We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Well presented, very interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Immigration Museum

Immigration Museum
Ranked #23 of 346 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Australia's history and culture. Journey through Melbourn's history and explore stories of people who have migrated from all reaches of the world. From the reasons for making the journey, to the impact on indigenous communities, these stories are sometimes sad, sometimes funny, but always engaging. Located in the Old Customs House in the heart of the city - an easy walk from Flinders St Station or Southern Cross (or catch the free City Circle Tram).
Canberra
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well presented, very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Irish immigration was current, not the historical one, which was a surprise. Excellent photography

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynnCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    353
    72
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A full picture of Australian history, past and present”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This museum was close to our hearts, being potential new migrants to Australia and both of our families being of 4 different nationalities between us. It showed how Australia came to be as it is today, including any shocking immigration policies, and it was quite interactive too- it kept us interested all the time. It took us 3 hours and we did it thoroughly, including the special photographic exhibition "Leaving Dublin". Discounts for concessions too (i.e. free) and only $10 for adults, this is a must-do.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex_and_Katie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Found a few good documents of our immigration but I think there they could make it easier or offer more of something it just needs a bit of umph.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value and well thought out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

At $10 each this museum was great value and we spent three hours looking through it. I like the way they have used different mediums to tell the story of immigration and some personal stories of immigrants. The Leaving Dublin exhibition could have been enhanced with more narrative to accompany the photography.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Underthesea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I visited here with my husband a year or two ago just to kill some time. It was so interesting that I revisited it wit my mum today. This is a fascinating place to visit. It traces immigration and policy throughout our history. Some is quite confronting but well worth seeing. On the second floor they usually have a special exhibition. Make sure you check out the dictation test and also have a go at being an immigration officer throughout different eras. Definitely gives you food for thought.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Immigration Museum also viewed

 

Been to Immigration Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing