We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel returns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A great hotel returns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

When we lived in Victoria we used to stay at The Como on a regular basis and it was always exceptional. A few years ago we stayed in a two bedroom suite and found not only it, but the whole complex run down, tired and disappointing.
WOW, what a difference a few years and new management make! Now part of the Accor group. this boutique hotel is once again at the top.
The staff are amazing. They are all so friendly and go out of the way to make your stay memorable.
The apartments are huge and luxuriously appointed . Perhaps a full size fridge would be a better option. The lounge and study area are fantastic and the furniture choices are excellent. Free wifi was also great.
We had breakfast in the restaurant each morning and both the food and the service was fantastic. Food was delivered promptly and was hot, as a big breakfast should be.
I have taken a point off because of a continual problem with the air conditioning which made the living room hot and stuffy and the bedroom much too cold.I'm sure they would have moved us to another room if asked, but my wife loved this room so much we put up with it. Probably would not have, if it had been summer time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00BCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    241
    76
    27
    14
See reviews for
117
396
67
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

From the speedy efficient and friendly check in staff to the superbly appointed room our 3 night stay was utter bliss. Well appointed very large room with comfortable seating area separate work area with docking station for ipad and smart phone and ample cupboard and storage space. Location in the heart of the trendy South Yarra restaurant and shopping precinct together with a tram stop nearby this ticks all the boxes for a perfect stay. We loved it and would not hesitate to return. We have previously stayed at the Sofitel in the CBD wonderful hotel but the Como MGallery has a special charm.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking garden area are quiet We had room 312
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballan, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Como was wonderful for access to classy shopping and the close proximity to great restaurants.
The only advice is that the breakfast portions are far too big and lack some taste.
A great night's sleep and very helful staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank pdlc888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensborough, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I hadn't stayed there for a while for a variety of reasons but when I walked in I remembered what a wonderful hotel this is, the staff are attentive and helpful yet relaxed. The facilities are second to none with a wonderful swimming pool and well equipped gym and one of the most interesting streets in Melbourne on your door step

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 6anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Como Melbourne for one night, we booked a two bedroom apartment and a studio suite. I am happy to say that both rooms were very pleasing nicely furnished and had everything that we needed. Staff were very helpful and assisted us with our rather large amount of luggage. We will definitely be back. Would be a great place for a girls weekend away, right next to all the shopping centres and boutiques in Chapel St.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 64Maxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Pulled into the driveway at 4.30 on a cold Melbourne Monday afternoon. I was a little surprised that no-one came out to collect the bags and park the car, but wandered into the foyer. Great looking entrance with very friendly and helpful check in staff who were happy to look after the car for me (valet $35). Stayed in a one bedroom suite which was massive and had a very large bathroom with a spa. The hotel left me a nice gift (rocky road) and a welcome message which was very much appreciated. A bit disappointed that in room wifi was not included and charged at $24 for 24 hours. While working, I made a cup of tea and couldnt find any milk. I called reception and they delivered fresh milk in a very short space of time. Very comfortable bed and pillows meant a good nights sleep. Very nice Morrissey toiletries in the bathroom along with extremely comfortable bathrobes. Breakfast was impressive (included in the package), I ordered a bacon and egg roll that was well beyond the norm (very big, lots of bacon, two eggs and hollandaise) and didn't end up finishing the whole thing. Check out in the morning was straightforward and pleasant and the car was ready to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natbrown75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Grand hotel in a good location. Check in was quick and friendly. Room was awesome, clean and quite. Bed was the highlight, soft and cosy.
The small disappointments were they forgot my wife's bday when she arrived and you can get cheaper parking in a close area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank rod_gillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,403 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,762 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 630 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing