip to Melbourne? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Bourke Melbourne
Apartment Melbourne Quest
Quest On Bourke Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing