We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for your money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert
Ranked #115 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“value for your money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

excellent reception/customer service
spacious rooms, comfortable for family
cheapest rate for 5 or more travellers in/close to melbourne cbd
ample car parking
easy access by tram/buses or by car
conveniently located & privacy
value for your money

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snszr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    81
    75
    49
    100
See reviews for
133
63
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

Stayed 2 nights on a recent trip to Melbourne. The apartments are located just east of the CBD; easily accessible by train/tram/car. It took us about 20 minutes to walk from the apartments into the CBD; the walk itself was quite nice (through the Fitzroy Gardens). Unfortunately the street noise was a little loud, but the room was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flapflap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

Accommodation is expensive in Melbourne, so I guess you get what you paid for. This one has only the bare essentials, paint peeling off the walls and not very clean. Needs a complete overhaul or failing that, demolish it and re-build it. Location to the city is excellent.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needs updating
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Ontario_CanadaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed four nights at the Albert Street apartments. They're a bit run down and dated but very spacious and comfortable and the location was perfect for what we wanted to do. Everything worked OK. It was quite noisy with the street below so it might be an idea to request a back room. We were there Christmas Day and there was no surcharge and the little supermarket around the corner was open.

  • Liked — Size and fittings of the apartment
  • Disliked — Tired and dated - but that probably kept the price down!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

I stayed at the treasury apartments recently for 2 nights with a friend & our 3 toddlers. As a mum with little ones, my priority is a clean comfy place to stay after a long day travelling or sight seeing! City Edge definatley delivered! It was clean and comfy, with a well equipped kitchenette. Although quite compact, it suited our needs well. Perfect for families with little ones, as there is a great playground directly across the road, and supermarket also!
The staff here were always friendly and very helpful, with enquiries prior to our stay, whilest we were there, and with directions on departure!
It is also worth noting that City Edge didn't charge us for children under 3 unlike some of it's competitiors were willing to!
Overall, great, comfortable value for money!

  • Liked — Generally well above average for it's price
  • Disliked — Stairs & automatic door system was a little difficult with prams
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayms83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

Location is the best thing the Albert Street City Edge Apartments have going for them.

When we stayed there last year the carpet was filthy and so was the couch which was completely shot and even sported an iron burn. It was mid-winter and the heating/air conditioning didn't work. We were left with two small blower heaters that made the apartment stink of cigarettes when we used them. It was so cold one night that we made the mistake of using both which tripped the fuse and shut down all the power points in the apartment. We didn't locate the fuse box until next morning when we reported it to the staff who were surprised that we hadn’t noticed the box behind a sliding door.

We were less than happy and when I spoke to the on-site management they agreed with me and suggested I write to the owners which I did. I thought a seven night stay, five of them without sufficient heating, would rate a response but it didn't.

The positive thing that came out of the experience was our discovery of a much better set of serviced apartments just down the street a little. We stayed there a few weeks ago and although they are a little more expensive they are far more pleasant, much more comfortable and everything works.

That said, the onsite manager who suggested I write to the owners last year is one of the owners of the apartments we stayed at this year. One wonders!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — It was shabby!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
34 Thank KittyKatKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamorine mountain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

Fantastic budget accommodation, very clean & neat. Self contained, 4 separate spacious rooms - bed, bath, lounge, kitchen. Well appointed. Lovely quiet location within easy walking distance to MCG, City, trams, Bridge Road shopping, Fitzroy park. Friendly, well organised Reception staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — location, price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelling030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Adara East Melbourne
#111 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Central Business District
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Birches Serviced Apartments
#38 of 133 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Tribeca Serviced Apartments
#42 of 133 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
George Powlett Apartments
#53 of 133 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert

Property: City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert
Address: 179 Powlett St | East Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Edge Apartment Hotels East Melbourne is inner Melbourne's leading serviced apartment accommodation. Four boutique locations only walking distance from the CBD and MCG will have you in easy reach of all that central Melbourne has to offer. Our comprehensive range of apartments are available in studio - one bedroom - two bedroom configurations. All our apartments are designed with your comfort and convenience in mind and afford a prestige address in close proximity to the best of our city. For those seeking location, value and amenity City Edge Apartment Hotels is the perfect solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing