We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great size room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #21 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed in a king suite - which was a perfect size for 1 adult and 2 kids. The room had a study alcove, where a cot bed was places, so it was almost like a second room. The whole room was open plan but l shaped, so had designated areas. The bathroom was HUGE with a separate bath and shower. We had a dining area and lounge which was great when friends or family popped over - we didn't have to go off to a cafe and had plenty of tea and coffee in the room for that. Room service was a bit of a disappointment - it took well over an hour for our food to arrive, but the hotel then offered us free desserts as an apology. The price of room service was also about the same as eating out on chaple st.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leileilondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Dear leileilondon,

Many thanks for your online review. I am so pleased you felt your suite was spacious and comfortable and you enjoyed hosting family and friends. I am however sorry room service took so long to arrive, although I am pleased you enjoyed your complimentary dessert.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I recently were on holiday from the U.S. in Melbourne and stayed at the Como. The hotel is centrally located in the South Yarra area which is a very hopping area - great restaurants, cinemas, shopping, etc. The hotel is also very close to the tram that allows easy access into city central. One disappointment was the limited access to internet. Room access had a charge and the lobby access to the internet had a daily limit.

Overall the hotel room was very nice and clean and the staff was very friendly. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrodriguez2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Dear RRodriguez1,

Many thanks for your online review and reccomendation. I am so pleased your stay in Melbourne was enjoyable and our convenient location allowed you to spend time exploring the local area. I am however sorry we did not meet your expectations in regard to Wi-Fi and temperature control. Upon your next visit it would be the pleasure of our friendly staff to assist you in your thermostat adjustments so you are able to get a good nights sleep.
I appreciate all you have made mention of and we will certainly take your feedback on board.
We look forward to welcoming you for your next visit to Melbourne.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Have stayed here a few times in between work trips with my partner. The rooms are luxurious and romantic and the location is right where you need to be for excellent restaurants, shopping and the tram to CBD is literally on the corner. A waste for business travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whenareyoucominghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Dear whenareyoucominghome
Many thanks for your online review. It is always our pleasure to welcome you and your partner back to The Como Melbourne. I am so pleased you felt your stay was relaxing and romantic and you were able to explore our local South Yarra.
We look forward to seeing you and your partner upon your next visit to Melbourne.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

A wonderful stylish and lavish room with heaps of space. I loved the decadent bathroom. You could easily fit a family with kids into it - with extra bedding. The king bed was massive and there was a lovely outlook from the window. The staff were so helpful and were happy to accommodate families. Amazing value at under AU$200 per night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenCadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Dear escapeis,
Many thanks for your online review and recommendation to families. I am so pleased you enjoyed your spacious suite, view and felt your stay was good value.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Nenenbill
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I booked a great deal through a Wotif Mystery Hotel and was rapt with my choice. I travelled with my teen daughter and we had the studio king room (2 beds). The room was very spacious with a sitting area in front of the tv, beds at the back of the room, massive mirror to the side and a large bathroom.

The staff on check-in and when we made any enquiries were very friendly and helpful and we felt very welcome by everyone we encountered.

The hotel is in an excellent location - close to Jam Factory, shopping and lots of restaurants. The tram into the city is just across the road and it only takes about 10 minutes to the CBD.

One thing that stood out for me (I am used to staying in the CBD) was how silent it was inside the room. No traffic noise at all and no noise from other rooms. It was so quiet that we slept for 11 hours on our second night! The beds and pillows were very comfortable too.

In summary, I couldn't find anything to fault this hotel. I will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Dear JustAllie,
Many thanks for your online review and recommendation. I am thrilled you and your daughter had an enjoyable stay with us here at The Como Melbourne and you were able to explore the local area together. It was our pleasure to make you feel welcome and to ensure you had everything you could need.
We look forward to seeing you both again for another family getaway.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great location. Very friendly staff. Great rooms. Rooms are larger than normal hotel rooms. Very well appointed, with top quality linen, and very comfortable beds. Bar staff very polite and accommodating. Reception staff professional and friendly. Breakfast excellent value, with plenty of healthy options. Lots of great restaurants close bye, as well as cinemas and great shopping.



  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Dear Ron M,
Many thanks for your online review. I am thrilled you felt the rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable and you enjoyed breakfast. Thank you for your kind words about our staff - I will be sure to share them with the team.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#31 of 161 in Melbourne
1,869 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,287 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,124 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $155 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing