We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Venue”

Arts Centre Melbourne
Book In Advance
More Info
$148.20*
and up
Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass
More Info
$52.87*
and up
Melbourne City Afternoon Tour
More Info
$84.91*
and up
Melbourne City Full-Day Tour Including Lanes and Arcades Walk
Ranked #38 of 424 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our venues include Hamer Hall, Sidney Myer Music Bowl & the Theatres Building. Our Performing Arts Collection is Australia's biggest!
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“First Class Venue”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

First Class Venue, it has it all to enjoy your entertainment. Coffee shop on the St Kilda Rd. entrance...you can watch the world pass pleasantly by. The Cafe through/at the Rear is quite good. It's a Cafe not Restaurant. Great for a quick Bite before a show. Then there are the various snack, drink, and Liquor Bars inside the Arts Centre. The ambience is so pleasant and comfortable before you even get in the Theatre. There's limited wheelchair seating. All seating is well arranged excellent views. The shows are always "Top Class".

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChezmossAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    138
    25
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,001 reviews
429 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“The concert hall "makeover" makes it world class.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We know these venues well and the recent makeover at great expense of the concert hall is very good indeed and seems to have tried to keep to much of what the original architect intended while making 21st century technological improvements. Try to go on one of the tours of that hall. The rest of the theatres weather well and it is a better house for opera than its more ostentatious sister in Sydney.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirkcaldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Madama Butterfly”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A great venue. The restaurant there is not bad either - limited variety but good quality, fresh food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spire of light”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I love the simplicity of the outside areas, the small grassy areas that are great to wander around or sit and watch. The coffee kiosk outside, perfect for sitting outside just watching people wander along St Kilda Road and the trams skimming by. This is my Melbourne, especially in Autumn. Mind you I love the plays and music etc. inside the space.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lynn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,101 reviews
346 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Most fascinating arts venue tour.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We knew the old venue well but now it is a whole new ball park, having been partially rebuilt.
Our guide was very bright and the history of the design and decor fascinating .
For $30 each we learnt a lot and enjoyed a drink and nibbles after.
Highly recommend now that the venue has been so greatly improved.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arts Centre Melbourne also viewed

 

Been to Arts Centre Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing