We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close enough to city at great price/accom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knightsbridge Apartments
Ranked #156 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Hobart
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close enough to city at great price/accom”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wanted something reasonably priced and was very happy with size of room , did not disappoint about ten mins absolute max to city centre. Clean and spacious and very quiet :) highly recommended to all travellers

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wicks20004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    36
    14
    54
See reviews for
32
30
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked 5 nights didnt stay 1
What a dump my daughters roll away bed $20 per night was a Ripped,Stained smelly base of a bed with a donna as a mattress.When I complained to the manager it started a 2hr refund discussion.he could not see a problem and asked why I had stripped the bed.Half this discussion was in chinesse as he was on the phone to the owner.The 2 seats I had removed from the room were stained with god knows what.There is mold all over the bathroom the toilet seat had been bleeched that many times it had bubbles of plastic dripping off it.I have reported this place to Vic Health.This is the sort of place you see in the movies that rent rooms by the hour.As I was packing our stuff back in to the car Out of the shaddows came to Asian men asking me "why you cause trouble" I rand the Police and the police attended.Dont stay there my dog house is cleaner than that it is Hell hole unless you like taking chances with your health.The lady at check in was nice

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

staying here would have to rate as my worst hotel experience to date. The room was not clean, the shower had little to no hot water and the noise from guests and the street was unbelievable. The first night was a shocker - zero sleep. they then kindly moved us to a back room and the following night was even worse - with guests one floor down partying and smoking all night. With no night duty manager we had no recourse.
reason why it was so noisy - the windows have an opening at the top that lets all sound in - rocket scientist who deigned that one.
The rooms were not clean and the microwaves still had food still in them - nice.
Put simply while the location is good the place needs a lot of attention - with 3 more nights booked i left and stayed at the Best Western (which was perfect) - would i stay at Knightsbridge again - not on your life

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dicky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I booked this venue through a third party booking agent and things had gone smoothly, having received my booking confirmation for 4 rooms. I came down to Melbourne with my family (7 members in all) for my mother's 60th birthday, with my 85 year old grandmother in tow, when we went to check in. I went to the front desk and said I wanted to check in, giving my name. I was greeted by a sour woman who said "I don't THINK so". She went on to say she had no booking for me and that they were fully booked out. I handed over my booking confirmation to show my information but she actually ignored me to tend to another guest who wanted to store luggage. A few minutes later, she gave me back my paper work and went to her computer to "look" for a booking reference. She proceeded to tell me how they haven't had a booking from this third party booking agent since 2012, as though it was relevant. I asked if there was anyway she could help us find alternative accommodation to which she quickly replied "NO! You have to contact the booking agent". She basically pushed us out into the rainy, cold Melbourne weather with little care for our well being. I understand that errors occur but as a customer, I should NOT have to be treated as though I am at fault when clearly I am not. There was no duty of care for our well being what do ever. Thank god for the third party booking agent who handled our relocation very professionally. Shame on you Knightsbride...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Niccabrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The location was perfect (proximity to Rod Laver) but the room's facilities were unsatisfactory. Dirty toaster and kettle, fridge needed defrosting (couldn't open freezer), bath chipped and broken, 1/2 a toilet roll, only one face-washer, dirty sponge and dishes were not cleaned well. Couldn't use the DVD player in the T.V. Room had a bad odour upon arrival - had to open all windows. Room just felt dirty.
Website is not a true reflection of the standard of accommodation. 'Luxury' is not an appropriate adjective nor is stating that they have 'designer furnitures and sophistication interior stylings'. Should not deceive clients - $100 is still $100 and deserving of a decent clean room.

Room Tip: It looks like they do have some nicer rooms - my friend stayed in the bottom floor (n.o. 2) and it l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel seems to get awful reviews, but I found it just fine. The room accommodation is basic, but it was clean and functional. We had 2 single beds, and the room included a small kitchen area and flat screen TV. The reception staff were fine, but Sue in particular, was very pleasant and helpful. The location is superb, being easy walking to the MCG and the CBD, and very close to great cafes and the tram line.
It would not be my choice for a romantic weekend away! But we were 2 blokes in town for the Lions rugby, and it provided clean, reasonably priced accommodation in a great location!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels, and the service here was terrible. It was the rudeness, when confirming time of closing, and not getting back to me before they close. Was sorted when I ran back before closing. Room was clean but very old, stains on day chairs, mould in shower, decor very outdated. Then the rudeness the next morning when knowone was @ the front desk message sign saying back in 15 minutes, i politely when she walked passed asked if i could check out, she said she had to check another room, then i went into my room to waited, still unsure if to come out, I then came out and she did not lift up the roller door & i had to check out to no face on the otherside with the key & credit card under the roller door, she did say that I had already paid. I definately Won't be going back there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JemmaGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Magnolia Court Boutique
#146 of 160 in Melbourne
208 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 160 in Melbourne
114 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#92 of 160 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#139 of 160 in Melbourne
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knightsbridge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knightsbridge Apartments

Property: Knightsbridge Apartments
Address: 101 George St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knightsbridge Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knightsbridge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knightsbridge Apartments Melbourne
Knightsbridge Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing