We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big bath!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big bath!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The second time I have stayed here overnight for business meetings. Staff on reception are excellent and can't do enough for you. Rooms are large but the bathrooms are massive with everything you old want . The biggest disappointment this time was the slow and poor service at breakfast. It took a long time to have our order taken. Food is great, they just needed more efficient staff. Will stay here again and recommend to others but would rather have breakfast elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank siitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Dear Siitao,
Thank you for your online review. It was our pleasure to welcome you back for your second visit, I am so pleased your stay was comfortable and you were able to work as well. I am however sorry there was a delay with your breakfast, this is certainly not a reflection on our usual service. I will certainly share your review with the team to ensure we improve in this area.

We look forward to welcoming you again for your next business trip .
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    268
    84
    28
    15
See reviews for
139
433
73
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Hotel doesn't present that well from the road but inside it has clean lines and in some respects is a little stark and not paticularly "warm"
The reception area however is well set out and the staff are very friendly. There are hand drawn letter testimonials behind the reception desk , a few of which from INXS band members
Check in was efficient and we were soon on our way to our room. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and were pleasantly surprised when we entered the room as it was extremely large and well appointed. All fixtures and fittings were well maintained and the kitchenette was functional with most of the fixtures ( albeit smaller) that you'd find in your own kitchen at home. Dishwasher, oven, kettle, fridge/freezer etc
The two bedrooms each had lovely big bathrooms with a bath tub in the main bedroom. The shower was heavenly
We thought that the room would be noisy being on a main road but we saw that most of the rooms faced a small park at the rear of the property
The hotel was only a 15 minute tram ride into the city or to St Kilda. We didn't try the restaurant or bar but they didn't look busy as there is a lot of choice close by for breakfast or dinner/ bars etc

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chriswalsh365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Dear ChrisWalsh,
Many thanks for your review. I am so pleased you felt the room was comfortable, quiet and you loved our big bathrooms - we do too. We love our proximity to the City – I am so glad you found time to explore.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

What a great location and hotel! Very reasonably priced for location, with genuinely lovely staff. We upgraded to the spa room and we're not disappointed. A giant dap and a beautiful room. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Dear Leanne L,

Many thanks for your online review. Thank you for your kind words about our staff- I will pass them on to the team. It was our pleasure to upgrade your stay and I am so pleased it was all you hoped for and more.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed here at the start of this year with my boyfriend and we loved it! The hotel itself was extremely clean, the staff were lovely, and it's in a great location. We stayed in the open plan spa suite and loved it! The spa is basically a really big, deep bath with bubble jets, it was great! The bed was also really comfortable with big soft pillows and high quality bedding. Perfect for a romantic weekend, I highly recommend this hotel and this room.

Room Tip: Don't worry about views, I don't think any of the rooms would have a nice view, but the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmaline1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Dear Emmaline1234,

I am thrilled we were able to ensure your romantic getaway was special. Thank you for your kind review, I will be sure to share it with the whole team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon for another romantic getaway.

Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Unfortunately we only had one night at this hotel. The room offered every convenience and the staff seemed focused on our comfort. We were welcomed with a coffee, our car was parked and made available whenever needed, and the lack of a restaurant was compensated for by the numerous eating options in the close-by area. We intend to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiesBallarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Dear AussiesBallarat,
I am so pleased you were able to spend time exploring our local area South Yarra, and found some great restaurants - we love them too. It was our pleasure to ensure your car was available any time you needed and to welcome you with a coffee.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon - maybe for a longer stay next time…
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing