We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, needs renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knightsbridge Apartments
Ranked #155 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, needs renovation”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose this place for its location and price - walking distance to CBD and Fitzroy, but the condition is poor and seriously needs renovation. There was no heating, the heatpump didn't work and the leaky single glazing didn't help either. Pulled my back lugging heavy suitcases up two floors - no lift! Mattresses were worn out, walls are paper thin.The saving grace was the staff and management who were friendly and helpful. Would consider it only for a short stay in summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    36
    14
    54
See reviews for
32
30
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

it would appear that the owners have splashed out a thrown a new coat of paint over the place in the last few months.
My husband and I stayed here for one night for a concert at rod laver, was a decent location close access via footbridge 15 min walk, saved loads on a taxi and the hassle of public transport.
the carpet in the stair wells remains very worn, but the room itself was clean for the most part, linen was clean, bed was comfortable, shower head was laughably low, husband over 6 foot tall and I'm 5'10" we both had to practice some of our best yoga moves to get under the outlet. the Shower appeared mould free but some of the tile paint was starting to chip off in places.
TV was a small flat screen with DVD player.
Ok place for short stay, a place to lay your head only, we got the room for a reasonable price online, when compared to many other places close to the arena.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali_loves_Dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed here for two nights while attending a conference at the Hilton which is a short walk away. It is less than one third the price of the Hilton but you get what you pay for! Cobwebs in the room and seriously damaged carpet on the stairs! The walls are pretty thin and I could hear everything being said in the room next door. On the plus side - the staff are lovely and quick to check in & out-- and the rooms are a good size. Make sure you book parking beforehand as it is only 2hour parking on street and limited on site.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Booked for four nights but had to leave after one. Overall condition was nothing like portrayed on website. Carpets were filthy, ripped on the stairway - an accident waiting to happen. Airconditioning did not work - changed room and found television sitting on 4 phone books and whole room musty/mouldy smell. It is in a good location but I could not spend any time there. Cnsider your age as there are not lfts and it was hard to drag case up the stairs - perhaps that is why there were rips on all stairs.

Room Tip: Do what I should have done before booking and read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Good location but the whole place needs money spent. Our toilet seat was completely broken(& was not fixed during our 4 day stay after asking it to be done). Carpet torn, worn & curtains ripped. Kids bedspreads on single beds.TV cords running down wall behind TV. Basic cheap toaster & kettle, not enough utensils, plates etc. I would never recommend this place, though the ladies on reception were very pleasant! The shower was hard to get to stay at the right temperature. Worst was the toilet seat issue!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The apartments are in a great location but disappointed us in many ways. Desk staff were good but as soon as we started up the steps to the second floor apartments we had been given (we had booked a ground floor apartment) the problems became apparent. The carpet on the stairs was worn, stained and quite dangerous due to tears which could easily trip a woman descending in high heels. The room appeared initially presentable but it was smelly and the carpet filthy and mouldy and the curtains torn. The kitchen cupboards had mould on the shelves and smelled very musty and a number of the supplied dishes were dirty and poorly washed. The bathroom looked good but had a number of nasties which we noticed after we started to use it. Mould around the hand basin edges and on the bathroom wall, a cracked toilet seat which sometimes pinched my bum when in use and a rusty towel rack. They were the main visual and odorous problems. Operational problems were a complicated energy management system without good instructions which turned the TV off after a time and also at other times flashed a brilliant green light some time after you turned the TV off to go to sleep- what sleep? In the bathroom the shower temperature was totally uncontrollable, particularly if you followed the written instructions on the wall. The worst problem and the clincher was a fire alarm or smoke detector in the room which went off at 3.15 one morning and caused us to jump out of bed. After 3 or 4 very loud whoops it turned off, no smoke, no smells, looked outside - all clear, back to bed, turned light off and a ten or so minutes later it went off again and also turned itself off again soon after. What a night with no more sleep possible, no after hours number we could phone and the damned thing went off a few more times during the next day when we were trying to catch up some sleep. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I burst into tears when l entered my room. Torn curtains, mould everywhere in bathroom,in kitchen draws, around windows,the list just when on. The room smelt of something l can't describe but it made me feel sick. I peeled backed the sheets on the bed and it didn't look like they had been changed from prior stay,I slept on top of the bed to frightened to get in. I could put up with the holes in the carpet, the peeling paint which was everywhere, the shower which went hot and cold and the tap that constantly fell off, but filth is another matter. As it was Melbourne Cup week everything was booked and l needed to be near the Epworth Hospital so l brought cleaning stuff, scrubbed everything before l used it and stayed for 3 horrendous nights. Only positive about it was the location. Yes this is a budget place and l didn't expect 5stars, but there is no excuss for filth. I'd never stay here again nor should you !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Magnolia Court Boutique
#144 of 159 in Melbourne
206 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 159 in Melbourne
113 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#138 of 159 in Melbourne
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knightsbridge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knightsbridge Apartments

Property: Knightsbridge Apartments
Address: 101 George St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knightsbridge Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Knightsbridge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knightsbridge Apartments Melbourne
Knightsbridge Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing