We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous apartments” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Serviced Apartments

Manor House Serviced Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House Serviced Apartments
Ranked #138 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

Modern, comfortable 2 & 3 bedroom apartments with a free carpark per apartment! Great location - heaps of restaurants etc and easy access on tram on Toorak Rd to city. Pool good but a bit small & right next to Reception & front window.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyHtas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    3
    6
    9
See reviews for
10
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisvegas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2007

I felt the need to share my and my friends experience at the Manor House Serviced Apartments, as we had experienced the best service at any apartment/hotel we have stayed at. Upon arrival, staff were friendly and more than willing to go out of their way to inform us of the best night venues, cafe's, restaurants and shopping spots which catered to OUR tastes. This continued throughout our stay, where if we needed to find something, wanted advice etc. the staff were so friendly and willing to do all they could to help us and provide us with the best information. Furthermore, the apartments were so nice to stay in!! very modern and serviced each day which was fantastic. the location cant be beat either! right in the centre of what we loved, shopping, going out and eating! Thanks to all the staff at the Manor House for making our stay the best we have had in Melbourne! -Bianca, Dani and Jess.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and helpful service
  • Disliked — Inside pool
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank miss-bee-anchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

Stayed for two nights on business so didn't spend too much time in the room but what experience we did have was not too bad.
The room was well equipped and had everything needed to make the stay pleasant, even the DVD had a left over movie still in it from another guest. Actually if not for the negative points, this would be a great place to stay for an extended period.

The good points: very close to the CBD, transport, parks, good carparking spaces and well equipped workable kitchen, nice interior of four star quality, staff were very good and extremely helpful.

The bad points: no views, the pool is very small and seems like a extension of the reception, the train tracks are in the backyard literally and the location brings down this four star apartment down to at best three stars Overall, we would not stay here again purely for its non views and train noise (even though were we not at the extreme back of the apartments.). A pity really.

  • Liked — Room layout and furnishings
  • Disliked — Train niose and lack of views
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Quiturbellyachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Perth, Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2006

Nice enough place from the front, but don't look out the back. Train track firstly, then on the other side is old warehouses and mechanical shops.
The pool is very small, and is in the reception area.
We had 2 apartments, one on the ground floor, and one on the third. Both at the back of the complex.
South Yarra is a place for the in crowd with its boutiques and coffee shops. Its across the river (15 minutes) by taxi or train to get into the CBD, for the real shopping and entertainment.
Only allowed one key per room, so if you are there with a group, you will always be waking someone up, or just leaving the door unlocked... nothing to worry about, it's an upmarket part of town :)

  • Liked — Catered for 4 to a apartment
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2006

Our family (9 month old and 3 year old included) checked into the manor house serviced apartments for 6 nights, paid for over the internet before we arrived.

We had seen photographs via websites showing spacious living areas and outlooks of leafy trees off the terraces. The reality was an apartment that was so small that one of the lounge suites was actually behind the television so that you had to look at the back of the TV. The living area was ridiculously small for a family. Our apartment was two story (bed rooms upstairs) with a very, very steep stair case - not a good idea with a crawling 9 month old baby - and they put us here knowing about the baby!

Our apartment overlooked 4 train lines and some huge high voltage power lines not more than about 6 metres from the bedroom window. First train is at 4.30 a.m and the last is about 12 midnight. Great if you are into trains - not if you have a baby and a 3 year old and really need to get some sleep.

The small balcony from the living area looked out into an old block of flats. The blacony itself was one third taken up by a noisy compressor unit for the ducted airconditioning.

There were no lamps in one bedroom. There was some lovely mouth wash left in the living room on the floor by the previous guest - it was discovered by our 9 month old who we found having a suck on the bottle - now that is disgusting. There was an electrical wire hanging out of the wall in the kids bedroom - this was pointed out to reception immediately due to the danger factor but was not even looked at during our stay.

On day two my wife , 3 year old and 9 month old got briefly stuck in the old, old lift - not very pleasant when it is 38 degrees outside and the 3yo needs to go to the toilet urgently

The t.v remote control didnt work. The window winder fell off. The flyscreen over looking the train lines fell off. There was blood all over the reception floor one morning - quote from management - "we had an accident".

After the first night of impossible sleep and constant wake ups we asked the 'manager' if we could get a refund of the rest of our stay and we would move somewhere else. We were told it was not their policy to refund internet bookings (and to be fair it was on the booking receipt). They said they did not usually put families in the apartment we were in but did not offer any other solution. They finally agreed to move us to another apartment after two nights - all with a really bad dose of fake sympathy. The replacement apartment was admittedly better but we were unable to enjoyably stay here any longer regardless.

The best offer as compensation for staying in an absolutely crap apartment was "1 Heinekin or a small bottle of wine" - Hilarious. Why don't you keep the wine and fix the electrical wires. This place is a joke run by amateurs. We forfeited the money and moved out and stayed somewhere else. What a relief it was too. Pity about the $860 that we lost because they wouldnt refund any money. It was such a relief to be out of there though.

Our advice.. Steer clear of the manor house appartments. Spend a few dollars more and stay at the Como around the corner.

Will upload photos at a later date.

  • Liked — moving out
  • Disliked — please see review
  • Tips/Secrets — do not pay in advance and check all reviews
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank regularhotelguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anaheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

I recently styaed for 3 weeks at the Manor House apts in South Yarra for business and vacation reasons. I thouroughly enjoyed my stay and thought the rooms were excellent and the location the best with all the coffee shops and restaurants and shopping for myself and my children, just a short walk away. Infact we didnt use the hire car much at all. The front desk staff were always helpful and the cleaning staff got to know my habits and when to clean and when to leave me alone. I also ventured into the pool in the front area for a dip each morning. I would stay with the Manor house every time i return to Melbourne and have told many friends and associates , whe have since booked their stay as well, that this was the most relaxing and enjoyable visit to Melbourne that i have had. Thanks again to all the staff for thier help.

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — one bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — walk everywhere
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vikya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at Manor House for a week. We absolutely loved it!! The location for starters is great! It is within walking distance to any bars, restaurants ,cafes and of course the infamous Chapel Street boutiques! The apartments are very clean and spacious with full kitchens (although we couldnt resist the local restaurants most nights!) they also have a laundry which we were most impressed with. The staff were most helpful and there was complimentary security included! All in all we had a fabulous trip and will certainly be booking again next year.

  • Liked — The location and the clean apartments
  • Disliked — ?
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want to experience the trendy Melbourne scene first hand this is the right place!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAddict88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#69 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#83 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#35 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Serviced Apartments

Property: Manor House Serviced Apartments
Address: 36-38 Darling St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kandy bungalow Mahaweli river front bungalow is a newly built hotel which provides budget accommodation when you are in this world heritage city-Kandy.The hotel is conveniently located just 1 Km from the main road just 5 minutes drive from the city center of Kandy. Mahaweli river front bungalow offers deluxe and budget rooms to suit the requirements of the guest.It is an ideal base to explore the attractions of world famous kandyan kingdom and many places of interest around the city limits.Tour packages.deluxe rooms & normal rooms.Restaurant & Delicious food.Banquet hall.Relaxing environment.2 KM to the Royal Botanical Gardens.Temple of Tooth-Kandy Lake-5 minutes drive.Pallekele International Cricket Stadium,Free trade Zone (BOI).Victoria International Golf Course.30 Minutes.Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage-a charming experience.Victoria Dam-Randenigala Dam-Panoramic view 45 minutes.Udawaththa kele–The forbidden Forest of the Kings of Kandy; which lends itself to the best of walkways.10 minutes.HISTORIC SITES–famous sacred temples:Embekke, Gadaladeniya, Lankathilaka, Degaldoruwa Raja Maha Viharaya-within 45 minutes drive. Hunnasgiriya,Knuckles Range,Hunnas Falls-One hours drive.“Meemure” tradition-able Village of Kings,during the Royal era of kings.One and half hours drive.Wildlife Randenigala One hours drive.Riiverston,Mini World’s End Can be reached within 2 hours ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Manor Hotel Serviced Apartments
Manor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing