We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fascinating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Immigration Museum

Immigration Museum
Ranked #23 of 346 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Australia's history and culture. Journey through Melbourn's history and explore stories of people who have migrated from all reaches of the world. From the reasons for making the journey, to the impact on indigenous communities, these stories are sometimes sad, sometimes funny, but always engaging. Located in the Old Customs House in the heart of the city - an easy walk from Flinders St Station or Southern Cross (or catch the free City Circle Tram).
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just my cup of tea. So interesting to see and hear (very interactive), the journeys people had and the reasonsmformitnover the decades. Well worth a visits for 10dollars.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynnie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    352
    72
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“always interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great displays both visual and audio worth a visit i highly recommend it. Currently has the exodus of Irish since the global financial crisis with photos of indivduals couples and families with their stories. Also a hard hitting film, of what the human race has done to itself causing pain and suffering forcing people to seek better lives around the world.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samsonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the best museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is one of my favorite museums in Melbourne. It is so fascinating, great exhibitions and displays. Very informative. Lots of immigration related stories about the start of our multicultural country. From the 1800's to present. I went with my french husband and he enjoyed it even more than I did. I recommend half a day to go through the exhibits. I enjoyed reading them and looking at the memorabilia. Ive been a few times and always find new and interesting facts and exhibits.

Activities and exhibits for all of the family. concessions, students, children and uni students are free. Adults pay $10. Great value for money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank queenanttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An thought provoking educational experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The museum is easy to reach via the 75 tram and free city circle tram. We took just over 2 hours to walk through but were constrained by other commitments. You could easily spend 3 or plus hours to see everything and to linger a little more over exhibits. It was school holidays during our visit and there were free, interesting themed activities for all visitors to participate in. This could be turned Into a great full day of a family. Students are free including uni students, as are all concession pass owners. Adults are $10 so it's not an expenive experience. The identity exhibit will have you contemplating who you are and how you express it. The Journey of a Lifetime exhibit is interactive , so pleasant to ave an exhibit where the 'hands off just look' option is removed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank OnTheG0Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A must see for a Victorian resident. I wouldn't call it a tourist destination but it's definitely a learning experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank A_232_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Immigration Museum also viewed

 

Been to Immigration Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing