We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place for a short stay”
Review of Quest on Chapel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on Chapel
Ranked #43 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great place for a short stay”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a short stay here over the easter weekend. The staff here are friendly and the rooms very clean. The location here is great with a number of coffee shops close by. Being Chapel street it is a stone's throw from all the designer shops and trendy bars and restaurants of South Yarra. Overall a great place to base yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    156
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
100
78
30
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated on buzzing Chapel St. 5 min walk to South Yarra Station and to nearby trams. clean hotel,friendly staff and excellent location. Woolworths and big W across the road which is very convenient.

We went to Melbourne during the tennis Australian Open and the Richmond station is only 1 stop away from South Yarra station.

Highly recommend to all staying in Melbourne for holiday or business.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarragon, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great location to Como cinema centre and the many restaurants in this district. We found the girls at reception friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious - Kitchenette with everything you need. Except a coffee plunger would have been a nice addition. Well across the road they sell great coffee for $3.50, so we were not too worried. Separate bedroom to the lounge/kitchen area. Small balcony. Thought it was great value in comparison to other options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Appartment not huge. Bathroom needs updating. We had no bins in room or bathroom ( no real big deal though). The room smelt like old cooking I guess that's not really hotel fault but it stunk whole time. Bed was clean and Location is awesome!! Staff friendly although local area knowledge would be beneficial. Lady at reception had no idea where or what was a bridge rd ( 15-20 min walk away). Marked wrong location for hotel on map. Rooms were surprisingly quieter than I expected. Tram stops close, great cafes across road. Had good stay. Bathroom needs a bench though!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

otherwise, i dont see value in staying here. Cabs are impossible to get based on location, the rooms don't get serviced on a sunday apparently (something they failed to tell us on checking) and the aircon wasn't working in the building while we were there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ropate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Maybe I would stay at the Olson Art Hotel or the Como if I could afford to? This hotel is cheaper but has the same fabulous location. Some people say the hot water is too slow! Or was it the hair dryer ? I couldnt fault these things or much else. The only criticism I would make is that the heating is a little warm for my taste. This was my second stay here. I think the hotel is excellent value. It is very comfortable ...just a very nice place. Oh and the location is fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tubbyconqueror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#74 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Chapel

Property: Quest on Chapel
Address: 651 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on Chapel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Chapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Chapel Hotel Melbourne
Quest On Chapel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing