We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value near city center!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Knightsbridge Apartments
Ranked #156 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value near city center!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

Quiet apartment-hotel. Rooms tidy with modern furniture and small, well-equipped kitchen (same room). Took us about 10 minutes to walk into CBD, nice park nearby. Friendly staff, off-street parking available. No internet. We had noisy neighbours one night, rooms are not soundproof...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uskern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    34
    14
    54
See reviews for
30
30
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

It was horrible. The pictures on the website are misleading. It is nothing to what was imagined. We were completely shocked and tried to get a refund, but the rude reception staff, said no! It was not worth the money that we paid, $200 for a family suite, it was tiny, smelly and falling apart. A window nearly fell on our heads!! Should only be $50 a night or less. In the end, we left, and stayed somewhere else. Actually it was for the same amount of money, and a million times better!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank hotely89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Queensland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

The photos are totally deceiving! The carpets throughout the complex were absolutely filthy and stained. Paint chips and marks on all the walls of the apartment, dirty footprints on the bathroom floor when we checked in. The sheets only covered half way down on the mattress with the bottom half simply bare. The freezer was frozen shut in the fridge, looked like it hadn't been defrosted in ages. The crockery was mismatch without a full set of anything & the picture on the wall was blue tacked to keep in straight but kept falling off.
In fairness, the location was excellent & central to most things & the staff were obliging but considering what was offered as advertisment of the establishment it fell far short of what it promised.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Standard of Cleanliness & Misleading advertising
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

Very disappointing. Certainly get what you pay for!
The place was in desperate need of an update – new coat of paint, re-grout bathroom tiles, replace the dirty carpets,..etc. Should have stayed at the Oaks or Medina serviced apartments.

  • Liked — proximity to Bridge Road (but then again there is always tram 48 & 75)
  • Disliked — it is tiny and dated
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

Arrived in Melbourne on a Thursday & wanted to stay for 6 nights. We had not prebooked any accommodation so we called into the tourist office in Fed Square. First thing the lady there told us was that Saturday was more or less sold out everywhere...great! Anyhow, she obliged & rang around & eventually ( because I think we wanted to stay 6 nights) she found us this accommodation. We booked & paid for 1 night with her & said we'd decide on the rest of the nights when we got there.

Very friendly staff, appartment had a slight whiff & was kind of worn looking. We decided to stay for 3 nights in total ( that got us over the Staurday night problem). We paid $110, which was very good value for such a centeral location. We walked to the CBD in about 10 minutes through some beautiful gardens. However, as I said in title you pay for what you get. We spent all our time out exploring only returning in time for bed....it just really is not a place where you would lounge in. But it gave us clean sheets & a good location.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snaith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

The photos on the website for the hotel certainly give the impression the rooms are much bigger than they actually are. The bed is large but actually fills the room. This leaves no space for luggage, etc.

There is also a strange but fragant smell throughout the apartments.

The reception desk is only manned until about 5pm in the evening although the signs state later. The rest of the time, there are no members of staff or security present. We found during our stay there was a group of noisy youths staying and no one to control the noise.

The kitchen area was well equipped and useful to have. Also, we did find the guy on reception to be helpful. However, personally I would not recommend these apartments.

  • Liked — Large comfy bed
  • Disliked — Room size and lack of staff.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

We had the priviledge of staying in a standard studio apartment at Knightsbridge for three nights on a recent getaway to Melbourne.

I can not recommend it highly enough for anyone looking for an apartment that is excellently priced, very close to the city, yet far enough away to be quiet and your own little 'oasis'.

The staff here were fantastic. Very knowledgeable on the area, efficient in bookings for restaurants, transport and day tours, and ready to fill any need we may have had.

The room was spacious, very clean, excellent heating/cooling capabilities and a lovely view of the tree lined avenue below. And the king sized bed was a welcome sight after a long day of walking. My husband also appreciated the extra Foxtel channels - such as Fox Sports, National Geographic and Sky News.

Superb access to trams, Bridge Rd, the MCG and Fitzroy Gardens. Even the walk to the city centre isn't that taxing.

Some lovely restaurants and cafes very close to the apartment - Gepettos on the next street offers a discount to those staying at Knightsbridge, and we highly recommend the Cheese Platter at Richmond Hill Cafe & Larder on Bridge Rd (about 500m walk from the hotel).

My only negatives about the apartments is that there is no lift (only 3 floors, but could be hard for those with a physical impairment), and alway take extra coathangers as there would not be enough for any woman on a shopping trip to Melbourne!

But for $99/night on the top floor, and THAT close to everything for a 4-star apartment - you couldn't get better.

  • Liked — The value for money combined with the standard of the room
  • Disliked — The apartments didn't have a lift
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGSasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Court Boutique
Magnolia Court Boutique
#143 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adara East Melbourne
Adara East Melbourne
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra on Jolimont
Mantra on Jolimont
#91 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arrow On Swanston
Arrow On Swanston
#131 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.3 mi away
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#109 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knightsbridge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knightsbridge Apartments

Property: Knightsbridge Apartments
Address: 101 George St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knightsbridge Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knightsbridge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knightsbridge Apartments Melbourne
Knightsbridge Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing