We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #22 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service and room”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Room was upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was very kind. The entire stay was great, a very nice room with plenty of space and friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghormehsabzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    284
    89
    28
    15
See reviews for
143
450
78
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

A very slick and well-run hotel right in the centre of the South Yarra restaurant and cafe strip. The staff were largely extremely helpful and professional (except for the barman on the first night who was grumpy). The room was a good size, well-equipped and clean and the bed extremely comfortable. Two minor quibbles. Room-service food was left in the corridors for hours and the handrail for the step into our shower was dangeruously wobbly and wasn't fixed during our stay. Overall, though, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benoni100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2011

The room we had was extremely spacious and well designed. I loved the bigTV on the swivel so you could watch in bed or on the lounge. The big marble bathroom with spa bath was lovely.

I still have my little white como duck ..........nice touch

The staff are exceptional, very friendly and knowledgeable

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank djanni11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We had a fantastic stay, the location is awesome, right in the heart of south yarra so shops and resturants were everywhere. it was a little bit hard to find (but, we had just driven 10 hours to get there so we were tired) however once we arrived the service was impecable. The room was impressive as soon as we walked opened the door. it was very spacious very new and clean. the bathroom was huge too and the bath tub was WOW!. there was even a comlementary rubber duck The bed broke while we were there :-) so the the wonderful staff upgraded us to their penthouse, which was 2 story, spiral staircase, full size spa and grand piano of course. we nicknamed it the Charlie sheen suite. overall, can't reccomend his hotel enough, it's where we will be next time we are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hipfunkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Dirty room,dirty soiled doona room service asked why i looked in it,desk not friendly staff,complaints never been fixed

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathyminnitidavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

My room was clean and the bed was so comfortable I could have died happy there... the bathroom had ample space... it was just a really pleasant stay. The staff are excellent... I attended and helped co-ordinate a function there and the staff were really wonderful and helpful... I have no complaints. South Yarra is a great central place from which to enjoy Melbourne...I didn't pay for the room so that may have affected my opinion somewhat, I think the room was upwards of $400 per night but I can't say I didn't enjoy it. I previously worked in the Como Centre (the building attached) and I really love this location.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylieroseonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2010

My boyfriend and I headed down to Melbourne for a break in mid October. We stayed 3 nights at The Como Melbourne and were very impressed with the accommodation. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and we were even given a free upgrade.

The room itself was large and extremely comfortable. Everything was clean and clearly arranged with care. The bathroom had a gorgeous deep Japanese spa bath that was heaven and the bed was very comfortable. The location was great; we discovered some fantastic restaurants and cafes all within walking distance from our hotel and we were only a short tram/taxi ride away from the city.

We booked the room quite cheaply through Wotif and it was well worth it. I was a bit put off by some of the reviews I had read on tripadviser but we experienced nothing but comfort and class. I would definitely stay The Como Melbourne again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
1,693 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,071 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing