We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last year but still a great place to stay”
Review of Mantra on Jolimont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra on Jolimont
Ranked #97 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for a second time at the Mantra on Jolimont.

The rooms were a good size and contained everything we wanted, but the decor and the fittings are tired and the bathrooms need a scrub. There was a note indicating that the place is being refurbished - I look forward to this being completed because apart it is a really nice place to stay. The apartments are far enough out of the city to feel a bit quiet and calmer but still an easy walk (or tram ride) wherever you may want to go.

If you are booking a two bedroom apartment, be aware that it is a one bedroom apartment (with lounge and kitchen) as well as a studio room. The one bedroom apartment and studio share a small entry with a laundry. This is great if you are travelling with a friend/s and want your privacy. The only problem is that you have to be careful not to lock yourself out of one of the rooms because the very heavy doors are too much for the flimsy door stops provided. I had to go down to get a spare key twice!

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Thank you for posting your comments on your stay with us recently.
I was pleased to read that your feedback on location and the functionality of the property met your needs for your visit to Melbourne. I have already discussed some areas with our Executive Housekeeper for her action with regards to your view of this aspect of your stay.

Our thanks again for taking the time to provide some comments.

Best regards,

Kara Francis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,782 - 1,788 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

I have stayed at quite a few Mantra hotels throughout Australia, and I have to stay Mantra at Jolimont was the biggest disappointment. Whilst the location is good, (a nice walk over the foot bridge into the city), the actual hotel needs a renovation. There was a note in the apartment stating that they were updating the bathrooms, due to rotten skirting boards etc, but the whole (tiny) apartment needs updating. Not sure if they are trying to go retro with the 70's style furniture...but I am guessing not. The cramped kitchen needs to be updated, the floor wasn't that clean my 1 year old picked up two bits of food, that we luckily got out of his hands before it went into his mouth. The staff seemed friendly enough. The room service menu is not that of a 4 star establishment, with not one healthy option on the menu. I find it hard to understand how this Mantra is listed as 4 star, in my opinion its a 3. I would not stay at this hotel again. Very disappointed with the Mantra group!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was dissapointed to hear that the room was not up to your expectations this stay and have taken measures to immediately discuss your comments with the relevant Team members.
As mentioned and noted, we are spending considerable time and effort in updating some areas of the rooms, this is a lengthly process and I apologise that these detracted from your overall stay.
Our sincere thanks for your comments and once again I apologise for some of the controllable inconsistencies during your stay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We recieved a wotif 50% offer so this place was only 99.00 per night.I wasn't expecting much for the price but it was fabulous.We had our own 1 Bedroom apartment complete with laudry facilities just next door.Comfy beds,adequate kitchen,and lounge room with some foxtel channels thrown in.It was walking distance to the city,trams not so far away too-is near the fitzroy gardens,.Would be a great location if you were there for the footy-walking distance to the MCG and many other sport arenas.We were both very happy and you can't beat the price,.Would recommend and the mantra group have the lovliest lemon smelling soaps(my favorite hotel soap)shampoos were very nice too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsonfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear guest, Thank you for posting your recent experience at Mantra on Jolimont.
The Team are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are glad you managed to get out to also enjoy Melbourne, especially the lovely gardens at the end of Jolimont Road, they are well worth the wander.
Thank you also for your comments on our soaps, they are specially created and made for the Mantra Group and you are right, they are lemongrass. We hope to soon have some gift packs available for purchase for those who really want to take home a momento of their experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Our family stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights last weekend (mid-August). The aprtment was huge and was actually a 1 bedroom apartment with an adjoining normal hotel room. Everything was clean and neat and you could see they are currently redoing the soft furnishings with new basins and taps and new silican around the bath edge etc. I'm not sure what star rating it is but i would guess 3.5-4 star from what i received and saw.

The best thing we loved was the rooms were VERY soundproof. You could put a child to bed in oen room, shut the door and have the tv on quite loud and not wake them at all. You could not hear the trains at all and our view was excellent looking back at the city watching the hot air baloons in the morning :) We ordered room service one afternoon and it was delivered within 15 minutes and was reasonable prices. They have internet you can purchase to use on your phone, ipad etc which was great but i thought the pc in the lobby shld at least have free internet to check in to airlines etc. The kitchen had an oven and huge fridge and all other amentities you expect including washing machine and dryer. Oh, a weird thing was you had to pay for washing powder???

I am still unsure of the location. It was a 5-10 min walk to jolimont and restaraunts and a 7-11 there, 15min walk over to federation square and heaps of restaraunts and 5 min walk to mcg or fitzroy gardens. So it was very close to everything but still nothing was immediatly close....although previously we've stayed right downtown and still end up walking the same back over to the 'g so not sure there is anywhere particularly better! From a toddler point of view it was 5 min walk to playground in the mcg park, 5 min to the playground half way towards fedaration square and fitzroy gardens were so close.

I really liked this hotel and had no issues at all. I definitly recommend it and will probably stay here again next time :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Melbourne city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ab_n_tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear guest. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. One of the most important things to us is that you, our guest, feels comfortable and has a relaxing stay and I was pleased to see that we met your expectations and that you indeed had a great stay.
I was also delighted to read that you had a good nights rest, many of us know all too well how important it is for our little ones to also have a great sleep when travelling, for ourselves as much as them!

We look forward to the opportunity to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed 5 nights early August and initially we were very disappointed with our studio accommodation as the room was only partly renovated, not really a studio as the only addition to the cupboard where the Kettle,refrigerator and chocolates are kept was a microwave and some plates etc.

We did not have any meals in the room.

The outside of the hotel is renovated and with the entrance and reception looking 5 star
our expectations were high. It is an old property and a maze to find your room. Our room had marks all over the carpet, the main wall was marked and scratched. A modern flat screen TV was the best feature of the room which had a small table with 2 chairs. There was no armchair or lounge.

The bathroom was the best area with a reasonably new shower, nice toiletries and good towels. No bath!

As the hotel is 5 minutes walk from the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Tennis Stadium and other major sporting facilities it attracts guests who attend the AFL, Australian Open Tennis, Test Cricket matches and Rugby League games.

We had breakfast in the restaurant each morning, the room is small and can be crowded when tour groups attend. We chose Al La Carte breakfast as the buffet looked picked over.

I dined by myself one night and as the dining room and bar are combined the noise from a group of "well lubricated" people nearly drove me from the table. This is not acceptable!

The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool and gymnasium. There are most likely more facilities.

Internet was $8 for 2 hours, not acceptable.

We walked along the river to Federation Square in 15 minutes, very pleasant. Trams operate 3 minute walk from hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lacepede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Mantra on Jolimont. An objective view is always well received.
I notice that your stay was one of some length, normally in this situation, we would recommend that you would take the option of a one bedroom apartment. They are larger, have a separate lounge facility, kitchen and also a much appreciated bath, which I note is clearly important to you. The studio as I am sure you would agree is perfectly suited to the 1-2 night stay.
Being unaware of your actual situation or booking channel, I cannot comment on why this option was not offered or taken, although recommend this option be taken if you are travelling for this period in the near future. In my own experience, when away from home, a little extra space to relax is always so important.
The Team thank you for your comments, all of which are personally reviewed and where possible actions taken to make improvements.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed here in early August and had a very pleasant stay.

Apartment positives:
* Modern and high quality bed and linen - very comfortable
* Double glazed windows with block out curtains made room very quite and easy to get a great nights sleep.
* Living area was spacious with modern sofas and large widescreen TV.
* Bathroom was nothing flash but had everything needed including a small bath with an overhead shower.

Suggestions for improvement:
* The kitchen area looked very dated with a very old microwave and coil hobs. Dining table also looked a bit dated. Was first thing I saw when opening door to apartment and think it would be worth improving to bring more into line with other Mantra apartments we have stayed at.

Location: Opinion will depend on what you are in Melbourne for. Great for sporting events of course. We were there for the city and found tram stop at road very handy. Could of walked into CBD as well.

While the hotel does lack a bit in personality it serves its purpose well and I would be happy to stay there again at the right price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

Dear guest, thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read your comments regarding your overall stay and were pleased you had a comfortable stay with us.
I also take on your comments relating to some of the fixtures and fittings, specifically in the kitchens. We are committed to and are curently reviewing these areas with the scope to upgrade where we can in the immediate future.
I thank you once again for taking the time to comment and hope to have you back and Mantra on Jolimont soon.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night whilst in Melbourne to attend an event at rod laver arena. Awesome location and easy to get to using sky bus shuttle service. Quick walk to the arena and a short stroll to federation square. Our room was directly opposite lift and was very noisy throughout the night. However overall very happy.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bvont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Dear 'Bvont',
Thank you for your quick and concise feedback on your recent stay at Mantra on Jolimont. I am so glad we provided a comfortable base for your visit and that you enjoyed the location. I hope the 'singing bridge' did not give you a fright when heading to Federation Square!

We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Melbourne.

Best regards,

Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#90 of 161 in Melbourne
395 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Seasons Botanic Gardens
#112 of 161 in Melbourne
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Jolimont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Jolimont

Address: 133 Jolimont Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#88 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $79 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Jolimont 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne offers the ultimate in flexibility in a CBD hotel with studio and one bedroom apartments that can interconnect to provide comfortable two bedroom accommodation. Services include 24-hour reception, room service, babysitting, daily room servicing and foreign currency exchange, outdoor heated swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium and and on-site restaurant. Mantra on Jolimont is located close to some of the city's major sporting, entertainment and tourist attractions, The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne Park and the Fitzroy Gardens are on the hotel's doorstep while Federation Square, National Art Gallery, World Trade Centre and Crown Casino are also within easy reach. **Extremely limited car parking is available on site at Mantra on Jolimont at a cost of $25 per vehicle, per day. Your car may be moved to an off-site location when parking with us. Alternative self-parking options are available within a 10 minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Jolimont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Jolimont Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Jolimont East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing