We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable on a budget, close to cbd”
Review of Mantra on Jolimont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on Jolimont
Ranked #95 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean and comfortable on a budget, close to cbd”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The room was adequate for $120. Close to amenities and public transport. It was a studio on the 5th floor. The $100 "bond" they took against my card still has not been returned 6 days later despite having settled the account. Room Service was delicious - I would recommend the burger and fries to anyone if you need something delicious and quick. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable but only queen sized not a king. The two requests I had were met quickly and with a smile. The staff were very professional, knowledgable and friendly.
The Nitty Gritty - the wooden furniture was extremely dated and worn, the drawers were broken, you had to pay for wifi, the mini bar costs are some of the highest I have ever seen in a hotel, it backs on top a train line so if your window is open you will get a lot of noise.

You get what you pay for and all in all those nitty gritty things did not make for a bad overnight stay. I would recommend if your just passing through but I would look for a deal as the full rate for this room can get you something nicer and more central.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for posting a review of Mantra on Jolimont, I do appreciate you taking the time to document your thoughts regarding the property.

I am glad you enjoyed some aspects of the property, and rest assured that we will be sure to action those items you have raised for our attention.

Happily, our Studio Apartments are scheduled for a furniture replacement later on in the year, and we would be more than happy to help allocate you a room away from the train tracks the next time you're coming back to Melbourne.

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    700
    348
    132
    71
See reviews for
412
520
143
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Only stayed one night but it was problem free. The room was very clean and the staff were pleasant and polite and very helpful. The room itself has clearly worn furniture and the cupboards in the bathroom are clearly past their prime but like i said - it was very clean. The pool area with spa was great although there was a local from the apartments in Wellington crescent behind the hotel making use of the spa. It's so close to the MCG anyone seeing a game their would be crazy to stay anywhere else. I've seen people complain about noise from the nearby trains but I didn't notice it at all from inside the hotel, only when i was out the front on the street. All in all I'd be more than happy to stay there again. Also the room provided a microwave oven which i didn't have in a 5 star Hotel which I stayed in the night before!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadeh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experience at Mantra on Jolimont. I do appreciate it and will be sure to share your comments with the team!

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

the mantra looks nice enough from the outside. However walk inside and it looks like an old hotel from the 70's thats had a 20 year out of date renovation. Location is great for the MCG footy and its about a 15 minute walk to burke street mall and city. So location is handy if that where you want to go. Price is reasonable. the rooms are spacious, but the decor is very very outdated and average. All in all its a decent hotel, just very average compared to others in Melbourne.

Room Tip: The higher the better, facing the pool are the quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for posting a review of Mantra on Jolimont, I do appreciate you taking the time to document your thoughts regarding the property. We are in a great position to make the most of the footy season, and have developed quite a following in the 20 years the property has operated as a Hotel.

As you point out though, some of our rooms are beginning to show their age, and please rest assured this is something we are aware of, and as hotel operators something we are in close contact with the unit owners regarding. It sounds as though you stayed in one of our Studio Rooms, which should have a refurbishment of 'casegoods' (tables, chairs, bedside tables etc) in the next 12-18 months. As you noted though, we certainly make sure that our prices are reasonable in the meantime.

Next time you are travelling up for a match, please feel free to let you know as I'd be happy to arrange something in one of our 1 Bedroom Apartments which were refurbished in January with new furniture.

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for the Richmond Carlton game and while it is only 5 mins walk to the ground everything else was a disaster. Brunton Ave which is the easiest route to the hotel is closed when football is on so we struggled to find a different route. Once we arrived we were told the only place to park is at another hotel the Hilton on the park which is only a block away but in football peak hour traffic was a nightmare to get to. We then had yo walk back to the hotel to drop our things off. The room was comfortable enough but we soon realised we were on a main train line and the only time there was no noise was from about 12.30 am until 4.30 am when they started running again. We got no sleep and would never stay here again. Travellers beware

Room Tip: Maybe ask for room away from train track side if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickie255350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for posting a review of Mantra on Jolimont, I do appreciate you taking the time to document your thoughts regarding the property.

Regrettably we are short on car spaces, and while we can normally accomodate, we do become very constrained over special events as a lot of properties in the area do. Obviously we are more than happy for guests to drop their bags off prior to parking at alternative parking spaces and can hold your bags while this occurs.

Train noise can be an issue for light sleepers on that side of the building, staff are normally very happy to allocate or move guests if we have rooms available.

Please, if you're coming up again for a match, do feel free to contact me directly at the Hotel and I'd be happy to help arrange a quieter room for your return trip.


Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The rooms are clean, large and bed was comfortable. Mantra on Jolimont is located right near the MCG and some lovely parks, only a 15 minute walk to federation square and the staff were really polite. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_22382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experience at Mantra on Jolimont. I do appreciate it and will be sure to share your comments with the team!

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Very clean..nice buffet breakfast. Bed a little hard for me but partner liked it. Shower a bit small and could have used a handle inside to close it. Quiet despite heavy traffic and trains outside. Close to football stadium and event centre

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cledra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Good morning,
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! We are in a great position to make the most of your concerts and sporting at Rod Laver Arena or the MCG. Thanks also for your other 'traveller tips', and feedback on the room - I'm sure others will appreciate them, and we'll get cracking on your suggestions for improvement!

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This place is situated in a no-man's land bounded by busy rail tracks, tram tracks and busy roads near to Melbourne CBD. Good if you want a quick walk to MCG or the tennis or AAMI stadium not good if you want to pop into one of the City's mass of great restaurants, bars and cafe. My room overlooked the railway and I was awoken by early morning freight trains and traffic. Rooms are pretty ordinary and the common areas- corridors etc are very tired and need of repainting. You can get an ok breakfast manned by friendly staff but no choice as the closest cafe is a good walk away. Staff were nice enough but my taxi booking was 20 minutes late. Life's too short.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busier railway tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for posting a review of Mantra on Jolimont, I do appreciate you taking the time to document your thoughts regarding the property.

I am glad you enjoyed some aspects of the property, and rest assured that we will be sure to action those items you have raised for our attention.

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#79 of 160 in Melbourne
937 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#122 of 160 in Melbourne
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#87 of 160 in Melbourne
386 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Jolimont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Jolimont

Property: Mantra on Jolimont
Address: 133 Jolimont Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#86 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Jolimont 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the sporting and cultural hub of leafy East Melbourne opposite iconic sporting venue the Melbourne Cricket Ground and walking distance from the CBD, Mantra on Jolimont is the definitive crowd pleaser for guests who value convenience and comfort. Ideal for business and leisure travellers alike, Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne offers the ultimate in flexibility with studio and one bedroom apartments that can interconnect to provide comfortable two bedroom accommodation. Reflecting the Mantra hallmarks of offering stylish decor, quality service and great locations, Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne combines the benefits of hotel services with freedom and flexibility befitting a private city apartment. All one bedroom apartments include lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens to provide the ideal home away from home, while studios and one bedroom apartments share a laundry with washing machine and dryer and feature 32" LCD TVs, in-house movies and tea and coffee-making facilities. Guests of Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne enjoy fabulous services including 24-hour reception, room service, wireless internet access, babysitting, daily room servicing, car parking ( fee apply and spaces are subject to availability upon arrival)and foreign currency exchange. Guests can also splash out in the outdoor heated swimming pool, work out in the new fully equipped gymnasium or dine in the on-site restaurant which serves modern Australian cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. From Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne guests are located close to some of the city's major sporting, entertainment and tourist attractions. The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne Park and the Fitzroy Gardens are on the hotel's doorstep while Federation Square, National Art Gallery, World Trade Centre and Crown Casino are also within easy reach. Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne is a full non-smoking hotel. Car parking is an additional cost and is subject to availablity, not guaranteed. **Extremely limited car parking is available on site at Mantra on Jolimont at a cost of $25 per vehicle, per day. Spaces are subject to availability on a first come, first served basis and cannot be guaranteed under any circumstances. Your car may be moved to an off-site location when parking with us. Alternative self-parking options are available within a 10 minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Jolimont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Jolimont Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Jolimont East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing