We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #20 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Everything about this hotel is perfect. Staff are friendly, polite, helpful & professional. The rooms are huge, designed for comfort, privacy, work & relaxation. Bed & pillows (ask for feather) very comfortable. Location perfect, everything at your doorstep. Value for the price. A pleasure to be staying here whilst in Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    283
    87
    28
    15
See reviews for
141
447
78
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. We turned up at 12 noon, expecting not to be able to check us in- not only did they check us in, they also have us a free room upgrade!
We had a one bedroom suite, which was huge! Rooms are simple but beautiful. I liked the decal on the wall, but that was really the only artistic influence on the suite.
The only reason I didnt give the place 5 stars was because the in-room spa was broken, and someone had to come and have a look at it for us, the communal spa near the gym was boing renovated, but reception neglected to tell this to anyone checking in. Also, the continental breakfast was a bit too expensive!
Otherwise, great location, good shopping strip, only 100m to tram stop. About 10-15 min tram into the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I booked a two night stay and got a great rate. I usually stay in the CBD but thought that a change of location might be nice. To say this hotel exceeded expectations would be an understatement. The room was the biggest I have seen in Melbourne. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed. Comfortable beds and whisper quiet rooms. Very comfy bathrobes and slippers were provided as well as complementary bottles of water. The location was great. Many lovely restaurants nearby, a tram stop out the front door and a great coffee shop on the next block (two birds one stone). But the real reason the stay was so great was the great staff, particularly Bradley who greated us enthusiastically, made check in a breeze, was always helpful and informative and didn't blink when we asked for a late checkout. We also got the two extra bottles of water in the car when we left. It was a delight to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear DWSydney
Many thanks for your lovely review of The Como Melbourne. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by our team. We do take great pride in all our team and the little touches like the complimentary water in your car.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here once again for 2 nights. Great location had a room upgrade to an open plan suite. Very helpful and polite staff when we left they even put 2 bottles of water in our car. It's the little extras like that you really appreciate with this hotel. Thanks guys we'll be back

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear LA143
Many thanks for your lovely review of The Como Melbourne. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in our fabulous Open Plan Suite. We do take great pride in the team and the little touches like the complimentary water in your car – just a little thing to say thank you for staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in May and were extremly happy we booked mainly because of location and value and that we had a free night with purchasing the Accor advantage card which made the stay very good value.We had the breakfast once and at half price again with the Accor card it was good value although i wouldn't have wanted to pay full price ($32 per person) The studio room was fantastic, so spacious and modern. I highly commend whoever cleaned the rooms as i never once saw anyone on the floor and we didn't leave early in the mornings but our room was always done on our return. Beds were very comfortable. Pool was great and relaxing after a busy day. The staff in the restaurant and reception were very friendly and efficient and a big thankyou to the barman who made a lovely Fig & honey cocktail highly recommend as its their special this month. We will definitly be back..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear kwain3
Many thanks for your lovely review of The Como Melbourne. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you got to utilise all our wonderful facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Everything was clean and staff were friendly and useful.

Breakfast was amazing, facilities were also very good. It exceeded expectations.

Location was handy and access easy.

Very happy with our stay, i am sure we will return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ChlokieBethell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear ChlokieBethell
Many thanks for your lovely review of The Como Melbourne. We are very glad to hear everything was to your liking and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is my 2nd stay at the hotel and my friend and I love it! We were welcome by a lovely trainee Mitchell I believe who took time to print us off a list of movies playing at Jam Factory and the timetable so we could plan our afternoon. I love the smell in the hotel and the rooms are really good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Albinoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Albinoosh
Many thanks for your lovely review of The Como Melbourne, we are very lucky to have a wonderful team of dedicated people who genuinely want to help all our guests wherever they can – I am very proud to work with them.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
2,035 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,498 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing