We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knightsbridge Apartments
Ranked #156 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I reviewed this place in the past, but the recent ones are so bad I had to review it again. There is new carpet on the floor throughout..the bathroom needs a lick of paint..but I found it was clean, didn't smell, the tv works, the beds were comfortable and the air conditioning very effective. For the money the fact that you can walk to the MCG and the tennis make it great value. I found the staff really helpful, my travelling companion was not feeling well and they allowed her to use a room until the bus came at 1pm with no charge..not many hotels will do that. If you are going to the tennis this is the ideal place..I'll keep coming back.

Room Tip: No lift so if you can't carry your luggage up the stairs you need to ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaUnitedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 127 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Initially our travelling party were very disappointed from the images that were betrayed on the website and the so called "luxury facilities" they said they boasted. There were cracks in the walls, leaks coming from the bathroom tiles, two beds in each room put together to make two "king sized" beds not to mention the photoshopped images that were displayed before booking. The managers were rude and have no idea about customer service.
The big shock came at about 3 a.m on the final morning of our three night stay. I woke to a foul odour. When i located the smell and realised it was coming from the bathroom, I nearly gaged when realising it was sewage that filled up the toilet and half filled the bath tub. On complaining about this at 9.45 am that morning and wanting compensation we were told we would not be getting it. DONT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Woke up this morning to a bath full of sewage and toilet overflowing due to dodge pipes. Managers responded poorly and would not accept responsibility, nevermind refund us for at least one nights stay. They even tried to blame us for the problem. Aside from this, it was still the most awfully represented hotel we have come across. Nothing like what website photos show. Sleeping in the nearby Fitzroy Gardens and bathing in the fountain would be more luxurious.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RadiationGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our parking space on the street was taken and we had to park nearby. so no parking provided though the website said there would be. also, while we were staying there, another couple had their room broken into. frankly, i was relieved that our room had not been broken into and i had every sympathy for the couple whose room was robbed. it was the first night of their holiday too. the place does not feel safe. do not leave any valuables in your room!!!!

Room Tip: there is no lift so make sure you ask for a ground floor room... with a working lock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It is not what they advertise. There is no luxury at all. It hasn't been maintain for 20 years. You will be better in a backpackers place, you will have similar level of accommodation for better value.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leticia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Horrible. Horrible. Horrible! Carpets filthy dirty, mould in the kettle and cupboards, shower Taps fell off and Air Conditioning and heating didn't work!!!!! No lift which makes carrying cases and prams very difficult. Walls paper thin! We asked the 8 people in the room next door to quiet down 3 times during the night!!! We also had our credit card details here for the accommodation purpose and discovered our details had been used to make online purchases!!!!!!!!!!! This was the only place which had our credit card information throughout our stay (anywhere for that matter) and we find this disgusting!!!!!! Won't stay here ever again. Will try ti have them exposed and shut down.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pickymums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose this place for its location and price - walking distance to CBD and Fitzroy, but the condition is poor and seriously needs renovation. There was no heating, the heatpump didn't work and the leaky single glazing didn't help either. Pulled my back lugging heavy suitcases up two floors - no lift! Mattresses were worn out, walls are paper thin.The saving grace was the staff and management who were friendly and helpful. Would consider it only for a short stay in summer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#121 of 161 in Melbourne
118 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#97 of 161 in Melbourne
1,797 reviews
Magnolia Court Boutique
#147 of 161 in Melbourne
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#81 of 161 in Melbourne
998 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 161 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knightsbridge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knightsbridge Apartments

Address: 101 George St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $76 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knightsbridge Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knightsbridge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knightsbridge Apartments Melbourne
Knightsbridge Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing