We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Space in a Great Spot!”
Review of Mantra on Jolimont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Jolimont
Ranked #92 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Space in a Great Spot!”
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We booked four nights in a one bedroom apartment at the Saville City Suites East Melbourne through Hotel Club for about $160 a night. This saved us around $100 a night off the rack rate, and was a great bargain considering we were staying over New Years and almost all the other accomodation in the area had jacked their rates up accordingly! We got off an early flight and the friendly staff allowed us to check in about five hours before the official check in time without us even asking (and leave our bags behind for a couple of hours on the day we checked out).

The apartments are in a great quiet spot close to sporting attractions like the MCG and Rod Laver Arena. A tram stop taking you into the city / Docklands or out to North Balwyn / Vermont South is located at the end of the street, an easy 200m walk away. The CBD is about 10 minutes away on foot. Also across the road is the Fitzroy Gardens which are a lovely escape from the hustle and bustle of the city - it's only 20 minutes walk to the pubs and restaurants of Fitzroy through the gardens.

The one bedroom apartments themselves are large and self contained for the leisure traveller. The kitchens are equipped with a stovetop, oven, grill and microwave, as well as a toaster and electric kettle. There weren't any cooking pans in our room when we checked in but a phonecall to reception solved this problem quickly. The bathrooms are spacious and have a bathtub. There are free washing machines and dryers located in laundry rooms throughout the floors (BYO washing powder or buy from reception). There's no broadband access in rooms, it's only available through a single shared PC downstairs in the lobby - keep this in mind if you've got any need to get online, as we had to resort to dial-up in our room and almost drank the mini-bar dry waiting for pages to load... ;-)

The restaurant downstairs does OK but overpriced, bistro food for dinner (although we only resorted to eating there because nothing else in the immediate vicinity was open on New Years Day). There's also a pool, sauna and gym on the ground floor for anyone who's got time for exercise in amongst the eating and shopping which Melbourne is famed for.

A few negatives - the apartment we were staying in (516) could have done with a thorough cleaning - the airconditioning vents were caked with dust resulting in an urgent trip to the chemist for antihistamines (and emitted a strange chemical odour when we turned the aircon on for the first time) ; the rangehood in the kitchen was covered with grease and a few of the windows had oily smears and handprints all over them. Also, the TV wasn't working properly - the picture would drop out completely leaving only sound after a couple of minutes viewing. Not sure what was going on there, it wasn't that big a deal for us but might be a problem if you're planning on spending a lot of time in your room.

All in all we won't hesitate to stay at the Suites again if we can find the same cheap rates - fairly new, clean, spacious self-contained apartments are a hard thing to come by this close to the city!

  • Liked — Location, self-contained, spaciousness
  • Disliked — Dusty air-conditioning
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Hutchcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    648
    320
    129
    63
See reviews for
372
476
133
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern,NC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Stay here during Nov,07. Our room is a studio room ensuite.

In general, the room was clean and spacious enough for us travel in couple from abroad and have 4 big baggages.

Hotel location, however, was a 30 minutes walk from the CBD, as it states as "east melbourne".

Hotel situated just next to the train railway, so expected more or less of the train noise.

Hotel does offer a cover parking lot for a fee.

After we've check-in to the hotel and got to our room, we think that everything should go well. ... However, since the check-in. We've experience a lot of problem want you guys to see our logs here....

Day 1 : After check-in & got to our room at 6.00PM, we decided to go for a dinner and then back to our room around 10.00PM. We've found that the A/C-HEATER UNIT DON'T WORK. We then called to the frontdesk and then the only best offer at time was "to give us a PORTABLE HEATER!" NOWAY! We decided to urge them to move us to a new room, or money back! Then we've got a new room with a better A/C system. But as the previous reviewer said, the A/C system of this hotel seems like very old and torn out. so be careful of using it.

Day 2: We've got back from our very long day in CBD at 8.00PM, and only back to find that the room WASN'T PROPERLY CLEANED UP & there's A CHAIR THAT"S DISAPPEARED WITH NO REASON!

Day 3: We've got back to our room around 6.00PM and found that OUR KEY ROOM WON'T OPEN OUR DOOR ROOM!!! Check with the frontdesk and they said that they changed our room key (yes, with our prior notice us! )There's still not explanation why they would have to change our room key...

Day4 : just the morning before we would check-out, THE POWER WAS OUT and very dark inside the hotel for almost an hour(See in picture attached)..

All in all, although they offer a good price & clean site. With the far apart location & a lot of problem during our only 3 nights stay, we would not stay here again. If you do have to stay here, make sure your room has a working A/C unit since you walk-in and make sure to lock up your stuff before you leave your room coz they might do something to the room while you're not there!

  • Liked — Room space & cleanliness
  • Disliked — Weird thing could happen anytime at this hotel!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank techtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

Stayed there recently after an excellent experience over the New Years period at this hotel. Its in an unusual spot - right next to the MCG, but unusual because its 'sort of' close to everything, without being 'really close' to anything except the MCG and Melbourne Park. Its a bit far to walk to everything, but a very short taxi ride (but taking a cab everywhere means $$$!!!).

Got a fantastic deal on our room - very very cheap. I would recommend the 1bedroom over the studio room because they are much, much more spacious. The bathrooms in all rooms are particularly good. Ask for a room with a view back to the city - on the upper floors they are spectacular.

Booked for a 'spring special' package with a free bottle of sparkling wine and late check-out. The wine never appeared (nor were we ever told of it) and the late check-out was only mentioned when I specifically asked about it. The studio rooms are very small, but very comfortable. Heavy curtains block out everything if youve had a big night!

Witnessed the very frosty manner of the front desk supervisor. She was perfectly friendly with us, but I did witness her comments to the other, younger front desk staff and was very glad I didnt work there.

They still use keys, but lock the front door at night which means you have to wait and answer questions about your booking if you come back at night which was a bit tiresome.

If you are going to the tennis or the football (or anything at Rod Laver) this is the closer hotel by a long way, and never seems to be booked out (even a week before the grand final!).


I would stay there again, but def in a 1 bedroom instead of a studio.
its worth the extra money.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank benSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Was'nt expecting to be locked out of our motel at 3 in the morning.As the receptionist does her rounds and we had no idea what we were going to do, as we buzzed and buzzed, rung and rung but still no response, and then finally after we froze our buts off, there was a response and all we got for our trouble was a sorry.

  • Liked — The Price
  • Disliked — Not being informed that reception is unatended at times
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bluesfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Beautiful and beautiful. Quiet location away from the busy city but still near enough to walk to. Easy walk to Feb sqaure and the concerts playing in Melbourne. Our room over looked the beautiful pool, it has a very English garden feel about it.

While the staff were friendly and welcoming made us feel like we were at home. Nothing was too much trouble.

Highly recommend Saville East Melbourne, we will be coming again.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JEM36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

Hotel is in fantastic location, closest in Melbourne to sporting precinct such as the MCG and Rod Laver arena. Also a very short and pleasant walk into the CBD. The rooms are all very well kept and the pool area is like a dream getaway in the city!
The staff are of the highest standard and are only too happy to help with any requests.
I will definatley be back again.
Well done Saville

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank issywassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2007

We were in Australia for the Ashes Test in December 2006 so we were in Melbourne for Christmas.

The Saville City Suites were very comfortable with good amenities and the location was brilliant - right opposite the MCG!

  • Liked — Location, modern rooms
  • Disliked — Internet services not great
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank loopylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#76 of 159 in Melbourne
913 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 159 in Melbourne
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#83 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Jolimont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Jolimont

Property: Mantra on Jolimont
Address: 133 Jolimont Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Jolimont 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the sporting and cultural hub of leafy East Melbourne opposite iconic sporting venue the Melbourne Cricket Ground and walking distance from the CBD, Mantra on Jolimont is the definitive crowd pleaser for guests who value convenience and comfort. Ideal for business and leisure travellers alike, Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne offers the ultimate in flexibility with studio and one bedroom apartments that can interconnect to provide comfortable two bedroom accommodation. Reflecting the Mantra hallmarks of offering stylish decor, quality service and great locations, Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne combines the benefits of hotel services with freedom and flexibility befitting a private city apartment. All one bedroom apartments include lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens to provide the ideal home away from home, while studios and one bedroom apartments share a laundry with washing machine and dryer and feature 32" LCD TVs, in-house movies and tea and coffee-making facilities. Guests of Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne enjoy fabulous services including 24-hour reception, room service, wireless internet access, babysitting, daily room servicing, car parking ( fee apply and spaces are subject to availability upon arrival)and foreign currency exchange. Guests can also splash out in the outdoor heated swimming pool, work out in the new fully equipped gymnasium or dine in the on-site restaurant which serves modern Australian cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. From Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne guests are located close to some of the city's major sporting, entertainment and tourist attractions. The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne Park and the Fitzroy Gardens are on the hotel's doorstep while Federation Square, National Art Gallery, World Trade Centre and Crown Casino are also within easy reach. Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne is a full non-smoking hotel. Car parking is an additional cost and is subject to availablity, not guaranteed. **Extremely limited car parking is available on site at Mantra on Jolimont at a cost of $25 per vehicle, per day. Spaces are subject to availability on a first come, first served basis and cannot be guaranteed under any circumstances. Your car may be moved to an off-site location when parking with us. Alternative self-parking options are available within a 10 minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Jolimont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Jolimont Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Jolimont East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing