We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #21 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Booked for 1 night midweek (after a dreadful stay at a Southbank 4 star the 4 nights prior). The outside of the building is undergoing some renovation but there was a helpful lot attendant to direct us (valet or self park within the building). We were surprised with an upgrade to a 2 room suite at check in (and that was on top of an already great deal from Agoda). It was large, modern, spotlessly clean, and well appointed. Bed and pillows were comfortable and room was dead quiet. Dual temperature controls ensures each room maintained comfortable temperature. Large soaker spa tub with plenty of hot water to fill it (bath menu was a little pricey so I just made bubble with shower gel). Toiletries smelled lovely and were a generous size. Staff were professional and room service was delivered promptly. Shopping, cafes & transport on doorstep. On departure I left some items in the closet. When I realized 2 days later and called for them housekeeping had them waiting for pick up. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ausam95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We are at the end of a week long stay at the Como. The rooms themselves are large and nicely decorated. The studio suites are good for a couple with one child as the hotel will set up a roll away bed in the separate office area, thus allowing the adults to stay up later and watch tv without keeping a child awake. The hotel is blissfully quiet, with no traffic noise during any of our stays.

The staff are terrifically friendly, and the hotel location is great for shopping and a range of restaurants and cafés.

There are a few things that are inconsistent, particularly with housekeeping. Because we had a toaster in the room, we used it each morning to feed our daughter. This meant we washed dishes and used the detergent provided. House keeping did not always replace the detergent. They also didn't check how low the tissues were, and we ran out. Towel numbers varied. The bins were not always emptied. Tea bags weren't always replenished.

Instant coffee - in such a nice hotel - why? Nespresso machines are cheap, and a selection of pods could be provided. Similar hotels in Melbourne do this - think Sofitel. T2 tea bags should be matched with quality coffee not Nescafé!

We were disappointed in the hotel breakfast. Particularly for the price. The scrambled eggs, bacon and hash browns could have been served in a downmarket cafe. Asked on the presentation and huge size. It could feed two people easily but wasn't very nice. Without the option of just toast and coffee, we ended up paying over $50 for a continental breakfast and the egg disaster for two of us, and neither of us really enjoyed it. Hence we started doing cereal and toast in the room (there's a Woolworths just down the road), and going to the Laurent bakery next door in the Como centre for a croissant and coffee. There are quite a few cafés nearby who would do a cooked breakfast if that's what you're after.

I think the hotel is quite good value for money - though be aware valet parking is $35. We love valet, and the price is consistent with US valet parking, but if you're not so lazy there's self parking, for a price, next door.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Adelaide5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Well done Como. Its been many years since I've stayed with you and after our Melbourne 4 night stay last week, we'll be back. Staff are so friendly and accommodating and we love the large rooms.

We didn't get an opportunity to try the bar etc, but next time.

One suggestion please: the water features in the foyer give the hotel a bit of a damp smell. Other than that, well done.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank VAU007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

My stay at the Como hotel was fantastic from the start. I managed to secure an awesome deal through Agoda.com saving me valuable shopping money although the hotel it's self is worth it's rack rate and I would of happily paid this had I have not found the special. I arrived in Melbourne on a dreaded red eye flight at 6am so by the time I reached the hotel at 7am I was shattered. The hotel staff assisted me with my booking and checked me into the room early so that I could rest. When I reached my room I was shocked at the size, fantastic sized room with plenty of space funky/elegant room designs with view of outside gardens and a massive spa bath. Would definitely stay here time and time again! Thanks for a wonderful stay team!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank etravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had my second stay at the Como in early September and was, again, very happy with the property. This stay I was given a significant upgrade and had a very large suite with both a lounge room and a bedroom. Really comfortable bed and really nice bathroom - even a complimentary rubber duck that I took home for my son. The shower head unfortunately is not the best, which is the only downside in a great bathroom. Also, still a little surprised that in room wifi is not included and charged extra, although I've now read that as an Accor LeClub Gold member, this will now be included at no charge in all Accor properties - great!. All in all, a great stay for business and I'll be coming back again soon.
Side note - stayed for a third time late September and took home another duck for my son!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natbrown75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank CatherineB86
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Renae K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,835 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,146 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,238 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $145 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing