We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby outdated accommodation but well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert
Ranked #120 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed January 23, 2013

In what used to be a block of 1970's built apartments, the owners hv done a cheap refit of the place to cater for guests. Everything is old, tired, shabby & definitely seen better days. It feels like all the furniture & appliances were from fire sales of old hotels. The carpet was sticky (wouldnt dare walk around barefoot) & the kitchen reeked of old cooking smells/oil. The bathroom - though reasonably clean & functional is in desperate need of an update. The remote controls for aircon & TV were taped with sticky tape & looked filthy (had to clean it with wet ones & our hands as well each time we used it!)

The positives are : Sheets & towels were clean. Well located in East Melbourne

The reception staff were pleasant & quite helpful. We were in Melbourne for the tennis & it was an easy 15 min stroll through lovely streets lined with beautiful old houses to get to the tennis centre.

There were several other blocks of apartment style hotels in the area, all of which looked better maintained & obviously been updated. We chose this place to stay because of the reasonable price - the saying "you get what you pay for" certainly applies here. For $30 to $50 more a day, we should hv booked one of the refurbished apartment hotels. The owners should spend some money to spruce up the place. Otherwise as is : would not recommend anyone to stay here. I

Room Tip: If you hv to stay here - ask for rooms facing the back. We had a ground floor room facing Albert St...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank scorpioshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 344 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Upon entry into our Unit, we noticed, 50-60s Style Room in dire need of renovating... A Iron Burn mark on the Floor in the Main Room? On Using the Toilet you have to close the door before you sit down... The Air Conditioning Remote Didn't work, also the remote was taped up to hold the batteries in, The Cheap LCD TV has a huge scratch on it, so watching TV was out of the Question. The Shower is really small, can't turn around without bumping the Taps, forget trying to pickup the soap if you dropped it, you need to open the shower to even do that.... Will never stay at any City Edge Apartments again....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank abfitch1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityEdgeManager, Manager at City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your contribution. Unfortunatelly we are very disapointed to learn that you did not enjoy your apartment. Thank you for bringing to our attention the scratch on the TV - its a shame that guests often damage property- however after our inspection we note that the vision is not compromised. The City Edge Serviced Apartments are very cosy and very polpular with our guests. Especially at the low prices we charge from $89 for 3.5 star. If you require 4 star accommodation we recommend our City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel. All City Edge branded hotels offer low prices for informed travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a very old 1960's/ 70's low rise apartment block that has been converted to services apartments. Look, it was probably my fault for being a tightarse and trying to save $20-30 a night on accommodation while i was attending a conference at the east edge of te city, but this was a pretty depressing place. Our room at the back upstairs has not been renovated for at least 25-30years and there was a weird smell in the room and the corridor that made us a little nauseous each time we returned home.

We underestimated the walk to the edge of the city, which is about 20minutes at least, and over 30mins to the city centre. So the savings on the room just got spent on taxis instead.

I really would not recommend taking a partner here, but if you are very thrifty and don't care about the room or easy accessibility to the city, go for it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank DrJ_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityEdgeManager, Manager at City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

I would like to acknowledge the receipt of your email. City Edge values all feedback it receives from our guests whether it is of positive or on very rare occasions - negative nature. All guests' feedback helps us to refine our operation and deliver an even better product for lesser cost. In cause of many years City Edge had listened for its clientele and has developed its successful operations as a limited services hotels and serviced apartments and we are pleased that our clientele is excited about the product they get and the low prices they pay.

There are often tens of Australians and overseas visitors book on our website at any particular time. Tens of Australian and overseas visitors stay at City Edge properties at any time. The majority of reservation are made via our own website and we enjoy a large number of return clientele.

I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the accommodation you have booked.


City Edge East Melbourne Serviced Apartments is an older style apartment complex which was in operation for last 25 years and it enjoys large number of happy return clientele.

Our City Edge Treasury complex was revovated in 2012 and will be good alternative for you to stay at the time of your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

During our visit to Melbourne, we booked a two bedroom apartment at City Edge Wellington. Judging by pricing, reviews found on websites and the photos of rooms, we thought City Edge Wellington was a great pick. However, throughout our stay we found a staggering amount of issues with the apartment. For example, hot water was unavailable most of the time, Kitchen utensils such as the fry pan were very old and broken, Lounges provided were worn, dirty and very uncomfortable, The double bed was simply two single beds put together, many things were broken (exhaust fan for stove top, blinds, shower) and no information what-so-ever was provided in regards to facilities in the building and pool/sauna location resulting in us to having to find things ourselves.

The location of City Edge Wellington was good being right near tram stops, Jolimont train station and the MCG, so that was a plus. Once we found the pool, it was clean and well looked after.

We will not be recommending City Edge to our friends or family and certainly won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityEdgeManager, Manager at City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

I would like to acknowledge the receipt of your email. City Edge values all feedback it receives from our guests whether it is of positive or on very rare occasions - negative nature. All guests' feedback helps us to refine our operation and deliver an even better product for lesser cost. In cause of many years City Edge had listened for its clientele and has developed its successful operations as a limited services hotels and serviced apartments and we are pleased that our clientele is excited about the product they get and the low prices they pay.

There are often tens of Australians and overseas visitors book on our website at any particular time. Tens of Australian and overseas visitors stay at City Edge properties at any time. The majority of reservation are made via our own website and we enjoy a large number of return clientele.


I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the accommodation you have booked.




City Edge Wellington Apartments is a self contained apartment complex with no staff onsite. All that is very much explained to you at the time of the reservation.

Pools area is easy to find as it is located downstairs on the lower ground level and we do not have spa.

Looking forward welcoming you back and hoping your next stay will be enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

On arriving at 92 Albert St thinking this was to be our accomodation only to find it was Reception, we were then sent a block or so away to our accomodation, luckily we had a car and a driver that knew the roads & had GPS. Finding the Lane we were directed to, a very rough cobbled narrow drive, we dully headed up to find the units with our room. I think we were building 4, not very well marked until right beside it, then turned into rather cramped parking area. Our unit was clean with heat pumps in rooms. There was an Ironing board but no Iron, the large element on stove didn't work, the window frame in lounge/dining was rotting, beds were lovely & comfortable but the bathroom/toilet must of been made for children and pygmies as the shower door was not much wider than a laptop computer, so had to be entered sideways. We had a reasonably short stroll to the Train Station which was good for Saturday as we were told they could not guarantee our car park if it got busy. As we had a ground floor room at rear of building the trees kept it quite nice & cool during the hot days. Overall, Just okay accomodation for travellers on smal Budget but I think next trip i will try somewhere else. Sorry I didn't get to take any photo's which I had meant to do.

Room Tip: Room on ground floor on opposite side to carpark are shaded during day.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jen20NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked 3 night on Treasury 2 beds studio apartment with them. It was not noted and there is no any message/information with regards to its re-paint a week ago. The smell was so strong that you can smell from outside the building and through all the building. We wanted to change apartment or cancel booking but was told not allowed and they insisted the smell is not a big deal and wouldn't damage people's health. So we had to stay in for the first night. We were so sick by next morning and of course couldn't sleep well. Their customer service was extremely bad and rude as well. I would never go back to them even for free!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
35  Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityEdgeManager, Manager at City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

The renovation is complete - The complex looks beautifull- Looking forward to welcome you in our newly refurbished complex and hoping your next stay will be an enjoyable on.

City Edge values all feedback it receives from our guests whether it is of positive or on very rare occasions - negative nature. All guests' feedback helps us to refine our operation and deliver an even better product for lesser cost. In cause of many years City Edge had listened for its clientele and has developed its successful operations as a limited services hotels and serviced apartments and we are pleased that our clientele is excited about the product they get and the low prices they pay.

There are often tens of Australians and overseas visitors book on our website at any particular time. Tens of Australian and overseas visitors stay at City Edge properties at any time. The majority of reservation are made via our own website and we enjoy a large number of return clientele.



I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the accommodation you have booked.




City Edge Treasury Apartments is an older style apartment complex which was in operation for last 25 years and it enjoys large number of happy return clientele and now you can enjoy nicely renovated apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Last weekend I organised a 2 night stay for over 60 people staying in City Edge Treasury and City Edge Gipps in a range of apartments including 1 bdr dbls and twins, plus 2bdr sleeping 5. The feedback I got from all was that the apartments were excellent value, clean and in a great location. The location was great because it was close to Dallas Brookes Centre where we were singing, and only a few hundred metres to the bus stop on Hoddle St for a 10min trip to South Yarra dining region. Plus it was only about 700 hundred metres to Bridge Road or Chinatown. Across the road is an IGA supermarket and a good cafe (The grocery Bar) for coffee, breakfast and lunch. City Edge is 3.5 star (from memory), so it doesnt have a gym, pool, dining room etc- so as long as you know what you are getting, it is hard to fault.

Room Tip: Gipps is quieter than Treasury
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#120 of 160 in Melbourne
116 reviews
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Court Boutique
#147 of 160 in Melbourne
212 reviews
Central Business District
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert

Address: 179 Powlett St | East Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $71 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Whether you’re looking for accommodation near Mercy Hospital or accommodation near Fitzroy Gardens, there’s no better choice than City Edge’s East Melbourne serviced apartments. If you want the comfort of a bed and breakfast in East Melbourne at the cost of a budget hotel, you’ll love our studio and family apartments, equipped with all the features and amenities you need for a comfortable stay. Our accommodation near St Vincent’s Hospital in Melbourne is ideal if you’re looking for hotels within walking distance to the MCG or Rod Laver Arena. Whether you’re a family seeking family accommodation near the MCG, a businessperson looking for weekly apartment rentals, or a traveller searching for accommodation near Melbourne Park, City Edge is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing