We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to Expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
Ranked #120 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is what we submitted in our review to Albert Heights:

1. We had a couple of "under 4s" with us - this place is definitely NOT child/family safe (unprotected stairs everywhere) let alone providing wheel chair access.
2. Apartments are not "family oriented" - if we were without our kids, it would still only be average at best, assuming we used it to sleep and nothing else.
3. Strong features are the high quality and assistance of the front desk staff and proximity to CBD.
4. We do not consider that we got value for money despite this being Grand Prix week. $AUS335 per night was over the top versus the facilities we could have got much closer to the circuit and other attractions.
5. We must conclude that the photos on the website do not reflect reality. We made our decision to stay here largely based on these and whilst we understand that the "marketing department" have a job to do, this bordered on illegal 'bait advertising'.
6. In summary, we were disappointed. We had friends staying in St Kilda that had much better facilities for less money. Our advice - retain your front desk staff and if complete refurbishment is not an option, reduce your event-driven pricing and make a decision on whether you want to chase families or adults (the current setup does not cater for both)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Russ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times (including a 3 week stint while awaiting the arrival of my baby) and find it to be decent accommodation in a fantastic location. The apartments while small, have everything you need although I do always book a deluxe or premier room. It is handy being able to close off the living room as a second bedroom but this does mean the heating and cooling doesn't get to the main bedroom. It can be a bit noisy at times but I've never found it extremely bad. It is also very reasonably priced for the location and size/type of accommodation. Free parking is very handy.

I love having the supermarket, cafe, bottle shop and pizza/pasta restaurant across the road, and the Indian restaurant directly in front on Victoria Parade (a two minute walk) is delicious. Great proximity to the city and the MCG. They also have a 'hospital rate' if you're staying to access one of the nearby hospitals which is very cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed for a few nights over week/weekend. Complex is a small group of around 20 low-budget flats that have been refurbished with cheap furnishing. Although we didn't expect too much for being one of the mid-low self-catering deals we could find in Melbourne, the room was okay for the price. The room did have separate living room (small) /kitchen/bedroom/bathroom. The TV and air con were reasonably new and worked properly. However, there was nothing else exciting about the room, there was no view, no balcony, a little stuffy inside, not that clean (kitchen floor was dirty and carpet stained) and the furniture very basic (not luxury as stated on website). The 'second' spare bed was the fold out couch and it had totally lost its support and was very uncomfortable to lie on. The fridge in the kitchen also needed replacing. Kitchen cooking utensils were very basic and of cheap quality. Although the apartment was set at the back away from the main road, the noise from the passing traffic could be heard (no double glazing), and backing trucks can be heard at the neighbouring hospital during the night. I also found that the staff at the front desk were a bit hit and miss, nice one day, rude the next. The seemed more interested in looking at the computer screen that talking to customers. Also, keep in mind that the front desk closes at 8pm, There is a communal laundry in the complex although some of the washing machines did not work and there was no washing powder or coin machine. I would not use this accommodation again. However, if you have no other choice, try to get a room at the back of the complex on one of the upper floors, noise does echo through the complex, so beware of noisy neighbours. There are outside parking spaces around the block (free). Internet services were not offered.

Room Tip: Request a room towards the back of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwipome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Apartments were clean, accessible to public transport and supermarkets. Only a short 10-15 minute walk to the heart of the CBD. The staff were friendly and happy to help. Enjoyed the weeks stay. Will recommend if you are enjoying the sites of Melbourne and not slouching around all day.

1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is the third or fourth time I've stayed here and the qualities I'm looking for at the apartments include location, free parking and convenience. They are a comfortable room. They offer free parking. They are close to trams etc. if you're looking for very modern finishings and a quiet stay, then this place isn't for you.

they start cleaning etc pretty early and the block is noisy. There are tables with seats in a garden at the bottom and middle of the block and of course, noise travels up.

There is a sofa bed in the living room with the air conditioner. The main bedroom doesn't have any A/C or fan which can make it a bit hot in summer, but I've worked around this and opened up the whole unit.

these apartments are really homey - I enjoy staying here for the competitive rates. Give it a shot!

Room Tip: try to always ask for a room AWAY from the noisy road and the apartments to the left of the block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanet_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A clean, simple, comfortable place to stay, within close distance to Melbourne city.
Considering the price, this self contained apartment is very good value.
Very friendly staff, no complaints apart from the traffic noise heard from apartment 8.
If you get a chance, request a rear apartment.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 8, request a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Albert Heights Apartments early this week while visiting the Mercy Private Hospital. We were only on an overnight stay for a day procedure and found the Aparments to warm, clean & staff welcoming. There is ample room in the 1 bedroom style of room with a comfortable fold out sofa. Its clean, neat & tidy and all that you need if your standards are not set really high

Room Tip: Close to St Vincents hospital, Freemasons Hospital, MCG & Rod Laver
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 161 in Melbourne
121 reviews
Magnolia Court Boutique
#147 of 161 in Melbourne
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#122 of 161 in Melbourne
616 reviews
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#117 of 161 in Melbourne
140 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#97 of 161 in Melbourne
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Heights Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Heights Serviced Apartments

Address: 83 Albert St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia (Formerly Albert Heights Executive Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $97 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert Heights Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert Heights Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Heights Executive Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing