We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Jolimont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra on Jolimont
Ranked #88 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

we have just spent 2 nights at the hotel.we booked a one bedroomed apartment with breakfast included.the apartment was clean big and the view of the city was fantastic.staff were great breakfast was first class.would stop here again and will be doing.

Room Tip: try to book a top floor room with city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 580steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for your review, I'm thrilled you enjoyed your time with us in East Melbourne and made the most of your stay in our recently refreshed 1 Bedroom Apartments.

As I've mentioned in previous reviews, our maintenance and housekeeping teams do work hard to ensure that the building is presented well at all times, and I'm glad you were able to note that in your review.

Breakfast is so important in the 'hotel equation' isn't it? We are constantly looking at ways we can do things better in this offering, so would welcome any additional feedback you might have despite your positive note regarding it!

Thank you again and please feel free to contact us directly if you are returning to Melbourne soon.

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    549
    274
    109
    45
See reviews for
315
390
110
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for just under a week for work at Rod Laver Arena. It is perfectly located for anyone going to the Melbourne Olympic Park or the MCG. If you are a tennis fanatic and don't mind where you stay this would be the place! I however don't think I will stay here again as the value of the location does not outweigh the rest of the hotel. There are many options of hotels just as close to MOP, or a very short tram ride away that are much nicer - do your research!

The room had a funny smell to it and all the furniture was very dated and grimy. I didn't feel it was clean at all, I actually put a jumper around my pillow case as I wasn't comfortable with the cleanliness of theirs. The breakfast every morning has a decent array of options however it is all of quite poor quality. A bowl of watermelon had a huge hair in it and the bacon seemed like it had been sitting there all morning, was extremely dry. The staff are friendly enough, not much to report there. The 'gym' is tiny and has very few machines or equipment, not quite sure how it is classified as a gym. It has the potential to be a great hotel with it's location but it seems the care factor of a revamp is minimal. Not again for me!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank blurredadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experiences at Mantra on Jolimont. I was sorry to hear about your time with us during the three nights you stayed. Being employed as you are in the tourism & hospitality industry I know you'll appreciate how important feedback is, good and bad as it really helps managers such as myself action items that need attention.

The studio room type you booked on an industry discount is our cheaper room type, and as you've noted the furniture is showing signs of age. Regrettably, as much as I'd love to perform a sweeping renovation of the entire building, we are encumbered by a number of factors that prevent us as managers and the owners of the individual units from doing that - not something I'll go into detail with in this forum. Happily, we are looking at an early January refurbishment of this room type (just in time for Tennis!) which will complement our 1 Bedroom Apartments which were completed in time for the Australian Open this year.

I can assure other readers, our linen is always of a very high standard, and that our maintenance and housekeeping teams work very hard to ensure the clenliness and appearance of the building at all times.

I have spoken with our restaurant manager regarding your feedback on our breakfast offerings, and perhaps you might like to make contact to suggest additional gym equipment - we have a cross trainer, exercise bike, multi station, free weights and pool - but I'm always happy to suggest to the buildings Owners Corporation additional items based on guest feedback!

While I note that you'll try elsewhere next time, I do encourage you to make contact as I'd love the opportunity to go over your experience and look after you the next time you have to visit Melbourne.


Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well located for football as it is next to the MCG.
The rooms need a lift as does the bathroom. The showers were impossible to operate. The hot water was very hot and when cold was added there was no in between either it was hot or cold. This needs to be fixed.
The restaurant only opened for breakfast at 8 am. on weekends and was average. The evening meals were limited with not a lot of variety.
For the convenience of being next to the MCG we would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for posting a review of Mantra on Jolimont, I do appreciate you taking the time to document your thoughts regarding the property. I have particuarly followed up with our restaurant team as our breakfast service is usually fantastic.

I am glad you enjoyed some aspects of the property, and rest assured that we will be sure to action those items you have raised for our attention. Please feel free to contact us directly to make your booking again.

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was our second stay at the Mantra On Jolimont with an overnight stay after the football at the MCG. It is very convenient for this reason only. Very disappointing, with our room (705) being very basic. Expected much more for the price we paid. No bath & the shower receptacle was extremely small, with mould visible on the tiles. The bar fridge needs replacing. Rust around the door. Cups were chipped. We bought our own snacks (cheese & biscuits) to have after the game, however there was no knife to cut the cheese - only spoons, so we had to make do with that. The room is looking very tired and dated and in much need of an upgrade. We ate dinner in the restaurant downstairs before the game and the service was excellent, with the meal reasonable. Breakfast the following morning, was nothing to rave about, but again the service was very good. Staff were pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them. Will we be staying again ? Perhaps not. The Hilton on The Park is a comparable distance from the MCG and we will give this a try next time.

Room Tip: Bring your own supply of milk and a few more towels ! If wanting to have your own nibbles, dip etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experiences at Mantra on Jolimont. It saddens to to read about your time here, as usually we hit the mark with our guests.

I've followed up with our housekeeping department regarding your comments surrounding the room clenliness and amenities as this is unacceptable - normally they are excellent in this regard.

705 is one of our Studio rooms which are our smaller room types - we have recently completed a refresh of furniture in our 1 Bedroom Apartments which we'd be happy to help arrange for your next stay at Mantra on Jolimont - please feel free to make contact directly to book in next time!

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
campbell.lee@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Terrible outdated hotel. Furniture in room was old and dated. Carpet in room stained. Staff need more training on how to deal with complaints. Totally disgusting hotel and would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't bother stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experiences at Mantra on Jolimont. It saddens to to read about your time here, as usually we hit the mark with our guests.

Perhaps you could drop me a line either here on TripAdvisor, or by emailing me using the address below so I can discuss your experience in more detail and be able to fully investigate your experience. Obviously I would like the opportunity to rectify those items that made your time here 'disgusting', but based on your comments and profile I'm having difficulty locating your reservation/room number etc.

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
campbell.lee@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blissygirl
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I would only stay at the Mantra Jolimont if I wanted to go to the MCG which is what we did, flying down from Brisbane for 2 nights. The staff are friendly but the rooms are tired and a bit tatty. Flat pillows but we were happy that we could open a window so we could turn off the aircon. Comfy beds but well worn I reckon. Buffet breakfast was good and eggs available how you like them. Mini bar milk was not replenished so we missed out on our wake up coffee. Would come back again next footy trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blissygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for posting a review of Mantra on Jolimont, I do appreciate you taking the time to document your thoughts regarding the property.

I am glad you enjoyed some aspects of the property, and rest assured that we will be sure to action those items you have raised for our attention.

Please do feel free to contact us directly to arrange your next reservation, we'll look forward to hearing from you!

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We choose this hotel specifically for it proximity to the MCG for an AFL evening match.
The hotel itself is a little dated and furniture a bit worn but the bed is comfortable, the room is clean and quiet.The staff are friendly.
Breakfast doesn't commence until 8 am. Patrons were lined up outside the breakfast room which took me by surprise. The pastries on offer were delicious and freshly baked. There was variety to cater for all types of diets.
For the price and proximity of this hotel, it is the perfect location for an overnight stay for an event at the MCG.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummy2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experience at Mantra on Jolimont. It's a great location for making the most of footy at the MCG. Thank you for your 'tip' regarding Saturday & Sunday Breakfast opening times - we do struggle to get staff here as many casual hospitality staff rely on public transport which has much later starting times on weekends hence the slightly later opening hours - which we hope allows people to have a sleep in... Please though, if you are staying with us and require an earlier breakfast, chat to one of our front desk staff, we should be able to sort out a continental breakfast pack at the very least if you need to get moving before 8.

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Adara East Melbourne
#110 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#80 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Jolimont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Jolimont

Property: Mantra on Jolimont
Address: 133 Jolimont Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Jolimont 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the sporting and cultural hub of leafy East Melbourne opposite iconic sporting venue the Melbourne Cricket Ground and walking distance from the CBD, Mantra on Jolimont is the definitive crowd pleaser for guests who value convenience and comfort. Ideal for business and leisure travellers alike, Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne offers the ultimate in flexibility with studio and one bedroom apartments that can interconnect to provide comfortable two bedroom accommodation. Reflecting the Mantra hallmarks of offering stylish decor, quality service and great locations, Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne combines the benefits of hotel services with freedom and flexibility befitting a private city apartment. All one bedroom apartments include lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens to provide the ideal home away from home, while studios and one bedroom apartments share a laundry with washing machine and dryer and feature 32" LCD TVs, in-house movies and tea and coffee-making facilities. Guests of Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne enjoy fabulous services including 24-hour reception, room service, wireless internet access, babysitting, daily room servicing, car parking ( fee apply and spaces are subject to availability upon arrival)and foreign currency exchange. Guests can also splash out in the outdoor heated swimming pool, work out in the new fully equipped gymnasium or dine in the on-site restaurant which serves modern Australian cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. From Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne guests are located close to some of the city's major sporting, entertainment and tourist attractions. The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne Park and the Fitzroy Gardens are on the hotel's doorstep while Federation Square, National Art Gallery, World Trade Centre and Crown Casino are also within easy reach. Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne is a full non-smoking hotel. Car parking is an additional cost and is subject to availablity, not guaranteed. **Extremely limited car parking is available on site at Mantra on Jolimont at a cost of $25 per vehicle, per day. Spaces are subject to availability on a first come, first served basis and cannot be guaranteed under any circumstances. Your car may be moved to an off-site location when parking with us. Alternative self-parking options are available within a 10 minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mantra on Jolimont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Jolimont Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Jolimont East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing