We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tribecca 2 bedroom apartments - what you see is NOT what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert
Ranked #115 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tribecca 2 bedroom apartments - what you see is NOT what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Unfortunately we chose this apartment on the description and photos posted on the City Edge Website and the reality did not live up to the hype.

It was not all bad - the location was fantastic, close to the city, and with a tram stop near by. There was an IGA supermarket, bottle shop, takeaway, and cafe downstairs. The apartment itself had a great pantry space or your groceries and generous storage space for luggage. The heating was also good.

All this though did not make up for the negatives. The place looked dirty with lots of black marks on the walls and the shower did not look as though it had been cleaned for awhile. The sheets did not properly fit any of the beds. The kitchen and dining areas did not look anything like the pictures presented on the website (these were the ones we made our choice on). Instead of a kitchen area separated from the dining table and lounge, there was one room that was missing the dining table entirely. When we rang reception to enquire if we were given the right apartment, we were rudely informed that we were. We also found that the gas stove cook top did not remain lit when you tried to cook, light globes did not appear to be working properly (either the fitting was faulty or the globes were about to go - we didn't fancy ringing reception about thse issues in case we encountered more rudeness) and the couch and lounge chair were very uncomfortable (these and the coffee table were considered our dining suite). As on the morning we were leaving prior to reception opening, we braved another phone call to reception to arrange the drop off of the keys. Again we were spoken to rudely and then told if we didn't return the keys we would be charged $150. Nice way to end our holiday...

We wont stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JackieSH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    81
    76
    49
    102
See reviews for
135
64
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is our third time at City Edge serviced apartments and it didn't disappoint again!
We stayed in a two bedroom two bathroom at Wellington street apartments. The view from our room was spectacular and even through the fog of Melbourne rainy weather the city sights were great.

The room was clean and the reception staff welcoming upon arrival.Remember these apartments are without on site reception as you need to pick your key and instructions from 92 Albert street before waling about 10 min to your hotel at 166 Wellington Parade.

Near the hotel there are Italian restaurants, and right next door is an Indian restaurant named Two Fat Indians you can smell the curry as you enter the block.Just up from the hotel is a 7eleven store ( very handy) and if you keep waling up the same side of the road there are a couple of little cafes and a Chinese Restaurtant. The Chinese restaurant named (Star Kingdom) at 82 Wellington Parade I can recommend as we have eaten there several times and is reasonably priced compared to the rip off prices we have to pay for Chinese food in Sydney!! Other times we ate on the Dining Restaurant Dinner Tram ( a must whilst in Melbourne).
Also the little cafe called Coffee on Wellington etc is right next door and is a fantastic place to get a toasted sandwich ($6.50) for lunch. Just be mindful they open at 7am and close quite early 3pm. I've often thought such a nice place to eat and grab a quick snack could be open longer in the afternoon to catch the afternoon trade people coming from work, the school crowd etc.Also not open Sat or Sun!!

Although our air con didn't work and I rang helpful customer service and implemented the changes to the remote they suggested it still didn't work. They will have maintenance look at it for you, but with wall heaters that adequately heated the rooms we didn't need the air con. I just left a note explaining the problem before the next people arrived!

Right across the street is the train station and the tram stops so getting int6o markets such as Queen Victoria or getting into St Kilda is not a problem. The trains are very fast and efficient albeit a little pricey!! A full fare day pass is $7.50 and you can use it on trains, busses and trams. A ticket of the same ilk is $5. something in Sydney but I must say the service is quick on the train and you can get a seat!!!.

Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zibode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
368 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Good location - ten minute walk to the MCG. Five minutes to the Hungry Jacks in Hoddle Street (walk through the little parkland on Simpson St), and an IGA (Victoria Parade) around the corner from where you book in at Albert Street. Not far from tram stops if you want to go into the city. We walked though, going through the Fitzroy Gardens, then caught the free red tourist tram in Spring Street. The Apartment was average...rooms were nothing special but were clean and the beds were good. Plenty warm enough on cold days - a split system in the main bedroom, and a reverse cycle in the lounge. It had a separate large kitchen with upright oven/stove, microwave, and usual sink, full sized fridge, cutlery/crockery etc. We are a family of five so required the fold out sofa bed in the lounge...which took up most of the lounge space but we were really only there to sleep. (King size in main, two singles in Bedroom 2 then a sofa bed in the lounge). Flat screen TV on the wall was good but I think they need an electrician to put in some points and get rid of the power boards. Good block-out curtains...could do with some lace ones so that when wanting light you still have privacy with the drapes open. We were on the ground floor so it probably wouldn't be a problem on another level. Bathroom was tiny and could do with an exhaust fan. Plenty of hot water, plenty of towels and extra blankets if needed. We had a problem with our door lock which we brought to their attention but it hadn't been attended to while we were there (we had two nights). We just left it unlocked and hoped for the best. (it was unlocked when we arrived so they already knew about it I would think.) There is an outside door before entering the building and this is locked so we were only "unlocked" to others staying in the building. Car parking was free which was a bonus, but it wasn't secure...just parked in the area next to the apartment building. We had no troubles though. A quiet area but the apartment could possibly have abit of a freshen up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank malleegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Victoria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

This apartment is in a good location. On a tram line that will take you into the city as well as out to Richmond and beyond. The room was a good size and self contained. Unfortunately it was quite noisy in the back bedroom at night and the floors were not that clean in the bathroom. Comfy beds and a nice view out of the balcony. Parking is extra and in a private car park. Also if traveling as two couples the second bedroom is made up with twin beds which also cost extra to become a queen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed in APPARTMENTS, air conditioner leaking water, carpet soaked thru, staff did nothing about it, check in at one place then down the road another section, no staff on site to oversee noisy guests. Very basic, had saucepans ect, but no cooktop! Bed runners never washed and stained, I think the park across road would have been a better option. Door also rattle day and night, as they don't close peoperly.

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars more and go to a decent hotel where they value your service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank DeniseMesalic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed two nights as the apartment is close to the MCG. Don't be confused as there are a few other apartment buildings that belong to this group. This one is located at 92 Albert street East Melbourne. (It is also the check in place for the other apartments).
This is an old red brick two story block. The driveway down the side reveals a small car park at the rear, no cover and no security. There was a problem with not enough parking spaces due to old furniture taking up two car park spaces.
Check in was amusing and friendly. We had requested a quiet location and I believe our request was considered. We were at the back of the block off the main street on the first floor.
As I said this is an old establishment BUT our room was quite acceptable and comfortable. The separate toilet was new as was the wash basin in the bathroom. Shower was over very old bath but it was clean. Plenty of towels were supplied. A separate lounge/dining area and a separate kitchen with medium fridge, oven and microwave with crockery and cutlery, toaster and jug and tea and coffee. Flat screen tv and new heating/cooling unit. There was a small dining table, two club style chairs and a two seater sofa bed. Noisy neighbours could be a problem.

The bed was comfortable and the linen was smooth and crisp.
About a block away was an IGA and a bottle shop and a little further was Smith street which has cafes and restaurants.

Obviously these units are in the process of being updated. Ours was quite good and comfortable.
We may stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet location at the back of the building. Be quick to get a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We are booked for 6 days. Have stayed here over the years but it has been going downhill slowly, it is being refurbished so might come back to somewhere nice to stay close to the city. Unfortunately our room hasn't been refurbished. It smells, there is hair etc behind the bathroom door. Bed is lumpy, lounge is dirty and should be thrown out. Tv reception is terrible even though its a new flat screen, carpet is stained. Seriously thinking to finding somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Adara East Melbourne
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Central Business District
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribeca Serviced Apartments
#44 of 132 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Birches Serviced Apartments
#38 of 132 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert

Property: City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert
Address: 179 Powlett St | East Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Edge Apartment Hotels East Melbourne is inner Melbourne's leading serviced apartment accommodation. Four boutique locations only walking distance from the CBD and MCG will have you in easy reach of all that central Melbourne has to offer. Our comprehensive range of apartments are available in studio - one bedroom - two bedroom configurations. All our apartments are designed with your comfort and convenience in mind and afford a prestige address in close proximity to the best of our city. For those seeking location, value and amenity City Edge Apartment Hotels is the perfect solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing